We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

West Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
West Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Thank you for a lovely two days, I stayed with my daughter Friday and Saturday and I wanted to say how lovely the place is and full of character. I could just imagine the number of people who have stayed there before us. Apparently it is from the 1620s and the landlady has continued to preserve the heritage. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Church12
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Churcher, Thank you for your lovely review. We all appreciated having you here at our lovely old Inn and I sincerely hope that we may be able to look after you again one day. I am grateful to read such positive comments and will share them with the Staff. We all wish you the very best. Kind Regards,... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are from the West Country and enjoyed our one night stay at The West Country Inn. The room was spacious and the bed was massive and very comfortable, The people were very welcoming and friendly and the food, especially the home made curry were much enjoyed, and also like the chef delivering the food to our table and ensuring... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
Dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This pub is conveniently situated, albeit on a busy road, and could be a useful stopping place. However it is rather shabby and needs upgrading. Having said that the room we had was clean and neat but was let down by the lack of lighting make it difficult to read. It was very small but the price was wasn't. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank crosscountryrush
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you felt disappointed by our personalised service. The Chef does like to present his food as he is a people person, I believe the personalised touch is an asset, not a hindrance and I think it is nice to see who took pride in cooking the food for you. I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bideford hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was directly over what sounded like a very noisy generator that kept us awake all night. In the morning we were told it was the cellar cooler and we could have asked for it to be turned off! How could we have known that? If they had any consideration for their guests it would have been turned off... More 

Helpful?
Thank birchhay
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We do not "scam"ever. I am very disgusted and appalled at the accusation. If you booked through Booking.com, it will be shown on your paper work. You need to read your copy. If you provide evidence to us via a Booking.com representative, we will gladly refund your breakfast. We retain all of our paperwork from that very good... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were lovely and the food was great but the inn itself was a disappointment. It looked lovely on the website but not so much in reality .It is a really oldy worldy type place,with wooden beams, etc and the dining room was really attractive but our room was only passable. It overlooked a main road and with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane N
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diane, it is a great shame that you over looked the facilities. We have a huge state of the art gymnasium full of equipment to the tune of £30,000.00!! We also have a very large hot tub Canadian 6 man spa with wet room and large spacious marble effect tiled shower. No old dismantled equipment behind reception. - (I... More 

Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Wanted to thank Martin at the West Country Inn for resolving my complaint about my father being overcharged for our family meal. My father has today received the refund by cheque together with a letter of apology, both gratefully received as was your token of goodwill. Thank you again 😊

Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, I am very happy that we were able to resolve the over charge which was a genuine mistake. We enclosed some money in addition to the refund so that you are able to take your Father out again. Kind regards, Laura. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Just... Old, tired, rundown a throw back to the eighties in taste and style...Please. Quite expensive not value for money food 'no comment'. Best thing about this establishment, the drive in and out lovely countryside but nothing really to do here unless you have a vehicle. Stayed here March 2016.

Helpful?
Thank julie H
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julie, I am very sorry that you feel our 16c Inn is old and tired! We received a full no notice Hotel AA Inspection this morning and passed with flying colours and retained our 3 Stars. This building is preserved with care. It is not modern, it reflects it's historic age and roots and we are proud of it's... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

My husband and myself stayed here last night (09/07/16) for our 28th wedding anniversary. We were met by a very polite lady who showed us straight to our room. I really can't fault it. Very homely, comfortable and welcoming. We dined for our evening meal and it was just perfect. (especially the sticky toffee pudding - yummmmmm) The Westcountry Inn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lynneb683
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, what a wonderful and thoughtful review. This is truly what it is all about. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the food, decor, could not fault a thing - and that most importantly, you enjoyed your 28th Wedding Anniversary! Congratulations - Perfect! Thank you so much for your honest and kind... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

Lovely old building not modernised which was in keeping with the age. Took a while to be let in to the building but once in the place had the oldy world feeling about it. Shown to our room which was pleasant. Had a lovely evening meal although the cobwebs could have been cleaned from the windows where we were sat.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah Jane D
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, apart from the booking mistake from Booking.com which had nothing to do with us, I enquired as to whether your stay was pleasant. I asked your husband upon departure and he said that it had been a pleasant stay. Absolutely no mention was made about any problem, that your room had not been serviced or any other problem... More 

Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

I bought a Groupon deal back in Dec 27 2015 and planned to book a stay for the last three days of March as it was the only free date we had as we were very busy with our daughters upcoming wedding preparations.I rang the given number to make the booking and spoke to the french housekeeper Francoise who told... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank cakeaholic2015
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had problems resulting with booking the property by using two separate different booking companies with different booking numbers. It would be usual to cancel one of the bookings direct with the agent in order to comply with the booking terms of the agreement between the agents and property. You had double booked the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bideford hotels
0.9 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
2.6 mi away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#7 of 36 in Bideford
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#4 of 6 in Westward Ho
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Price Range: $92 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
West Country Inn Bideford, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay