We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balmer Lawn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,548: English reviews
Start your review of Balmer Lawn
 Click to rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Held my 50th birthday here in a private room for family and friends. The table decoration looked great. Tiffany who helped organise this with me was very helpful and there was no problem tweeking the menu to suit our needs. Had our own friendly staff and nothing seemed too much trouble. Great looking place since its recent refurbishment. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D H
Kent, England
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our second stay at the Balmer Lawn although we have eaten and visited there several times now. We went to this hotel after a disastrous stay at the Beaulieu Hotel nearby which was quite frankly disgusting. I had mentioned this to the Receptionist (I'm sorry to say I can't remember her name but she was brilliant) and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came here and enjoyed a fantastic evening meal, The staff were helpful and efficient. We had a baby with us, it was nice to eat some where so lovely and that accommodate for children. I had ordered a steak and it had being the best steak I had eaten for a long time. It was a member of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
London
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I chose Balmer Lawn as the setting for my Girlfriend's 30th Birthday, we enjoyed a delightful afternoon tea (the egg sandwiches and scones in particular were amazing), massage in the Saltus spa and a dip in the pool, before heading up to our suite. The room (30) was lovely, with a very grand four poster bed and a fab view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Thank you all at the Balmer Lawn Hotel for all your hard work making our wedding day perfect. Every thing went like clock work, the venue was beautifuly prepared, the food exceptional and the attention to detail first class. A special thank you to Kate for all you help. We had a wonderful weekend. Would highly recommend this hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stanley M
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A present from our sons..a night away staying at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. The food was good and the staff very polite and courteous but the room was awful! Very basic just look at my photos! Cracked tiles, dirty paint work and a terrible view out. The outside gardens were very unkept and the whole exterior needs a good facelift!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Maureen C Thank you for commenting positively about the quality of our food and the friendliness of the staff. I am very sorry to read the rest of your review, we have 54 rooms to choose from and they are all individually photographed and visible on our website. I think the difficulty has arisen as your son's booked and...

New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My mother and I had booked a day in the spa with a three course lunch and a treatment to celebrate our birthdays and had been looking forward to the day. We were shown to the spa with towels and were not given robes, this meant that every time one of us needed the toilet of to go to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Naomi M I am sorry to read your review of your recent spa day with us. I can understand how not receiving the towels and robes at the outset has detracted from the initial welcome at the Spa. It seems the spa team were all in treatments when you arrived and the receptionist failed to see your garments all...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have reviewed this hotel before, it was last year for our anniversary and as promised we returned. It was just too good of an experience not to go again plus this area is very special to us as a couple and I couldn't recommend anywhere better to people to spend their time than the Balmer Lawn Hotel. We once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intel1980
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Intel1980 What a fantastic review, that surely is praise indeed returning year after year. Again I can only apologise for the disruption- you are right, it is not something that we can control but I am certainly glad that our team managed to move you to a quieter room and you really enjoyed your time with us. I will...

cambs
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Balmer Lawn Hotel over the Easter weekend for a relatives 70th birthday. It was fantastic!! The accommodation, staff, atmosphere & not least the food. We stayed on a half board basis and where so glad we did, the breakfast is great with a wide variety of breakfast dishes on offer. The dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenn93
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear jenn93 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations with us along with the hotel and its facilities. I do hope that we might have the chance of welcoming you back in the future.

Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visit the New Forest frequently, and the lovely, friendly, customer focused Balmer Lawn always make my partner and I and our two dogs feel completely welcome. I travel a fair bit, and this (I believe privately owned) hotel has always come across as very well managed - the staff all seem genuinely happy to help you (a feeling that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAMBP
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear NAMBP What a really complementary review of our lovely hotel, staff and facilities. Yes you are right- the Hotel is privately owned by the Wilson family. They will have owned it for 20 years this October and it is very dear to their hearts. To hear that our guests love the hotel as much as they do is fantastic...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

817 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (339)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
Suite, Front Aspect (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,651 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,723 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Beresfords Restaurant
Beresfords Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Price Range: $148 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Balmer Lawn staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Balmer Lawn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors offer even better views.”
696rayb, yesterday | Read review
“Views great from most rooms. Very spacious.”
cheryle735, 1 week ago | Read review
“1st floor saves the walk with the bags”
robertf378, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool are nice.”
solomona612, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“quieter rooms are at the rear of the hotel and don't face the road.”
657martinb, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question