We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Old Post Office

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Post Office
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a pub with rooms rather than a traditional hotel and is situated at the edge of the vibrant town centre which has quite lively night life. Small car park (free) behind the property. The pub is midway between the railway station and the bus station. Clean and fairly comfortable bedroom with limited facilities but plenty of hot water.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lancstraveller2000
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Disabled access room?! There is no way a wheelchair could be manouevred around this room. The large chest of drawers behind the bathroom door (see picture) prevented it opening any further.Carparking left a lot to be desired with locals constantly dble parking and blocking you in.Supposed to be free wifi but no password provided,doorstop to room entrance does not provide... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W

Travelers are raving about these Halifax hotels

Hampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Spent a Saturday night here in a single room when the establishment was fully booked. Room in attic clean and warm, bed linen nice and fresh, had a TV and basin, soap gel towel provided, hot & cold water, velux window in roof for ventilation, didn't need owt else! Good clean kitchen to prepare your own food, never like paying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hamptonbeaver
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

The OPO is situated in the centre of Halifax - handy for trains,buses and shops. Access to the bedrooms are by a rear door off the car par, which is a bit impersonal! i booked single occupancy of a double room, which was a good idea having seen the size of the single rooms. The room was clean and tidy.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pidge54
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Well I stayed at the old post office in Halifax this month the staff was really nice and helpful the room I was given was nice and warm lots of room and very clean I would stay here again was perfect for the price every thing was great I would recommend this place to all

Helpful?
Thank kellywaterworth
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016

Hit, bed sink and tv. no facilities, no kettle, no anything in rooms, no where to put clothes. freezing cold, shabby rooms. shared toilet/shower between several rooms, constant music banging through floor until midnight makes rooms useless bins not emptied at all, one towel never changed, towels and bed smell like mildew. garbage location. this place is the worst place... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
351thomasw, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Kyle. I am very sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your stay with us. We wasn't aware that you didn't enjoy your stay at the time as none of this was brought to our attention. We have different types of rooms which are different prices.. £25 for a single room with shared bathroom and a shared kitchen with... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

nice b+b ideal for contractors with clean rooms a nice pint and cheap meals, they also provide a well equipped kitchen for there guests to prepare there own food. another good point about this hotel is its location, right in the centre of halifax, near loads of shops.

Helpful?
Thank william g
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

On the wall outside they advertised luxury rooms and bed and breakfast We were met in the bar by a friendly barmaid. Who informed us they didn't do breakfast and she couldn't really recommend anywhere .she gave us the keys and said we had to vacate the room by 10am and if we left before this to put the keys... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank happyeater262
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

I was made to feel welcome from the first second I entered the place. The staff are exceptionally friendly and make you feel more than welcome and in fact with in hours I felt like I had always been here! One issue was a male member of staff I believe named pav. He is far more interested in cleaning, even... More 

Helpful?
Thank deano26575
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

This is a pub with some rooms that only have one way out....and that is not through the pub but directly onto the street! There is no-one about in the morning and absolutely no early breakfast.....I don't know if there is a late breakfast even! Oh what a mistake....but my car had broken down and I needed somewhere to sleep.

Helpful?
Thank AGourmetvegetarian
351thomasw, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

The author of this review booked a room through 'laterooms' at 11.30pm on a Saturday evening. She then arrived one hour later at 12.30am expecting us to be open. If she had telephoned to confirm her booking we would have been able to make arrangements to accommodate her. It clearly states on our website our opening times and that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 11 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Address: 55 Winding Road, Halifax HX1 1SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: $60 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay