We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 544: English reviews
Start your review of Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
 Click to rate
Preston
Reviewed yesterday NEW

So, what I feared has happened! (see my last review). Huge new cabins, huge new noise disturbance!! These cabins attract 'groups', noisy, inconsiderate groups! and frankly, all the new development spoils the natural solitude this site once had! Inevitably, 'more capacity' has led to ruined loch views, increased maintenance disruption, busy reception, forcibly late check ins, jaded staff, slow response...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The lodge was cosy and it is a good place to go to if you would just like to relax. However, I was disappointed to find out that we had to pay for the logs (£7.99 for about 6 small logs) for the log burner. We ended up going to B&Q where we could get 2 bags of the same...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louisa L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Paid a visit to friends and what a lovely surprise. Cabins are very spacious warm and welcoming. Clean and tidy, staff very friendly. Hot tub checked every day . Would recommend any one to pay a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry C
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for recommending us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will come and stay again in the future. Regards

Walkeringham, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A late review but nonetheless still worth commenting on. It was our first forest holiday and have since been on more but this was by far the best we've been to - lovely cabin and beautiful setting. Cabin: The cabin was clean and spacious. The only con was that the sofas are small and not the most comfortable. However, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, having stayed with us back in the summer. We are delighted you enjoyed a relaxing weekend and found the bed so comfortable – although sadly not the sofa! The setting of our Scottish locations is what makes them so special and we hope to see you back again soon. Kerry

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Returned here for our second visit, this time choosing to stay in a hideaway cabin. The place was amazing with all the little details to make this a wonderful experience. My only fault would be that the double bath was a challenge to get in and out off and we never manged to fill fully before the hot water ran...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynda t
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in the Golden Oak Hideaway on your latest break and we every much look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kerry

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely cabin and particularly enjoyed the hot tub. We've been several times and this time there were a few things which didn't really seem so good There used to be a DVD player but this was gone. What a pity because after paying the price of the lodge we didn't really want to be forced to buy the expensive entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julie K
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your latest break at Strathyre. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. We no longer have DVD players but our Entertainment package offers a great range of movies, as well as sky channels and Wi-Fi. We do hope you will continue to stay with us in the future. Kerry

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our 5th visit to this site and the 1st time in the Golden Oak Hideaway. We always visit in the winter as we enjoy the site when it's quiet. The new cabins were great with luxurious special additions such as the complimentary champagne, fondant ingredients and extra cosy bath robes. Having experienced the normal golden oaks we liked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephanie H
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we apologise for the aspects that marred an otherwise perfect holiday. We will take your comments on board and make sure that we continue to improve our offer. We do hope you will return and be delighted with your experience. Kerry

scotland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is just a review about the cafe on this site, Don't go there, extremely expensive poor quality, and very very slow service, and that's just for coffee and cake, it can take 15 mins to just get ur coffee served, we have been a few times and stopped ordering food as it can take over 40 mins for food...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 10wallace
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear of the poor service you have received in our Forest Retreat café and we will investigate why this has happened. Our team are usually complimented on their friendliness! We do hope you will continue to visit us and see better service in the future. Kerry

Reviewed January 17, 2017

I had the pleasure of staying here in December 2016. It was a surprise family get together and l still get emotional thinking about our stay. Will definitely be back and the staff were fantastic. I would recommend this place without a doubt

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We are delighted you enjoyed your family get-together in December and we hope to see you again in the future. Kerry

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 17, 2017

My husband and I had a beautiful weekend at the log cabins in dec2016. They are absolutely stunning. The rooms were lovely and warm beds were very comfortable. Showers were lovely and warm. The hot tub was fabulous even when the weather was cold outside we wer still roasting in the hot tub brilliant. The only thing I can complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shonach
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review following your December break at Strathyre. We are delighted you were pleased with your cabin and that you had such a lovely stay, although we’ll have to take a look at the film selection by the sound of it! We hope you will stay again in the future. Kerry

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

451 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (444)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (235)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
17.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
8.7 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
514 reviews
15.7 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

Address: Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Strathyre Forest Cabins Hotel Strathyre
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland Callander
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“You can't trust the map, it doesn't tell the whole story, make sure you read the reviews and choose very carefully.”
 of 5 bubbles KateK301, yesterday | Read review
“In winter opt for cabin with log burner,”
 of 5 bubbles c0y0te998, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“3 levels of room, Golden Oak, Silver Birch and Copper Beech.”
 of 5 bubbles 27gavinn, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Every Cabin has been built in such a way that you have your own privacy, and scenic views.”
 of 5 bubbles K1896PCangelal, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“Can't say, Hoseasons wouldn't let us choose our lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Doodledogz, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question