We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 472: English reviews
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for Valentine'Day and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was very good. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally located for visits to Gretna Green, Carlisle and Dumfries.

Helpful?
Thank STSTOM
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Dissapointted at the cost of rooms. Attendedd a wedding reception where rooms were discounted due to block booking but for £125 per garden room, there was no shower gel, only one biscuit on hospitality tray, no bottled water in room. Some light bulbs on bed lights not working and sink in bathroom was very slow to empty. These are things... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank heleng190777
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment , but feel that some items need to be clarified, we offer in each room the following amenities 2 x shower gel, 2 x shampoo, 2 x body cream, 2 x conditioner, 2 x soap, plus also the following items, sewing kit, cotton buds and... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night in July. The furniture & bathroom were a little worn and in need of a refresh. We only had towels for one person in the room and those were stained - this was sorted after complaining, but the replacement towels were damp! Based on the above we decided not to eat breakfast at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank West_Mids_Traveller
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review and we apologise for not delivering the high standard we strive to achieve for every guests stay. More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for an evening meal and we were delighted to find a 6 o'clock meal deal. If you order a two course meal before 7pm you get charged the time you ordered ie, order at 6.30 it will cost £6.30, drinks are extra. The food was good and service with a smile.

Helpful?
Thank Zaniskull
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your meal with us, the 6 o clock club is extremely popular and great value for our guests. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I ended up at the dryfesdale by accident as I couldn't find any accommodation in Dumfries where I was working. This turned out to be a blessing as the hotel turned out to be a real gem. Food was extraordinary although slightly expensive in my opinion but the quality was worth the money. Staff were a delight and ever so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daryn G
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, all the team are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to pass on their own personal thanks, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel many times in the future. More 

East Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival hotel staff were helpful and guided us to a wonderful ground floor bedroom with open views over the estate. The room was comfortable with walk in shower. Very comfortable. The evening meal had a variable menu and service and food was excellent. Staff were helpful and polite. I will be visiting again when passing on route to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Capedcrusader355
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review, the garden rooms with views over the countryside are extremely popular with our guests and repeat visitors always requesting them if they are available. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with friends one Sunday afternoon. We had booked a table but this was not necessary. It was quiet-easy to get a table. Good range on the menu. I had a Caesar salad which was ok; other options looked good such as fish and chips, chicken sizzler etc. They also have deals on in the week early evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review the refurbishment of the whole hotel took place over two years ago and as really lifted the whole hotel experience for all our guests. With amazing views over the countryside whilst dining in our Kirkhill Brasserie we hope to welcome you again to try our seasonal changing menu. Thank you again More 

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Dryfesdale for our wedding in April. From the moment we booked (a year prior.........) to the moment we checked out as Mr and Mrs, Glen and the rest of the staff were fantastic !! No enquiry was to much of a hassle and they did everything possible to ensure our day was perfect. As we live... More 

Helpful?
Thank JayneF F
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, we are thrilled we could look after you on such a special day, and help make your special day as stress free as possible. Thank you again and we wish to add our congratulations from all the team. More 

Dumfriesshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had my wedding reception at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel at the beginning of June 2016. Absolutely fantastic venue. The service and professionalism of the the staff was second to none. Went beyond my expectations. Lots of staff on duty, no queuing at the bars and staff very attentive to all our guests. The food and presentation of it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank PammiD32
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your amazing review of all the team , hotel and service, we would like to thank you for choosing the Dryfesdale Hotel to host your special day, all the team at the hotel wish the two of you every happiness together in the future. More 

Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Booked for an overnight stay on the drive up to Scotland to meet my family. Was bringing my dog which I mentioned on the booking form. I was called back quickly to say they would upgrade me at no charge to a garden room so that the dog could go straight out through French windows to the lovely little garden.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barts64
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a kind review, we are thrilled that the service you received and the hotel provided you with a great stay, hopefully we will welcome you again in the future. Many thanks from all the team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
15.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
2.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
15.4 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Price Range: $130 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay