We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampsfell House Hotel

Traveler (46)
Room & Suite (5)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel restaurant and bar open to non residents
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf course
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
Reviews & more
53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 179
  • 78
  • 21
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed here on 27th Dec for one night as a little post Christmas break to relax after all the madness. We didn't want to spend a lot of money as it had just been Christmas so wanted somewhere very reasonable and with breakfast so we stayed at hampsfell house. What a really
Read more
Family run hotel / restaurant , very traditional fare , all top quality ! meals supplied were well presented and tasted lovely, HOT plates for hot food. Third Christmas day meal... hopefully we will be back next year!
Read more
I'm almost reluctant to review this hotel in case everyone goes there and we won't be able to get a room!! I found Hampsfell House Hotel by chance on a booking sight when I was looking for a "stopover" on the way to Scotland. We stayed for 3 nights, but I wish I had booked to
Read more
This has been one of my favourite eateries over the years. Visited again in November for lunch. The starter and dessert were lovely but the main course was not quite the usual standard. The vegetables were not as cooked as I would have liked and the turkey was not their usual
Read more
Response from littlegems132, Owner at Hampsfell House Hotel
Responded Dec 8, 2018
Many thanks for your comments am very disappointed that when you were asked about your meal you did not mention that you were unhappy.We take great pride in our home cooked food and will always replace any meal that is unsatisfactory to the customer-unless you say we do not know a good day to us is when everyone leaves happy .
Read more
We arranged to meet friends here for a weekends stay in the lake district the room was room 5 the 4 poster bed room lovely and clean the only issue was the quilt. It was a double thin quilt on a super king bed. Luckily we had our own cozy blanket with us and didn't need the
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteBusiness Center & Event Rooms
view from room 4
view from room no 4
View from bedroom window
Room 5
Do you have a wheelchair access as I'm in a wheelchair?
no this hotel is not suitable for wheelchairs
1 vote
is there a lift?
Hi, Sorry there is no lift, all bedrooms are up one flight of stairs which has thirteen steps. Kind regards Hampsfell House
0 votes
is there a lift?
0 votes
windermere lake is about a 15minute drive from the hotel nearby attractions include holker hall, sizergh castle, levens hall , ducky park farm, haverthwaite steam train and lake cruise, Lakeland maize maze, fell foot national park all within 15 minutes driving slightly further a field you can find grizedale forest with go ape, brokhole with its tree top adventure trail, south lakes wild animal park Dalton, hill top at sawry (Beatrix potters house) windermere and bowness with other Beatrix potter attractions, Coniston gondala, these are just a few hope this helps we do have a lot of leaflets and information also at the hotel look forward to seeing you next week
1 vote
",,, did not stop"
"we were happy with room 6"
"The wifi doesn't reach all rooms, so request one that has it (Room 3 did). Also the drinks at the bar were expensive."
"all rooms good"
"Room 5 is larger with a 4 poster bed."
$88 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hampsfell hotel grange over sands
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictGrange-over-Sands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing