We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bedford Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bedford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 452: English reviews
Start your review of The Bedford Hotel
 Click to rate
Caylus, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Some might call it old-fashioned with walls adorned with superb paintings and fine clocks and furniture. For me, it was a treasure trove of history and a happy reminder of hotels before chains and homogeneity. The staff were the opposite of the past. Young, engaging, attractive, friendly. I could imagine an elderly overseas traveller in particular finding this an exceptional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrHard2Please
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here briefly on business. Strong first impressions. Lovely communal areas, with classic feel. My bedroom was fine, clean, well presented, all the usual facilities. Good location, central, close to river. Easy parking. Breakfast very pleasant, good quality, although a 7.30am start is a little late for some business travellers. Would use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kernowcouple94
Bere Ferrers, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Bedford is one of life's pleasures and treasures! My friends and I live about seven miles away and really enjoy having lunch here as much as possible. The food is excellent (except my favourite, liver, has disappeared from the menu), the surroundings are perfect and the staff terrific. The fish and chips are to die for, but try it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bereferret
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing report on the Bedford Kitchen. I am delighted you and your friends enjoy coming here. I must try the fish and chips with onion rings, a first me! I am confident the liver dish will return by Autumn. See you again soon. Warm wishes, Leanne

Kent, Uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for a weekend break as a family of four in two rooms and had a great break. We have been coming to Dartmoor for decades now and always thought the Bedford looked very impressive. Well we were not disappointed. We were greeted with a very warm welcome upon arrival and it made a pleasant change for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The-Browns999
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I appreciate your comments and I am pleased that you are accepting of the hotel's historic features. It is indeed a very old building with sash windows and the odd creaky floorboard, but many comment on how it adds to its charm. Doubled with delightful staff and a perfect position...

Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 2 nights at the Bedford and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. We were welcomed by Brett who was most kind and helpful. Our room was perfect and the meals were brilliant. The staff were all helpful. The hotel is well situated and we would highly recommend it in all respects.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SUSAN T
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind praise. Brett is a treasure, I am delighted your received his warm welcome and thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Bedford. Please return soon. Warm wishes, Leanne

Lestrechure, France
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Traveling alone can be some what lonely, but the tree days I spent at there was friendly, all the staff were willing to help with any questions or advice on places to eat or visit. The room I had was clean and quintet, I heard very little noise from other guests, so I slept very well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Bedford and taking the time to review your stay. I am delighted your time spent here was restful and enjoyable. Please return soon. Warm wishes, Leanne

Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 16, 2017

We stayed here for a romantic weekend for my birthday. A great location close to the moors. Nice lounges for relaxing and parking ideal for the town. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helstongirl
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

I a delighted to read that your birthday spent at the Bedford fitted the bill. I hope you return to celebrate time and time again! Best wishes, Leanne

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 13, 2017

The most wonderful hotel I have ever stayed in! Everything was excellent and the staff were most helpful with our large group, meeting all our requests with courtesy and helpfullness. Cleanliness could not be faulted and the quality of the food was supreme. The rooms were most comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to you meet you all over this weekend. I am delighted the hotel was a suitable venue for such a special albeit sad occasion. I do hope you return in the future under different circumstances. Warm wishes, Leanne

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile

My best friend chose The Bedford for her wedding, it was beautiful! We stayed for two nights in a family room. Food was amazing at the Wedding and the Breakfasts were spot on! Will definitely return! Loved the place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katiekate78
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding day and your stay. I hope you will return one day. Best wishes, Leanne

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

I bought a voucher for afternoon tea at this hotel for my elderly parents. When they used it this month on their wedding anniversary, the tea was fine but no one came to see if they wanted more tea and when they did spot a member of staff, she blanked them! They had to go and find someone to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline, I am very sorry for the disappointment caused to you and your parents. I have addressed the service issue and can assure you that they will have a much better experience when they return. Best wishes, Leanne

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
171 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
366 reviews
7.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Price Range: $142 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Bedford Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Bedford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Only has a lift to first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 755susant, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have the best access as there is no lift for luggage but I am sure the staff would help if asked.”
 of 5 bubbles 57gwenh, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles Lindaclark9, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the side and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 745lyndav, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“May i recommened room 34 to you?”
 of 5 bubbles chrismN1340ZO, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question