We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 591: English reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for only 1 night as travelling around the area but can't wait to go back. Very impressive building in arrival and lovely lounge. Warm welcome friendly and helpful with local info. Room was great what we like us that as with all Crerar hotels they are dog friendly. Our puppy was welcome in the hotel and by the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mossbank10
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The arrival at the Craiglynne is impressive, it's sports an imposing facade and driveway. Unfortunately it all nosedives downhill from here on in. The reception area has had some obvious refurbishment, with a large attractive seating area. Unfortunately the refurb doesn't extend quite far enough, (this is a running theme). The fetching bare strip lighting at reception is also illuminating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark1414
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was extremely disappointed to see you rated your stay poor, given you have rated the service, location and cleanliness as very good, and you also mentioned that the room was nicely decorated with flat screen TV and a comfy bed. I can only apologise that the receptionist was...

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were on a 14 day trip touring Scotland with 9 different stops including Grantown on Spey. We chose this hotel as our more upmarket stop following several more basic accommodations, (which were actually all rather good). So it was a real disappointment to find that our expensive room (£126 per night) was very small, dark and had no outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo84
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Firstly I apologise that the first room you were given was not satisfactory, although I am glad to hear you were offered a further two rooms to choose from, I am a little baffled by the price you paid, the sum of £126.00 is not what we charge. In regards to the room’s...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and Myself returned to this Hotel again and enjoyed it again, I cannot compliment the Hotel and staff enough for looking after us my wife is on a gluten free diet and there was lots of choice for her our waiter Daniel who looks like Godber from Porridge was very efficient in dealing with our needs again many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oscar G
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us again, I noticed you have re booked for September, and we all look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest Regards Gemah

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel gets better each time i go, stayed here for 1 night in May and wished it was longer!!! Different management from last stay but, if anything, the standard has improved.nothing was too much for the staff and the food was exquisite. will definitely be going back and hoping to make it longer this time!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we have passed your kind comments on to the team, we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel would highly recommend :)..staff were really friendly always polite..food was excellent..had a lovely room looking over the gardens really enjoyed myself..thanks very much for a lovely stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellie c
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are always delighted to see our return visitors! We are again pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel would highly recommend :)..staff were really friendly always polite..food was excellent..had a lovely room looking over the gardens really enjoyed myself..thanks very much for a lovely stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellie c
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are always delighted to see our return visitors! We are again pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here as part of a coach trip package deal - for the price I paid plus past experience of hotels booked by the coach company the Craiglynne was disappointing. I paid a single supplement yet was put into a single room which boasted a fabulous view of a roof covered in pigeon poo! In -room tea and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie T
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I have looked in to the issues raised and I am unable to track what room you actually stayed in or the dates you...

fort-william
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed a few weeks ago at the craiglynne hotel, I do like to write reviews of where I have stayed, because usually all I read are negatives!!!! Really when you think of it how many people stay in a hotel in a week? How many of us write we had a good time, always people moaning. The craiglynne is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gran210
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For the price that was paid, we were expecting a good hotel with good service. Unfortunately this was not the case. Service, especially in the restaurant, was average to say the least. While the quality of the food in the evening was good, the same cannot be said for breakfast. Very poor quality and portions for the price paid. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their feedback. I was surprised to read your comments as we generally receive positive feedback about food and our service. We serve over 2000 meals per week and we do try our upmost to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
709 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
478 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $70 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“if you have a dog get room near an exit so you dont have to take the dog through the dining room and reception.”
scot-smiley, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms at the front offer the best view”
S4993WUcatherineb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a decent room with a front view”
ishbelcromore, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid Room 115 as too close to the kitchens”
martinrice1958, Mar 5, 2017 | Read review
“South side faces the road, and it is on the Malt Whisky trail - but quiet at night anyway.”
jimibob, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question