We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 455: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This hotel is a real gem although a bit dated. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always happy. The food is beautiful and such large portions beautifully cooked. The beds were a little bit hard for me but the sheets were snow white as were the huge towels in the bathroom where the shower was hot and powerful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night, we wanted to use a buy a gift voucher but was told they had no allocations on a saturday for the rest of the year, so we paid to stay instead. Most of the rooms were unoccupied so do not understand why we were unable to use our voucher. The room was cold, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sck0218
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sck0218 I am naturally disappointed to read your feedback today and as you can see from this site the Brook Whipper-In does not usually receive such a disappointing rating or comments. I can only apologise that the Hotel did not meet with your personal expectations but would like to take this opportunity to clarify the use of vouchers such...

Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed yesterday on business. The hotel is very well appointed with an historic feel. The staff were attentive and professional. I stayed in the "Belvoir" room overlooking the town square. Four poster bed, comfy armchairs a nice TV. The food was lovely and a special mention to Jade and Billy excellent service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MapManEssex
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MapManEssex Thank you for your wonderful review and rating today. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Belvoir and will, of course , pass your kind comments on to Jade and Billy for making you so welcome on this occasion. If you are back in the area, whether for business or simply to enjoy Oakham...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the old Berkeley suite which was an upgrade we hadn't expected for FREE Thankyou Only complaint all the floors are very old and creak As suite is on ground floor it was a little noisy although not a problem EXCELLENT staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne M I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In and it was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you in our Old Berkeley suite over looking the courtyard. I am pleased that you were made to feel most welcome by all the team and look forward to looking...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night on 28th Jan and when we checked out both couples were overcharged despite having a clear booking reservation from Bookings.com stating the price. Agreed to pay the higher price as we needed to leave as no-one in authority seemingly around to assist. Also due to issues we only were given one receipt with a promise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tayfat
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tayfat Thank you for your comments on this site today and i can only apologise for any delays in contacting you since you checked out. if you would like to email me on info@brook-hotels.co.uk then I will be able to look in to this for you. Kind regards Denise Ummat

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay here, hotel in a perfect location. The room was large with a good sized bathroom, the room could have been a bit better lighted. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Even making us two fresh pots of coffee at 11pm to take up to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimyorkshire
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jimyorkshire Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Whipper and I am delighted to read that you had such a comfortable stay. I will, of course , pass your kind comments and feedback on to Sam and Chef Deepu and of course we do hope that we can welcome you back again very soon should...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights for business purposes in Oakham. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The property is an old style manor house type of hotel but it's quint and works well. Room was en suite and warm, provided everything I needed, would recommend to anyone who was to stay in Oakham.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmybear2013
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimmybear2013 Thank you for your kind review today and I am very pleased to learn that you had such a comfortable stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In . I will, off course , pass your kind compliments on to Mr Turton and his team and it will be a pleasure to look after you again should you return...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped in late at night after being Delayed in Coventry.Great reception from hosts who kept hospitality open for us so we could catch up with colleague who had travelled ahead, Comfortable beds and excellent English Breakfast, Good friendly place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bossylemon
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bossylemon Thank you for your kind comments and review following your last minute decision to stay with us at The Whipper. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay catching up with colleagues and friends. It was a pleasure for us to meet you all and of course we look forward to welcoming you back again...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2017

I had a great stay here for NYE. The hotel is located right in the centre of a beautiful cobble stoned town. The staff were really friendly throughout our stay, also smiling and making sure we had everything we needed. The chef was fantastic, and made some brilliant vegan dishes. Each room was differently furnished with real charm & character....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucyjanecharles
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lucyjanecharles Thank you for your wonderful review and rating of the Brook Whipper-In and I am delighted that you found the hotel to be a perfect venue to welcome in 2017. Chef Deepu will be very pleased to receive your kind compliments and of course he looks forward to cooking for you once again the next time you are...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2017

We went here for new year and had the set menu for the evening. It was absolutely incredible, so delicious and beautifully presented, and all the staff were so friendly despite haing to work NYE. The rooms are charming and characterful, and we had a great nights sleep - we couldn't hear any noise from the street or lively bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 139Bev99
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 123Bev99 I am delighted to read that you enjoyed welcoming in the New Year with us at The Brook Whipper-in and that Chef Deepu delighted you with his menu . Thank you for your wonderful comments and rating and of course all of us at the hotel wish you all the very best for 2017. Kind regards Denise Ummat

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
0.1 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
2.0 mi away
The Old Plough
The Old Plough
#4 of 7 in Oakham
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17th-century coaching inn is in Oakham town centre, in the old market square. It has free parking and original features, including real log fires and ancient oak beams. The Brook Whipper-In Hotel is a traditional country hotel. It is less than 500 metres from Oakham Rail Station, which has regular direct trains to Leicester, Peterborough and London Stansted Airport. Hotel Rooms: 24. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Price Range: $70 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Brook Whipper-In Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottingham

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Brook Whipper-In Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms have double glazing which keeps warmth in and noise out-just off main road. .”
 of 5 bubbles bossylemon, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Discuss your needs when booking , this is an old building with many quirks ! The quirks can add to the experience if identified in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles 45gavinp, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“ask to see your room before agreeing to spend ANY money.”
  • gap in cutrains covered by towel
  • modern tv stand in old style room used for coffee table
  • Lamp brought from hall to assist light, it did just.
  • poorly decorated doors
  • Lovely view.
  • tatty main window decor
  • Laundry left in narrow corridors, some overnight.
  • Someone elses refuse left in room.
 of 5 bubbles jamesgZ6575CX, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“If you are tall, best to phone and book to get a room without low beams”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisBartter, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“Only ate here but very pretty and nice people so would stay. Lovely old building but has a subtle modern touch.”
 of 5 bubbles tiggyg2015, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question