We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Country Inn

Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
West Country Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff were lovely and the food was great but the inn itself was a disappointment. It looked lovely on the website but not so much in reality .It is a really oldy worldy type place,with wooden beams, etc and the dining room was really attractive but our room was only passable. It overlooked a main road and with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane N
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wanted to thank Martin at the West Country Inn for resolving my complaint about my father being overcharged for our family meal. My father has today received the refund by cheque together with a letter of apology, both gratefully received as was your token of goodwill. Thank you again 😊

Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, I am very happy that we were able to resolve the over charge which was a genuine mistake. We enclosed some money in addition to the refund so that you are able to take your Father out again. Kind regards, Laura. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just... Old, tired, rundown a throw back to the eighties in taste and style...Please. Quite expensive not value for money food 'no comment'. Best thing about this establishment, the drive in and out lovely countryside but nothing really to do here unless you have a vehicle. Stayed here March 2016.

Helpful?
Thank julie H
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julie, I am very sorry that you feel our 16c Inn is old and tired! We received a full no notice Hotel AA Inspection this morning and passed with flying colours and retained our 3 Stars. This building is preserved with care. It is not modern, it reflects it's historic age and roots and we are proud of it's... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bideford hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and myself stayed here last night (09/07/16) for our 28th wedding anniversary. We were met by a very polite lady who showed us straight to our room. I really can't fault it. Very homely, comfortable and welcoming. We dined for our evening meal and it was just perfect. (especially the sticky toffee pudding - yummmmmm) The Westcountry Inn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lynneb683
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, what a wonderful and thoughtful review. This is truly what it is all about. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the food, decor, could not fault a thing - and that most importantly, you enjoyed your 28th Wedding Anniversary! Congratulations - Perfect! Thank you so much for your honest and kind... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely old building not modernised which was in keeping with the age. Took a while to be let in to the building but once in the place had the oldy world feeling about it. Shown to our room which was pleasant. Had a lovely evening meal although the cobwebs could have been cleaned from the windows where we were sat.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah Jane D
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, apart from the booking mistake from Booking.com which had nothing to do with us, I enquired as to whether your stay was pleasant. I asked your husband upon departure and he said that it had been a pleasant stay. Absolutely no mention was made about any problem, that your room had not been serviced or any other problem... More 

Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I bought a Groupon deal back in Dec 27 2015 and planned to book a stay for the last three days of March as it was the only free date we had as we were very busy with our daughters upcoming wedding preparations.I rang the given number to make the booking and spoke to the french housekeeper Francoise who told... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank cakeaholic2015
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had problems resulting with booking the property by using two separate different booking companies with different booking numbers. It would be usual to cancel one of the bookings direct with the agent in order to comply with the booking terms of the agreement between the agents and property. You had double booked the... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently booked three rooms at the inn ,we was met by the chef ,who then showed us our rooms which was disgusting ,we then decided to have our evening meal,we never got what we ordered ,after complaining to the waiter and asked the chef to come out to explain why ,he refused ,we was then met by the owner who... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Sandy B
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Please read the response to the review concerning our horrendous experience and threats made by this party ref. below Ali G from Plymouth. Hoteliers should never be put under 'Trip Advisor blackmail' which we felt truly happened. It is simply wrong and unethical. More 

Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Inn. Comfortable acommodation, and a very friendly atmosphere. On asking the Head Chef (Martin) for his advice after we had eaten a large lunch with an old friend, his suggestion for our lightish evening meal was a true winner ! The breakfasts were very good as were all other... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCES H
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Francis for your lovely candid and honest review. The staff and I do appreciate your remarks and we will look forward to hosting you again. It is so nice to know that you have enjoyed our food and had a comfortable 3 night stay with us. Much appreciated. Best wishes from all of the Team at the West... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3 rooms booked, all thilthy,pubic hairs on pillow bedsheets covered in dirty marks and smelly bedding Bar area grubby and everything you touched was sticky including the floor..filthy Restaurant dated ..waited long time..wrong order...bad bad food Chef cooks food and cleans rooms. Can't cook ..can't clean Owner, rude,hostile,unprofessional Please don't complain to owner because her attitude is very unprofessional and... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank ali67_11
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

I have thought very hard about how to respond to this review which is very degrading with aspects that are fictitious. We were threatened with 'Trip Advisor blackmail' if we did not do exactly as we were told. I asked the writer not to make any false statements of which there are many. The party arrived early and commenced drinking... More 

Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Inn and were very pleased with the accommodation, food and hospitality. It's very difficult to find family rooms for two adults and three children, but this place was just the ticket! Comfy beds (a double, a single and bunk beds) which meant we could all sleep in one room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KrisandLou
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

I am so pleased that your family enjoyed their stay, food and hospitality. It really is our pleasure and nice to know that you will recommend us to friends. Kind regards, Laura. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bideford hotels
1.3 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
2.6 mi away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#6 of 36 in Bideford
5.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Price Range: $93 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
West Country Inn Bideford, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay