We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 397: English reviews
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights with the family in the Warwickshire room for a wedding. Yes the room and hotel furnishings are a bit dated and it is quite expensive for what it is but that is the same for most hotels in the UK. There is a lovely courtyard when the sun shines. The food is really good. Fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank joeldowland
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joel, Thank you for your wonderful comments, I will be sure to pass them on to Lee and his team. It is a delight to see that you throughly enjoyed our courtyard, where we have recently put in all of our summer baskets. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Denise Ummat Director More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the building - historic with wonky walls, floors and beams. The bedroom was really spacious, warm and comfortable, though a tad tired. The receptionist was lovely and welcoming, as were most of the staff. Being in the centre of the village was great - easy access to shops and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nikki, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I will pass on your kind comments to our Reception team and it is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the location and historic nature of the Brook Whipper-In Hotel. As with all Brook Hotels the Brook Whipper-In is under constant refurbishment, however I will be sure to pass... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe the problem I had with my stay was an unrealistic expectation. However, the cost of the room was the same I have paid in much better hotels so I don't feel bad about being critical. The Hotel is in the centre of Oakham so if you are visiting the town which is the capital of Rutland then the hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas I
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thomas I It is always disappointing to read that any guest has left the hotel disheartened and did not mention any concerns or issues at the time to Mr Mogridge . As you can see from this site the Brook Whipper-In usually receives a great number of compliments from our guests and I can only apologise that on this... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oakham hotels

Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at this hotel are warm, welcoming and friendly. Couldn't ask for more. We were made to feel especially welcome during every aspect of our stay. The hotels interiors are a little dated and tired. But the staff make up for this. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Oscar-max-rosie
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oscar-max-rosie Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In Hotel whilst in Oakham and I am delighted to read that you had such a comfortable stay. it is always lovely for Mr Mogridge and his team to read that their warm approachability and attention to detail made your stay so memorable and ,of course, we... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had a 2 night stay at whipper-in hotel with our dog Milo . The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We went for bed , breakfast and evening meal , which was very good value , would recommend . The food is fantastic and plentiful. We didn't have to leave Milo in the room either... More 

Helpful?
Thank madmaggiemm
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear madmaggiemm It is wonderful to read that both you and Milo had such a lovely stay with us in Oakham . As the owner of a beautiful black Labrador who was born only a few miles out of Oakham, I do appreciate how lovely it is to be able to take him away with me and I am glad... More 

Charlottesville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location for walking around the friendly town. We met John who let us climb his church tower and help him "wind" the church tower clock. All day we heard the ringing results of our winding. Spacious clean room and great breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wayne S Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In and it is wonderful to learn that you had such an interesting time in Oakham and Rutland. What an experience and privilege to be able to “wind” the church tower clock and of course it would be a pleasure for Mr Mogridge and his... More 

Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent one night in this delightful hotel. The welcome and the service was great. We upgraded to the four-poster poster bedroom which overlooked the market square.. beautiful. The evening meal was absolutely perfect. The only slight downside was the shower was not great, but once the morning rush was over it was fine. I would highly recommend the hotel -... More 

Helpful?
Thank helebake
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear helebake Thank you very much for you wonderful comments today. It is a delight to hear that you had such lovely stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In. Mr Mogridge and his team always great pride in their customer service and I am glad to hear that you were looked after so well and enjoyed your stay in our... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely, picturesque inn in Oakham, a good location for local attractions and amenities. A warm welcome, eventually; there seems to be staff issues. The room was comfortable and adequate. A perfectly comfortable overnight stay here. The only bug bear was during our meal. The only member in the bar, bistro was not very attentive and his customer service skills... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Brook Whipper-In Hotel and it is so disappointing to read that you left the Hotel unhappy with the service you received in the bar. As you can see from this site it is very unusual for Mr Mogridge or any of his team to receive feedback of this... More 

Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights for fishing on Rutland water and attending a wedding. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us. We only ate dinner there one night and it was reasonable in both price and quality and the breakfasts were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank SAB-hols
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SAB-hols Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Whipper and for your wonderful review today. We were delighted to look after you and your group and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Denise Ummat More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Oakham and wanted somewhere to eat other than the hotel we stayed in but nearby. Luckily for us we chose the Whipper-in Hotel. It was a wet Sunday evening, we didn't book but were welcomed and seated immediately in the bar area. Lee, the general manager served us and we chose the roast beef which was delicious.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JENNYJOHN2011
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny and John Thank you for choosing to dine with us last Sunday and for taking a moment to review your experience so kindly for Lee and his team today . Chef will be delighted to learn that you enjoyed your meal in an attempt to escape the rain that seems to have characterised the summer this year !... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
0.1 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
2.1 mi away
The Old Plough
The Old Plough
#5 of 7 in Oakham
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17th-century coaching inn is in Oakham town centre, in the old market square. It has free parking and original features, including real log fires and ancient oak beams. The Brook Whipper-In Hotel is a traditional country hotel. It is less than 500 metres from Oakham Rail Station, which has regular direct trains to Leicester, Peterborough and London Stansted Airport. Hotel Rooms: 24. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Price Range: $103 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay