We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

602 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 568: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night as it was the most affordable place in the area. On the website the hotel looks to be very grand but on closer inspection it could really do with some tlc. Immediately inside the entrance the ceiling was severely water damaged and there was a pile of wet towels on the floor below it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heather M
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to send us your comments. I shall ensure the issues you encountered are addressed and rectified. I am really pleased to hear the staff made your stay welcome and shall certainly pass your comments on to them.

Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

I am just back from a weekend stay at this hotel with my partner. I didn't want to Come home! We had a king room which was very spacious and comfortable. When we arrived at 8pm dinner was still being served so we had a nice fish and chips meal. Breakfast was also very filling and service was great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Demanda28xx
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed with a work colleague. We were both booked in double bedded rooms single occupancy db&b for £70. A very reasonable price. On arrival 5pm we checked in, given our keys and dumped our gear in the rooms prior to doing some paperwork in the lounge. We went to the bar for a pint to find the shutters down. Asking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We arrived at this hotel for one night, the pictures on their website and their restaurant menu read well however when we arrived it started to unfold to something quite extraordinary. The General Manger was friendly and helpful, the decor of the whole hotel needs a MAJOR overhaul. The ceiling in the lobby is all damaged due to water damage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kay C
Reviewed November 22, 2016

We arrived at the hotel to be told that our entertainment break had been cancelled but I have to say all the stops were pulled out to satisfy us.We had to rooms 107 and 108 at the front of the hotel they were warm and comfortable shower could have been better the food is of good quality and well cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hendy55
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 20, 2016

We stayed here for three nights bed breakfast and evening meal . On our arrival we where welcomed by very nice receptionist . Our room was very small with double bed better suited to single bed .however it was very comfortable and clean .No place to store our luggage and had to leave it on floor in front of wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank billandagnes
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. It is always a pleasure to read customer compliments, I will ensure I pass them on to my team. We shall look forward to welcoming you again in the near future Kind Regards Samantha

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

The room I stayed in the radiator didn't work, only a small convector heater on the wall, very small bathroom with sink in bedroom room, terrible electric shower and a very small TV, the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel room, small and uncomfortable beds, the breakfast at £17.95 is a joke the most expensive I have ever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike M
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

My full apologies that your recent stay left you feeling dissatisfied this is never our intention. I shall contact our website operators as soon as possible to ensure the correct information is shown on our website. Our fryer did breakdown on Tuesday evening and we were awaiting a new thermostatic control, however I appreciate this should have been communicated correctly...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on a 4 night Dinner, Bed and Breakfast break booked through Easy Breaks for £135!! I was allocated Room 104, which overlooked the front of the hotel. The room had a comfy single bed, and decent furniture. There were plenty of coat hangers, which makes a change from some hotels that I have stayed in. The television...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donald M
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and shall certainly make all staff aware of your comments. Our next 4 day package is happening on March 6th 2017 if you would like to book.

Whitehills, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Got a deal on this hotel for a Saturday night in November and the hotel reception quickly sorted out a problem in that only one room was allocate even though our confirmation showed two. Rooms were clean but try for a front facing room as slightly bigger with a nice outlook. Evening meal was good with the option to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGS54
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

One of the worst hotel rooms I have ever seen with convector heaters (for a Scottish winter!), tiny shower and toilet behind a sliding door and washbasin in bedroom. Engineer called re heating suggested pulling down the blind 'as there's quite a draught with this window gap', thereby rendering an already inadequately lit room so dark you couldn't read. There...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rosemary G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.9 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
449 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,186 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $76 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at front of hotel 107 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles hendy55, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 was absolutely tiny!”
 of 5 bubbles lydias633, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“We had room three with ground floor access and a good view out the front!!”
 of 5 bubbles Echt, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Room 115 has a very narrow door to the toilet”
 of 5 bubbles bigwellfan, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Request rooms on the ground floor, 2,3, or 4 or the Macallan suite.”
 of 5 bubbles twoitalyfans, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay