We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Speech House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Speech House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 600: English reviews
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked here to coincide with a fishing trip, good location to the river Wye. We treated ourselves to the four poster room which was disappointing after what we paid but it was clean nonetheless. We ate in the Orangery as this was all that was available but we were able to order from both menus and the variety was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan J, Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House. As you will see from the previous review from a party of guests who were with us at the same time we had some issues that we were unable to resolve without some impact on our customers. I... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went there last night as a family group, and we live local, but they can not cope with a large group even with the menus preordered. Constantly asking and hunting down for service, my brother sent his steak back 4 times. They need to look at their service and put it right...BIGTIME

Helpful?
Thank Obutty
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Obutty, Thank you for leaving feedback on your visit to the Speech House on Saturday evening. I can only sincerely apologise for the service that you and your group encountered on Saturday night. We are in the process of writing to you personally as the organiser of the party and will be addressing the problems you highlight. We were... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked as a "deal" for a two-night break, this lovely old coaching inn set in the heart of the forest with little to surround it but trees gave us an unusual and interesting short holiday. There's plenty to see and do within a short drive and the whole area - the Forest of Dean, the valleys of the rivers Wye... More 

Helpful?
Thank robinoflaughton
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robinoflaughton, Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us at The Speech House. I am pleased to read that you both enjoyed your short break and enjoyed you Food particularly your breakfasts. It is also good to know that you found all of my team to be happy and friendly as well as helpful, throughout your... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a two night break through Travelzoo as this was a special offer. Due to an unfortunate event we had to move this by a day and after speaking to the Speech House Neeleigh demastrated excellent customer service and was able to accommodate us on our new dates. We arrived on Monday 19/09 to a warm welcome and when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Courtenay1
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Courtney1, Many thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay wit us at the Speech House. I am delighted that we were able to accommodate the dates you required and that you were pleased with your 4 poster room. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the quality of food and for pointing out that it does... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for evening meal which was excellent - we had mains of pork and guinea fowl, both very good, as were the vegs and the sweets. Service was also excellent.Food was a little slow coming but worth waiting for. It was after dark - the restaurant (Orangery) would be most attractive for lunch with its large windows giving views... More 

Helpful?
Thank steve s
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve s, Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you had a great experience and were well looked after by team throughout your meal. We do cook our food from scratch and on average it takes around 20 minutes but as you point our that is a small price to pay for excellent food. We... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The coaching house is a lovely historic building. We had a room in the courtyard which was as the photo in the advert but rather wished we chosen a room inside. Courtyard could be noisy from the road outside although quiet from the many weddings they do at the hotel. Staff were nice and obliging and there are many great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paullaw
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paullaw, Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. Thank you for your very kind comments on the Speech House. Our Courtyard rooms are experiencing some road noise due to all traffic being currently diverted past us because of a road closure due to erosion of the verge. This has been on going for some months and... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for my best friends wedding and we booked a four poster bedroom by way of treating ourselves. The room was nice, if a bit bare of features. The bed was huge and comfy and was a real highlight. The service though....hmmm....well the guy on check in was lovely and very friendly and personable. However the wedding had someone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard H, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay with us. I am a little unsure of what you mean by "A bit bare of features£ you would have had a large TV, Tea Coffee and bottled water plus bath robes. The bed is indeed large 7 x 7 and dates back to 1834-1840. The re is... More 

Hartford Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is what you would expect from a 3 star hotel, asked to pay upfront before I had even seen the room, complained about the room given a slightly larger one. Nothing like the photos on the web site.

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike S, Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that on reading your review we appear to have failed to meet your expectations. Our web site shows a representative photograph of each type of room that we have, as we have many different types of room. We are... More 

Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a small double room at £130 per night and others in our party stayed in a superior twin at £140. Rooms are dated and certainly not worth £130-£140....more £65-£85. Hotel is also dated and even hunting lodges don't have to look and smell like museums. There was a wedding on which was extremely intrusive. Both of our rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark S Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Speech House. I apologise for not replying sooner but I have been out of the UK. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations compared to your stay in Turin. I find your comment "Even hunting lodges don't have to... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights late August. I like the property & l have to say the bed was very comfortable, however the food was nothing to write home about!. The garden tables sat uncleared for up to 45 minutes, not just 1 but all. I'm not sure if this was a lack of supervision or the staff felt it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip C
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip C, Apologies for not responding to your review sooner but I have been out of the UK until today. Thank you for your review on your stay with us in August 2016. I am sorry that the garden tables were not immediately cleared but we were blitzed in both the Orangery and the hotel Garden. Our pricing structure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

556 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (56)
Viewed
Cosy Main House Double Room (36)
Viewed
Cottage Double Room (24)
Viewed
Courtyard Double Room (27)
Viewed
Courtyard Four Poster Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (42)
Viewed
Master Four Poster Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Superior Main House Twin Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
13.0 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
5.8 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range: $103 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay