We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dornafield Camping Site

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Abbot
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Dornafield Camping Site
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2016

This was our first time at the site, which was highly recommended by our friends and it didn't disappoint in any way. We had a great pitch and the facilities were spotlessly clean. Only once did our electric trip, but was no problem. Well worth all the awards. We will definitely return. Thankyou

Helpful?
Thank barbara d
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear barbara d Thank yo so much for taking the time to leave a review and i am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Dornafield. Its great that you visited us after a recommendation from a friend they are always the best way of hearing about some where new. Sorry for my late response but i have... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

As usual site was amazing ,clean , and quiet lovely time had by all pitch was great , grounds were kept spotless staff are all very friendly and helpful . In fact only complaint is since we had new van we noticed a lot of our appliances in the van I.e. ( heating , water heater ) are tripping electric... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Mike C So please you enjoyed another visit to Dornafield and thanks for taking the time to leaver a review. I did receive your E Mail about the dog incident and was as appalled as you were. we welcome dogs here and as such provide seven acres of dog area and poo bags are provided on the entrance gates... More 

Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

We decided to keep our caravan in south Devon for 3 months and chose Dornafield to"pitch and store" We were delighted we picked this site. The whole team were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The site is well kept and very clean It manages to cope with all age groups without one getting in the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cas122112
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Cas122112 So pleased that your visits to Dornafield were stress free the country side seems to have that effect on most people. My family and team work really hard to make the park special and it is really appreciated when we receive reviews like your which make it all worth while. I hope we can welcome you back in... More 

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2016

We have been going to Dornafield for the last ten years our grandson is now twelve years old and he still loves it as much now as he did when he was two it is a clean and very safe site for children the staff are pleasant and very friendly. We now have a seasonal pitch which we class as... More 

Helpful?
Thank charlie b
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Charlie and Julie Thanks so much for leaving a review and you much enjoy Dornafield because you have been visiting us for such a long time and i cant believe Harvey is now 12 God how time flies. Best Wishes and see you soon Simon More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2016

We were on the Orchard, mains water and drainage and cable TV if required. Two very good dog excercise areas, and small takeaway open at various times, limited stock in the shop. Good wells tocked information centre and most important very friendly staff. Close to Dartmoor and many of the major attractions in Devon, although some way to find a... More 

Helpful?
Thank bryanshear
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear bryanshear So pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Dornafield and you found it so convenient for the local area and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Best Wishes Simon More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Just returned from a two week stay. Heard about the narrow lanes on the approach, however they were not as bad as expected, and did not cause us a problem. Again, having read other reviews, regarding the site only being 10 amps, but we did not have any issues with it. This was our first time at the site, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank dandog1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear dandog1 So pleased that you first visit to Dornafield was a such a success and that you will be returning next year. Everyone who works here is very passionate about the park and try really hard to make the whole place special and it makes all the hard work worth it reading your review. I look forward to seeing... More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2016

This was our first time out in a caravan so I can't judge this with other sites but this one was great so clean everywhere staff were very helpful always we had a great time to be honest think we may well go back here again the lane in is a bit tight but ok with care well worth a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCREECHY_11
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear SCREECHY_11 So pleased that your first trip out with the caravan was a success and you enjoyed your stay at Dornafield. Don't worry about the lane from the Two Mile Oak all the hedges are now being cut as all the birds have fledged. I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

A beautiful setting, with fantastic clean facilities. Dog walking area is a good sized area to let the dogs let of steam. Thurleston beach is a must for dog owners, large sandy beaches and so quiet even in August on a warm day. The whole family enjoyed themselves. Would visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Gemma M Thank you very much for leaving a review on Dornafield, really pleased that you and your family including the dogs enjoyed the parks facilities. Hope fully we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes Simon More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2016

This is by far the best site we have stayed on after several years of touring in our caravan. We stayed on pitch 15 in Buttermeadow which was a generous sized pitch with all the mod cons. The convenient green behind was great as the kids could play within sight and earshot. The showers and WC are first class and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pembofamily
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Pembofamily Many thanks for leaving such a nice review of Dornafield. The Buttermeadow is ideal for families especially the area in which you were and very popular. I can only apologize for the noise on that night and be assured my wardens did attend and ask them to be more considerate to all the other visitors. Peter my father... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks here. We wanted somewhere nice and quiet, Dornafield was very clean and tidy. The toilet/ shower block were always very clean. As were the washing up facilities. We didn't arrive until after the office had closed, but it wasn't a problem. We collected a piece of paper from the information room with where to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ratcliffa2016
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear ratcliffa2016 Many thanks for finding the time to leaver a review, and such a nice one. My whole team work very hard to make Dornafield special and its reviews like your that make it all worth while. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes Simon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Old Church House Inn
Old Church House Inn
#4 of 24 in Newton Abbot
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Brambly Wood B&B
Brambly Wood B&B
#5 of 24 in Newton Abbot
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The fourteenth-century farmhouse, once besieged by irate Roundheads during the civil war, forms the focal point of the site, and the surrounding buildings have been adapted for your use but still retain their characteristic Devonshire charm, making a warm and happy holiday atmosphere. Dornafield has three very individual areas. The Orchard, small and cosy, is ideal for tents and adjoins Buttermeadow, our original award winning development. Overlooking part of Buttermeadow is our most recent addition Blackrock Copse with its state of the art facilities. There are no residential or letting caravans on site and we have no clubhouse or bar but we can easily direct you to a wealth of local historic inns nearby. Stay at Dornafield and enjoy Devon through the seasons. Carpets of wild daffodils and primroses greet our first visitors as violets sprinkle the hedges and old stone walls spring to life. By early summer bluebells cover Blackrock copse and the Devon banks are a riot of pink, white and blue. Soon it will be haymaking time and neighbouring fields turn from green to gold. High summer sees Dornafield lush and full of flowers with buzzards wheeling overhead but those able to wait are rewarded with a farewell burst of brilliance as oak and beech, ash and maple turn to the russets of autumn, and squirrels and badgers reap the abundance of our Devonshire countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dornafield Camping Site

Address: Two Mile Oak | Ipplepen, Newton Abbot TQ12 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Number of rooms: 135
Also Known As:
Dornafield Camping Site Newton Abbot, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dornafield Camping Site staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dornafield Camping Site staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you ask for a pitch which has services the right side of you caravan if not you will need extra pipe etc.”
 of 5 bubbles martburf, Apr 25, 2016 | Read review
“This is a campsite not a hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 753lg, Dec 2, 2015 | Read review
“Caravan and Camping Holiday”
 of 5 bubbles 905tracyc, Jul 25, 2015 | Read review
“Book for a week or more - and choose from any available pitch. Blackrock Copse best for couples; Buttermeadow for families, but it's all gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles RodandGlynis, Jul 12, 2013 | Read review
“Pitches allocated on arrival”
 of 5 bubbles santiago14, Nov 10, 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question