We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

South Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
South Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 751: English reviews
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at South Sands a couple of times and really love it. We have always been struck by how well they accommodate guests with their canine friends. So, as soon as we got our puppy in the Spring we knew we wanted to book her first beach holiday at the South Sands Hotel. We spent our days out walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here may times as well as eaten. We chose to get married here as we feel this hotel is an absolutely gem in a beautiful setting. From the moment we arrived everything went to plan. The rooms as always were immaculate and well equipped. This is the first time we have stayed in a beach suite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahWag
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is an interesting drive through tortuous narrow lanes. Rather scary at night; but at least you can see lights coming the other way! Once arrived has a good car park.welcoming and friendly staff. Food in the restaurant is first class.The breakfast choice is great and the eggs have the most golden yolks ever! All eaten in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clairepearson735
London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a shame. The location is great. The Hotel is ok. Fairly bland. No design flair. The food is just outrageous. It angers me when a restaurant charges these prices and doesn't come up with the goods. 2 courses for £33. 3 for £43. All tiny. DO NOT eat there. The whole of Salcombe is saying it too so,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank baron-von-stuk
Antoine G, Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame / Monsieur, Merci / Thank you to take the time to comment on South Sands Salcombe Hotel and Restaurant. I am sorry to read about your experience in our restaurant. I would have preferred to talk with you and have the occasion to deal with the matter directly. First the markers or mackerels, I guess you meant, were...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

Went on a travelzoo offer with high expectation after reading reviews. First the good. Superb location. Fantastic decor. Greeting warm Sommelier excellent Starters excellent. (Both) Then it went wrong! Bad bits. Mussels were surprisingly gritty. Not complained about as nature is as nature is. Steak dip sandwich! Chips excellent. Sandwich and dip cold. Head waiter was busy but asked him...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jedi1962
Reviewed October 31, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2016. The staff were very helpful and friendly , the Room we had was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and we also had dinner which was excellent for 2 nights and slightly disappointing on the 3rd evening. This is a very high quality hotel and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
Antoine G, Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame and Monsieur, Merci / Thank you for taking the time to comment on South Sands Salcombe Hotel and Restaurant. Thank you for your praise and your kind reminder to deliver constantly the highest quality in service and produce. Regards Antoine Gay Hotel Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Stayed in a 2 bedroom Beach Suite. Beautifully decorated, Tea, Coffee and bottled water provided. (Loved that they support local Businesses) Views of the Sea and the beach. (Steep walk to bar and dining room so not recommended for elderly or disabled but check hotel for other rooms) Great Breakfast with Buffet and a la carte menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delphine J
Antoine G, Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame / Mademoiselle, Merci / Thank you; we are very pleased you get to enjoy a stay at the South Sands Salcombe Hotel and Restaurant. True the direct access from the beach suite to the beach is a very steep public walking passage. I would recommend one of the Hotel room easier to access. Kind regards, Antoine Gay Hotel...

West Sussex
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

A perfect setting for a hotel. This chic, modern and nautical hotel was sadly fully booked so we couldn't stay. We decided to stop for an impromptu lunch in the bar area as it was more informal. The bar area was homely, staff attentive and friendly but not OTT and the food was delicious. The service was speedy and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggie2010
Antoine G, Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame / Mademoiselle, Merci / Thank you to describe so well the South Sands feeling: chic, modern and not over the top atmosphere. It will be a pleasure to Welcome you back to the South Sands Salcombe Hotel and Restaurant. Kind regards, Antoine Gay Hotel Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Poor customer service. Have written to the manager some 3 times reference their gift voucher policy and to date not even the courtesy of a response, even an acknowledgement of my questions . The current policy is that if you do not spend the full value of your gift the hotel does not credit the remaining voucher value

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Antoine G, Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monsieur, Merci / Thank you to take the time to write on South Sands Salcombe Hotel and Restaurant voucher usage policy. As Gift vouchers are non-refundable and non-transferable. Cannot be exchanged for other products. Cannot be exchanged for cash. No change will be given. Entire value must be used in one visit. Cannot be applied to existing bookings. So...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Best spot by the beach where you can watch the beach,boats, and all the activities in the summer. Still no Doom Bar but the local replacement ales are OK. Staff always very helpful whether just for drinks or a bite to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimplyFred
Antoine G, Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame / Monsieur, Merci / Thank you for praising South Sands Salcombe Hotel and Restaurant; all the crew is working to make your special place the best spot by the beach possible. Regards, Antoine Gay Hotel Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (187)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
697 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
504 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
160 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Price Range: $103 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from South Sands Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from South Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Dragon rooms have great views and are spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles LizR830, 1 week ago | Read review
“The beach suites offer the perfect base for a luxury seaside break with family or friends.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahWag, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“You can see all the rooms on the website and choose the number you like.Watched sunrise from room 8 highlight of the stay.”
  • Sunrise6:30 am 5/11/16 view from our bedroom balcony
 of 5 bubbles Clairepearson735, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Sea view only”
 of 5 bubbles peterwolfe, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“A great place to go as a couple... good walks, ferry to Salcombe and seamless service”
 of 5 bubbles Petepresto, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay