We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 12 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 397: English reviews
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked at very short notice, so are quite happy with room location (facing away from beach). Wonderful location! Staff very friendly. Good choice for breakfast. Comfy bed, and spotless bathroom with toiletries. Room heating good despite no central heating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoB5123
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JoB5123, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Tommy Jacks. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found your room comfortable and clean. It is also great to read that you found the staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. With kind...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love staying at Tommy Jacks, the room we had 105, was spacious, comfortable and spotlessy clean. Well worth paying extra for. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, just minutes from the beach and a short walk into the town. This hotel has a casual relaxed atmosphere with a surfing theme. This was our second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teenybeeny2016
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear teenybeeny2016, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Tommy Jacks. We are delighted to read that you love staying with us - especially since this was your second visit, and found your room spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is also great to read that you found our staff helpful and friendly and the...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

spent a night at this hotel in a box room in the attic !! wouldn't come back again. The staff were good but the room had about 24inches space around the bed with the shower room squeezed into the smallest space possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim D, Thank you for your recent review. It is great to read that you found the staff good but it is disappointing that you were not satisfied with your room. As we state on our website and third party websites we have a variety of room options that vary in shapes and sizes and of course are priced...

Reviewed December 13, 2016

Very nice room, and having our room upgraded for free was a bonus!! it was massive and a great view, was here for a partners xmas works do the room was ver spacious, only downside was the bed was a bit uncomfortable for me and the shower wasn't very powerfull , everything else was spot on, would def stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard G, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Tommy Jacks. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your upgrade and found everything spot on. Your feedback regarding the shower will be passed on - thank you. We hope to welcome you back in the near future With kind regards The Tommy Jacks...

Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 10, 2016

Really enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious, and the bathroom was spacious - something increasingly unusual these days. Good choice of menu at breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary M, Thank you for your recent review of Tommy Jacks. It is wonderful to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found your room extremely comfortable and spacious. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. With kind regards The Tommy Jacks Team.

Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Enjoyed our stay here and had a few good meals and drinks in the restaurant, service was quick and staff very pleasant, lovely large room comfy bed my only complaint was a dirty carpet which simply needed a good hoover it was covered in pet hair and the shower was completely rubbish no pressure at all, we did report our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackells2014
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jackells2014, Thank you for your recent review. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and the meals in the restaurant. I would like to apologise that you found the carpet dirty in your room, incidentally we do not allow dogs to stay in the hotel so I am unsure where the pet hair you mention came...

Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

A nice touch to be upgraded to sea view rooms on our arrival . Rooms were spacious and very comfy bed . The staff in all areas were very friendly and accommodating . Breakfast was plentiful and had a meal in the bar which was also very good . Had 2 rooms for 2 nights here last weekend was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie w
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie w, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Tommy Jacks. I am delighted to read that you found the rooms spacious and comfortable. It is also great that you enjoyed your meal in the bar and found the breakfast plentiful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tommy Jacks. With kind regards...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Booked this hotel for a weekend away with a friend, arrived early evening but great service and friendly staff! Ate in the bar as we were after a more casual atmosphere, great food on offer and again great service - my travel companion required gluten free and they were more than happy to accommodate this need. Helpful in offering options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelandadventure66
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travelandadventure66, Thank you for your recent review of Tommy Jacks. It is wonderful to read that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted that we were also able to accommodate your friends dietary requirements and that you found the food delicious. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. With kind regards...

Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 1, 2016

Fab location,Views of the sea & Golf course,Free parking, friendly helpful staff, nice room ...but bathroom was freezing cold in November...no Radiator!!??. Good value with a cracking Breakfast...Dinner was good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K2MUT
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K2MUT, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tommy Jacks. It is great to read that you found our location wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful. We apologise that you found your bathroom cold, we do have heated towel rails in the bathrooms whose temperature can be turned up for those extra cold nights!...

Shropshire. England
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

On arrival,it took 4 rings of the bell to get somebody to come and check us in. However,when the lady arrived she was very pleasant and helpful. We had a free upgrade on our room and it was a very large room with a massive bed!! We decided to eat in the bar in the evening where again all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curlie_9
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Curlie_9, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Tommy Jacks. We apologise that you were not welcomed immediately on arrival - something we aim to do for all our guests. None the less, it is great to read that you found the staff pleasant and helpful. I am also delighted to read that the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 12 in Bude
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 12 in Bude
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bude
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
2.7 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Down by the dunes in Bude, you'll discover one of Cornwall's newest hotels - Tommy Jacks. A throwback to when surfers were kings and skaters ruled the world, Tommy Jacks is quite possibly, the grooviest urban beach hotel, bar and restaurant on the Cornish coast. The 21 cheery, pocket-friendly snooze pads are neat, nautical and available from January 2014. In the meantime you can earn your seaside stripes in the family-friendly Sea Jacks Restaurant and cosy brewpub. Just a stone's throw from Bude-iful Crooklets Beach, they're the ultimate surfside HQ. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel

Address: Crooklets, Bude EX23 8NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel Bude, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pay the extra for a superior room.”
 of 5 bubbles teenybeeny2016, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for room at the front for nice views”
 of 5 bubbles jackells2014, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor room nice but bathroom cold ..”
 of 5 bubbles K2MUT, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms look over the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles philipc815, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Try booking at the front of the hotel overlooking the Golf course and bay”
 of 5 bubbles N2381HZandym, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay