We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

West Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
West Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went hear with girlfriends family for new years Eve meal and steak was really nice but could of done with it being more blue but still very nice:) speed was great considering how busy they where and coped well with awkward customers :) will deffiantly be back soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kori L
bury
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Freezing cold asked more than once for heating to be put on still didn't come on, ended up having to get in bed fully clothed to keep warm. Asked for pot of tea, one tea bag like pee. Booked two nights couldn't stay second night, was forced to pay for both. Fawlty Towers springs to mind!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hillfo
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked through Groupon. Room was comfortable and breakfast very good. Service was good for the price Great Base for exploring Hartland and local area. Would definitely visit again if we were visiting North devon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Could not have asked for better service or food! We stayed nearby in a lodge at the beginning of November for a long weekend, although we didn't have much say in places to eat out nearby, couldn't have been a better pub local! All staff were super friendly and helpful, even the chef brought our food out and was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaimeS14a
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jaimes, I am absolutely delighted that you found the service to be "super friendly" and the food "to die for!". We are all truly happy that you found your experience to be "brilliant!". What more could we ask for? This response is exactly the result of what we always work so hard to achieve. Thank you so much, I...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

After a terrible few months, my husband and I decided to take a well deserved break. After 5 hours of travelling from Kent we finally arrived. I was looking forward to a relaxing evening. Although, what we were greeted with was very different! On arrival we were immediately told the room we booked was for single occupancy only (even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjo79
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I remember your arrival and it was nothing as you described. I asked for a copy of your booking as many hotels do upon arrival as we had you correctly listed by your booking agent as having booked a single room which we had allotted as per their instruction. I offered to contact the agent (which I did)...

Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Stopped off on our way home from Cornwall as we fancied a roast and Westcountry Inn advertise a carvery on a Sunday on their website. However after being greeted rather abruptly by a French woman...(when I walked in she looked at me and said yes and huffed as if I had interrupted her) I was then informed that there were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Devondumpling27
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I am sorry that you felt that we had let you down. We do indeed have a Carvery Room but choose to seat people near the ambience and warmth near the two fire places in the Winter months where it is cosy and inviting. Most customers enjoy sitting next to our real fires. We also have two or...

Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Having worked in the industry for many years, I appreciate the constraints small business owners work within. The West Country inn certainly has its challenges. My wife and I booked 2 nights as part of a voucher gift. During the booking I was told we wouldn't get the best room as "we don't make any money from them". Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tim, thank you for your candid review. We advised you that you would have a standard double room and not an upgraded room as they are not part of any voucher deal. If we did not make any money from a voucher, we would not accept them and we certainly would not go to the trouble of stating it....

Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2016

If you are thinking of staying here don't - drive pass and find somewhere else that is bright and warm. The first thing when you enter this place is the smell of damp as if there has been no heat on for a very long time. The place is so dark especially the bedrooms. Our bedroom was cold and dark...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

We have looked at this new review which was just posted and have reported it. The stay was apparently in November 2015. We have researched our back office computer records and are unable to find a person by the name of Judith C. to fit this time period and beyond.

Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We stayed at the Westcountry Inn for two nights and had a most pleasant stay. The staff are all very friendly and approachable and couldn't help us enough. We had the excellent full English breakfast both mornings and the Sunday Carvery at lunchtime too, which was great. The Inn has thankfully retained all its old world charm and some parts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew W
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew for a wonderful review. It is people like you who make our job feel so worthwhile. It was a pleasure to serve you and we truly appreciate your comments regarding the Inn's 'old world charm' and that you liked the food. Fantastic! We look forward to welcome you back one day. There are many people who we...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2016

This was a gift bought for us by our daughter through buy a gift. We stayed for two nights. We arrived a little early and was greeted by the barman/head chef Paul (or could be Martin) As our room was not quite ready we had a drink in the bar. Paul was very welcoming. We also had our dog with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank webby171979
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your comments. There are times when we can be staffed at minimal levels as our staff do take holidays and we cover during these times as well as sickness and emergencies. It is the same with any business and we are only a very small hotel and cannot afford large quantities of staff. We have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bideford hotels
6.0 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
328 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#6 of 37 in Bideford
45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
84 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riverside Cottage Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Price Range: $90 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
West Country Inn Bideford, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Away from the road!”
 of 5 bubbles anonK7060AR, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Can't think of any”
 of 5 bubbles LynnH52, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“we had a super king room”
 of 5 bubbles melaniemT775FX, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Rooms at the back would avoid some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles crosscountryrush, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms (at a guess) will have views over the rolling hills. Beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles lynneb683, Jul 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay