We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 4 nights to attend a family wedding. All surrounding accommodation was booked. Prices per room per night were high (£175). The rooms (there were 4) were all tired and grubby. Cleaning standards were not high, dust on skirting boards and tiled shelves in the bathroom had not been wiped and were not wiped during our stay! Windows... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harttfelt
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hartfelt Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at he Brook Whipper-In as we do rely on our guests opinions and honesty to ensure that our Brook group standards are maintained consistently. The Chairman of Brook along with his senior management team have initiated new procedures and standards at the Whipper and we have a new GM... More 

Northampton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I received a voucher from the Activity Superstore for an afternoon tea for two as a Christmas present. I have been looking forward to using it. I chose to use it at the Whipper-In hotel, as it was the closest of the many venues available - still an hour away from our home. The voucher cost £34, so I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SnowyP
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SnowyP I am disappointed to read that you left the Hotel unhappy with your recent Afternoon Tea and I do appreciate the detailed feedback you have left for me today on this site . I can only apologise if this experience did not meet with your expectations and will be discussing your comments and observations with both Chef and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oakham hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on an overnight break. It seems we were the only couple staying, but the hotel was fully functioning and it seemed just for us. We were able to enjoy an afternoon sitting in the courtyard being brought our Pimms while we read the newspapers until we finally retired to our room to change for dinner. Without any notice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon M Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Whipper-In and although we were unusually quiet it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the unexpected tranquility ! I will , of course , pass your kind words on to Lee to share with all his team and I do hope that we can look... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a two night stay here. Had one previously booked through booking.com, had to cancel unfortunately. We lost our money but Lee the Manager said we could re-book and would not be charged. Lovely hotel. I asked for ground floor accommodation and we were put in the courtyard in converted stables. Very spacious, albelt quite dark, The staff very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beryl M
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beryl M it is wonderful to read that we were able to welcome you to the Whipper-In despite your change of plans . Thank you so much for reviewing your stay so kindly and I do hope that we will be abel to look after you again should you return to visit Oakham again . Kind regards Denise Ummat More 

Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rutland U3A had lunch here yet again today. The manager, Lee, is sadly about to take a job elsewhere. He has been amazing for the last year and today was no exception and we had even better value!! You cannot go anywhere else in Oakham for a three course meal for £12.99. Admittedly, he did say that if he can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret G Thank you for returning to the Whipper for your Rutland U3A luncheon once again and I am delighted to read that Lee and his team looked after you so well .It will be my pleasure to pass your kind words on to Chef and i do hope that our new GM can welcome you all back again... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is great, central in the village and free parking for guests to the rear of the hotel. There are plenty of local shops and places to eat - but you would not want to eat anywhere but the onsite restaurant.. the food there is sublime. Each course bettering the last, incredible choices for dinner and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren I
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauren I i am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In and it will be my great pleasure to pass your wonderful comments on to Chef . I am pleased that you found the Hotel comfortable and welcoming and it is fantastic to read that you would return to stay with... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had our wedding here last Friday, and it was fantastic. Lee Mogridge and all of the staff went well above the call of duty. all the rooms are fabulous. I would have no hesitation in going back at any time.

Helpful?
Thank Guy P
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guy P Congratulations once again from all of us at Brook Hotels and the Brook Whipper-In . Thank you for choosing the Hotel as the venue for your special day and it is wonderful to read that you , your family and friends were able to relax and enjoy every moment . It will be a great pleasure for... More 

Kent, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet place to stay in the heart of Oakham. Handy hotel carpark round the corner. Visited Oakaam for Her Majisty’s 90th birthday in June (that’s my Mum – not Liz who hogged the publicity). Weather was bad so we eat in the restaurant of the hotel. No regrets as very good vegetarian meal – wild mushroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank undertones
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear undertones Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In and I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay . i do hope that your mother had a fantastic birthday in June and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting. Kind regards Denise Ummat More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a very large room with a four poster bed and two armchairs. It was comfortable, though all a bit dated with furniture in need of replacement. The hotel is in the market square of the county town, though there's not much in Oakham itself. Reception was friendly and efficient and the breakfast staff were helpful. Wi-Fi worked well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandP_Cotswolds
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JandP_Cotswolds Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In Hotel and for your feedback regarding the plumbing problems you experienced on this occasion. Please accept our apologies as this is not usually an issue at the Whipper and i would like to assure you that this has since been rectified by Mr Mogridge and... More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights with the family in the Warwickshire room for a wedding. Yes the room and hotel furnishings are a bit dated and it is quite expensive for what it is but that is the same for most hotels in the UK. There is a lovely courtyard when the sun shines. The food is really good. Fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank joeldowland
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joel, Thank you for your wonderful comments, I will be sure to pass them on to Lee and his team. It is a delight to see that you throughly enjoyed our courtyard, where we have recently put in all of our summer baskets. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Denise Ummat Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
0.1 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
2.7 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17th-century coaching inn is in Oakham town centre, in the old market square. It has free parking and original features, including real log fires and ancient oak beams. The Brook Whipper-In Hotel is a traditional country hotel. It is less than 500 metres from Oakham Rail Station, which has regular direct trains to Leicester, Peterborough and London Stansted Airport. Hotel Rooms: 24. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Price Range: $101 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay