We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

South Sands Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
South Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 682: English reviews
Enville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great place for drink on balcony. Service was nice & friendly although cocktail list was a bit limited. They were really relaxed about a gang of us arriving c6pm for drinks, they even cleared away the table setting to give us the table closest to the edge. Rooms and hotel restaurant menu looked nice.

Helpful?
Thank Davina H
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Davina H", Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Yes, South Sands, with its unique beachside location in Salcombe has always been a great place to relax enjoy a cocktail. I am sorry that you felt our cocktail list was not extensive enough - we will look at this and add some more! The team... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a birthday treat from my partner,Julie. The location is excellent,we were greeted by Yvonne at reception who was very pleasant and helpful as was the wonderful Antoinne who carried our bags to our very pleasant room,which was cool and bright in decor,love the louvred shutters,allows plenty of fresh air to circulate.Wonderful verandah to relax and view the sea.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Julie R" and "Lord Ian Dye of Chaol Ghleann", Thank you very much for giving us your very positive feedback - I am very glad that so enjoyed your birthday treat. "Breakfast in the restaurant windows open,sea air drifting" - I am so glad you appreciated this. Breakfast on a summer morning at South Sands is very special. Thank... More 

London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband booked South Sands for our anniversary, it was simply perfect. We arrived on Friday afternoon, room 9, looked out onto the water, such a beautiful view. We had a glass of fizz in the lovely hotel bar before catching the ferry into Salcombe for dinner. Breakfast in the morning was served on the terrace, so relaxing. I'm hoping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stass2003
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Stass2003", Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm very glad that you had such a good time on your anniversary and that you appreciated the unique waterside ambience. We really appreciate your feedback, especially the description " one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!". That is wonderful to hear. Wishing you... More 

Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was lovely, if a little on the small portion side for an active family of four adults. We were disappointed that although we had given them notice of one us having a few food intolerances they had not taken this in to account, and when food was served it had things missing from the dish which was fine,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Fiona H", Thank you for your feedback. We receive large numbers of requests for a wide variety of dietary requirements of preferences - our front of house and kitchen teams work very hard to arrange alternatives and to source suitable ingredients where necessary. I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to achieve what you required. I will... More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in room 7 with greyhound missy. Plenty of room and fabulous seaview. Staff very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was very good and very relaxing sitting at table outside on balcony overlooking beach. Please make sure you keep dogs on leads when walking over cliff paths _ for their safety

Helpful?
Thank clairebaker922
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clairebaker922, Thank you for your feedback (which we share with the teams). I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Whilst we are 'dog friendly' and supportive of our dog owners, South Sands beach is a Blue Flag beach and dogs are not permitted during the summer months. We are surrounded by beautiful cliffs, coastline and rural lanes... More 

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Average standard we have visited here for the past four years,were disappointed on our most recent visit.management stop taking regulars for a ride.We eat out regularly around Cheshire and do not pay these prices for average food.Service was poor,vegetables not arrive with main meal until we reminded waitress,also three of us eating one sweet did to arrive until the others... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobinS825
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "RobinS825", Thank you for your feedback. Whilst we have been overwhelmed with positive response to the re-launch of South Sands Restaurant under Executive Chef, Allister we know that we cannot please everyone. All feedback is taken seriously and analysed. South Sands is a stunning location and Allister and his team is now producing some stunning food, but this does... More 

Austrian Alps, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been coming here over the last couple of years, we were quite impressed by the hotel and its service. This year in contrast we have been very disappointed by the service at the bar in particular (11th July). staff who were very condescending while ordering, being impolitely told to take another entrance and extremely overpriced drinks! Not happy at... More 

Helpful?
Thank magmatten85
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "magmatten85", Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I can honestly say that the service in South Sands Restaurant is the best it every has been (I am confident to say this from feedback given to me so many regulars) - BUT I am very sorry that you experienced poor service and were disappointed. I... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have loved Salcombe for many years but would never stay here again. Our room was small. There was not enough room to unpack even tho we stayed for only 2 nights. The dining room has a lovely position and breakfast was good, Evening meal was disappointing. The menu was very small. It did not change each night and was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn F
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Lynn F", Thank you for your review, even though it is 8 MONTHS OLD and pre-dates the appointment of our new Executive Chef, Allister Bishop and the complete re-vamp of our food offering - which does make it more difficult for me to respond meaningfully. Dog friendly - yes, we pride ourselves on being dog-friendly and our guests really... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We live locally and went for a celebratory meal. Having eaten at every establishment in Salcombe the restaurant at South Sands hotel is outstanding. Chef Allister Bishop fuses locally sourced fresh seafood, meat and veg combining succulent seasonal flavours beautifully presented for a fabulous dining experience unrivalled in Salcombe. It's out of town, walkable for the fit, a short taxi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Klunk-Klik
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Klunk-Klik ", Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad that you appreciate the changes that we have made this year. Whilst we do get negative comments (change of pricing etc) and we understand that we cannot please everyone - we know just how much the majority of our South Sands customers want a top quality creative food... More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on holiday in the area and tried this restaurant for the first time. Lovely table and view. Good service. Bread before the meal was home made and lovely. Starters and all that followed was good. Wine list on the expensive side, but well cared for. Better than some restaurants in town (Dick and Wills), and would eat here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gaddspam
Stephen B, Director at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Gaddspam" Thank you for your generous feedback on South Sands. With the appointment of Allister Bishop in early 2016 we have started a significant re-launch of our food offering. We still have much that we want to do but we are constantly encouraged by the wonderful feedback (mostly direct to us) that we receive. Thank you again for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

201 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (177)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
12.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Price Range: $251 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay