We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 487: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a long day arriving late in the night after making a very short notice booking for the night directly with the hotel I was extremely tired and the staff could not do enough to welcome me. I was really well looked after by the receptionist and could not praise her enough. The morning was brought with great views in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review , we agree our the views are amazing from the restaurant area, We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would like to make a complaint about the Dryfesdale. When I booked my reception there I was told that the reception would end at midnight but residents of the hotel could continue to drink quietly in the hotel bar after this. I persuaded my guests to stay at the hotel (which is lovely, but quite pricey!) based on this.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, the hotel bars as stipulated do close at midnight which you have stated in your review and they duly closed at midnight, this should not have altered your special day with us. More 

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was difficult getting accommodation in the area but we were pleased to find Dryfesdale. The next morning we were delighted to leave it. Poorly stocked hot buffet breakfast and an uncomfortable bed had us grumpy. It started well the previous evening, dinner was adequate, staff were excellent and especially helpful. Tired and dated furniture in a newly decorated room,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cruicksontour
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, all comments are taken on board both positive and negative and we will use them to ensure that we improve in all areas to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

from the outside the hotel looked amazing, the views and location where perfect. We had three rooms of which two where with views and the third room was small with a frosted window looking into the kitchen, we paid the same price for all three, the rooms with the view where really warm with the heating on full, this was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki P
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review and we have taken on board all your comments both positive and negative and will use them to help improve further. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding reception here, friendly staff who did everything we asked. Food was excellent, service was also excellent, for those getting married at Gretna it is only 20 minutes away for the receptions and the views are well worth it. Breakfast was tasty, though not sure haggis will catch on south of the border...

Helpful?
Thank SIMON G
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review and as you say Gretna is only a 15-20 minutes away which is ideal for us hosting wedding receptions or simply to relax and enjoy your stay. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Called in for lunch. Food good but terrible problem with flies in the restaurant. Makes you wonder how clean the place is with so many flies in the restaurant. It doesn't really create a comfortable eating environment swatting flies through dinner. Shame could probably be half decent.

Helpful?
4 Thank rhdumfries
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review and stating how good the food was, regarding your comments on flies in the restaurant with out stating the obvious, the doors and windows were open, warm weather which we are having this time of year, fly spray can not be used in a restaurant where food is being eaten and served.... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Our daughter was married in August at the Anvil Hall in Gretna Green and the reception was held at Dryfesdale Country House - everything went well it was so organised - I want to thank Glen and all the staff who worked really hard to make this a memorable day for Lucy and Sean. The food was delicious and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your amazing review we are all thrilled you enjoyed yourselves at the hotel and thank you from all the team. More 

Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

We stayed at the Dryfsdale Hotel with our guests for our wedding in Gretna Green. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the location was beautiful. The hotel is very well kept, there are lovely touches like the extra long hanging closest in the bridal suite so that you can hang 'the dress'. The private dining room for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your fabulous review, we are thrilled that we were able to host your special day and our plain cheese sandwiches were well received. Thank you from all the team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

The hotel was excellent in every way. This was our first stay at this hotel and we were delighted. The room was excellent with access to an outside terrace which was great in the good weather. The food was good and excellent value and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The situation was good as it offered easy and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank M R
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, the garden rooms and outside garden areas are always well received in the good weather. Thank you from all the team. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

On behalf of our family and friends I can't put into words how thankful we are, our wedding day was magical from first arriving at the Dryfesdale until checking out! I want to thank Glynn and his fantastic staff for looking after myself and family who all stayed here and we couldn't of chosen a more incredible place, beautiful surroundings... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lam1005
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your review from all the team we would like to thank you for choosing the Dryfesdale hotel to host your wedding reception and look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
15.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
13.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
15.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Price Range: $131 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay