We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a lovely bday treat at this friendly hotel. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Superb location in middle of town with amenities all around. Breakfast lovely,and jade who worked the hotel bar was lovely to chat to at the end of an evening out. Hotel manager even went the extra mile and very kindly returned husbands scarf to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela19562015
uk
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had lunch here on a Saturday dinner time. Food was very good had loverly fish in Gin and Tonic batter (never tried it like that before) and the staff were excellent. Will be returning maybe even stay overnight next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smurfs61
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having a husband working away is awful but unchangeable and we searched for somewhere about half way to meet neither of us could spend the night due to the demands of our jobs ..and we were luckily enough to find this little gem where we could have somewhere private to catch up with out paying for an overnight stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
wellingborough, northants
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Warm welcome from Lucy, excellent food, very very hot and tasty. Cooked perfectly. Woukd definitely go again and recommend to others. Good selection of food even on a Sunday lunch, also wine selection and prices all good value. We only had dinner here so can't comment on the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline r
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Received an exceptional service from all staff on duty. Our afternoon tea for two choice was a wonderful experience. We appreciate the customer care we received. Made our afternoon more enjoyable. Spending time in a relaxed atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa B Thank you so much for your wonderful comments today and I am delighted to read that Chef and the staff at the Whipper made this such memorable, relaxing and enjoyable afternoon for you. I do hope that Mr Turton and Chef can look forward to looking after you both again very soon. Kind regards Denise Ummat

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Generous sandwiches, excellent cakes and scones, quality Champagne, and lashings of tea in relaxing surroundings with friendly staff. On discovering that one of us is vegetarian, our waitress (Lucy) took it upon herself to go and rustle up a delicious and fresh side salad, in case the sandwich selection wasn’t extensive enough. Seeing that the array of cakes had defeated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsNige
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NorthantsNige It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed such a delightful afternoon tea with us at the Whipper and it will be a pleasure for me to pass your kind words and compliments on to both Chef and the restaurant team. I am so pleased that we managed to brighten up a rainy autumnal day for you. Chef...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It would be unfair to name any particular member of staff for special note because they were all outstanding during our recent stay ! At the point of booking I was impressed by the attitude expressed and from reception to check out the staff shone in every department . The food was excellent from both the chefs working during our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gavin P
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gavin P I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In and your kind words about Mr Turton and his team will be great boost to everyone who looked after you throughout your stay . The Hotel is part of a small group of five privately owned hotels and as...

Reviewed October 31, 2016

From check in to leaving a thoroughly unpleasant experience. As an experienced Tripadviser commenter I dont generally post pictures but on this occasion I will share some to show how bizzare/poor/dirty/unpleasant and dangerous this "hotel" was. On arrival we were greeted by a surly receptionist who trotted out a pre rehearsed greeting and gave me a dirty look when I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James G
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James G I am disappointed to read your review in light of the information given to me by the General Manager and my on duty team. At Brook Hotels we value all feedback and always do our best to resolve any issues that arise amicably. On this occasion you accepted our full apologies and the complete refund given to...

scunthorpe
Reviewed October 27, 2016

This is one of the the most friendly hotels we have stayed in. The staff are always smiling and helpful.The room we were in was large with two chairs and a table comfy bed, warm very clean everything you need for a few nights stay. The food was excellent well cooked and presented. Breakfast plenty of choice. . Service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralph_holmes2
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ralph and Yvonne Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In on your recent visit to Oakham and for your wonderful review today . I am delighted to read that you found warm welcome from Mr Turton and his team and that you room was perfect for your break away in Rutland. I will ,of...

Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

So disappointing. Dripping tap driving us crazy - said they would reduce room rate which is fair enough. Kettle disgustingly dirty in room and when we asked for a hot chocolate we were told the machine was broke...so we didn't even get a hot drink when we were there. Beds are uncomfortable and room generally needs renovating: ripped wallpaper, broken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ggbg2016
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ggbgg2016 I am very sorry to read that The Brook Whipper-In did not meet wth your expectations on this particular occasion and it is naturally always disappointing for us to read that any guest left the hotel unhappy. As a small privately owned group we can always be contacted directly by our guests first. However, we do value the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
0.1 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
2.1 mi away
The Old Plough
The Old Plough
#5 of 7 in Oakham
112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17th-century coaching inn is in Oakham town centre, in the old market square. It has free parking and original features, including real log fires and ancient oak beams. The Brook Whipper-In Hotel is a traditional country hotel. It is less than 500 metres from Oakham Rail Station, which has regular direct trains to Leicester, Peterborough and London Stansted Airport. Hotel Rooms: 24. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Brook Whipper-In Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottingham

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Brook Whipper-In Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Discuss your needs when booking , this is an old building with many quirks ! The quirks can add to the experience if identified in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles 45gavinp, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“ask to see your room before agreeing to spend ANY money.”
  • gap in cutrains covered by towel
  • modern tv stand in old style room used for coffee table
  • Lamp brought from hall to assist light, it did just.
  • poorly decorated doors
  • Lovely view.
  • tatty main window decor
  • Laundry left in narrow corridors, some overnight.
  • Someone elses refuse left in room.
 of 5 bubbles jamesgZ6575CX, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“If you are tall, best to phone and book to get a room without low beams”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisBartter, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“Only ate here but very pretty and nice people so would stay. Lovely old building but has a subtle modern touch.”
 of 5 bubbles tiggyg2015, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Belvoir very nice room”
 of 5 bubbles ScootsBirmingham, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay