We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Charlotte Guest House

Save
Share
Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (13)
Overview
1 Charlotte Street South Mainland, Lerwick ZE1 0JL Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
158
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
158
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslynne and jimguest housethe main streetexcellent breakfastcentral locationfort cafesteep hillfriendliest ownersen suite facilitiesporridgeshetland islandsexcellent hostslocal knowledgebiscuitsevery morninghot breakfasta lovely place to stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is everything you could possibly want. Excellent location just off the Main Street through town, super comfortable beds, spotlessly clean and an owner (and her sister) who look after you as if you were family. Nothing is too much trouble and they love to...More

1  Thank Stuart_c_Taylor
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Stayed at Fort Charlotte for six nights and could not had been more pleased with everything. Lynn and Jim are wonderful hosts. Location is excellent. Could walk to everything in town. Although there is no parking on-site, had absolutely no problem finding free parking within...More

Thank travelperson46850
Reviewed July 30, 2018

A totally welcoming and pleasant stay. The owners are lovely people, the breakfast excellent, the location perfect and perfectly quiet. Were that all B&Bs could boast the same! Jim and Lynn (the owners) lent us maps, gave us great touring advice, and were altogether hospitable....More

Thank Cooper C
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic apartment, location was perfect. Clean and spacious with everything you need. Close to all the great restaurants especially The Dowry and the Fort cafe for a great fish supper. It’s views are right over the main street with next to no...More

Thank Trish C
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Just as the picture, it was a great room, very clean and well maintained. The breakfast choice and standard of food was 1st class. The owners could not have been more helpful or friendly, and it was nice that the guests all sat and chatted....More

Thank Lesley P
View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
$70 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Fort Charlotte Guest House Hotel Lerwick
,
Fort Charlotte Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
$70 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Fort Charlotte Guest House Hotel Lerwick
,
Fort Charlotte Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Photos
Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (13)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Mainland
Grand Hotel - Lerwick
122 reviews
.08 miles away
Queens Hotel
190 reviews
.19 miles away
Kveldsro House
172 reviews
.28 miles away
Glen Orchy Guest House
87 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 60 restaurants in Mainland
Fort Cafe & Take Away
231 reviews
.01 miles away
Peerie Shop Cafe
497 reviews
.07 miles away
The Olive Tree
97 reviews
.21 miles away
Da Steakhoose
161 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 73 attractions in Mainland
Shetland Museum and Archives
772 reviews
.28 miles away
Roundabout Shetland
14 reviews
.11 miles away
Lerwick Visit Scotland Information Centre
175 reviews
.15 miles away
Town Hall
69 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sparky52
March 13, 2018|
Answer
Response from Filska | Property representative |
Yes there is! Manson Lauderette and Dry Cleaners are at Kantersted Road. Probably easiest to get a taxi (there are usually plenty around the cruise liner passenger drop off point). The fare is generally about £5.00 to go... More
1
Vote
gee1909
July 14, 2017|
Answer
Response from Filska | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we only have a room available for 2 nights - 28th & 29th July - we are full after that. Best regards Lynne
0
Votes
jeffsandrawilson
February 1, 2017|
Answer
Response from Filska | Property representative |
Hello Thank you for your email and yes we do have a twin en-suite room available for the dates you require. The cost per room per night for bed and breakfast is £80.00. We do not have private parking but there is plenty of... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"#2 (1st fl European) and #4 (2nd fl). Steep steps no elevator."
Read review
"Very quiet"
Read review
"Room 4 gives a view right down Commercial Street, great for people watching. It was also very bright with..."
Read review
"Our rooms were very comfortable, the staff were excellent and we were able to walk to most of the sites in..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing