We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 474: English reviews
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We really like this hotel. We come every year for the moto gp at Silverstone. We did stay in some other hotels at first but since we stayed here we have booked again each year. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Did have to find someone to serve us at the bar as there was a wedding being prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Humphrys133
Sedgley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked a break for a couple of days, four of us over three rooms. Although the rooms are slightly tired they are clean, the beds are so comfortable and have everything that you need. The food and the service was fantastic, we ate breakfast dinner and evening meal here. Great choice at breakfast which is included in the price.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband, while visiting family. My husband has trouble sleeping in different places but slept like a baby at the cromwell. The room was nicely decorated and clean. Shower was lovely and powerful. Fully working tv in room and tea and coffee tray with kettle fully stocked and replenished each morning along with fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cazgar
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old fashioned hotel breakfast with waiters trying to give orient express service at Weatherspoon prices if it works for them is works for me till i put on too much weight .I only had breakfast sure everything else is good for price

Helpful?
Thank Lyon O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was unfortunate enough to visit the hotel for breakfast. The receptionist showed us to a breakfast bar informing us to help ourselves. There was no juice, and a poor selection of cereals. So to what I am unsure...After being ignored for five minutes by two waiting staff someone finally shuffled over and took our order informing us with a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank rob h

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room 9 , £85.00 for the night which is the going rate, But I would expect a TV that turned on , taps that work normally , a shower fit for use and clean. You expect uneven floor , creaky boards is a building as old , but you have to expect what you pay and this fell very short.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think that Mr O Cromwell, given the chance, would have recognised Cromwell Lodge on a return journey some 400 years later...........and that's not so good. Times change, Cromwell Lodge hasn't.My wife and I stayed for 3 nights, using it as a base as we "hit Cropredy". Our room was at the top of the lodge and was clean,as were... More 

Helpful?
Thank RON222014
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do accept that this room needs work, unfortunately due to the age of this building it is hard to change quickly. This room has maybe a little too much character. We do hope you enjoyed your stay More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for 2 nights Saturday and Sunday. Ample parking space at the back of the building. Bedroom was on the top floor facing the main road . comfy bed and pillows tea and coffee making facilities . soap and shampoo. Shower was poor quality bedroom is in need of some TLC. But adequate. Thought it would be noisy at night... More 

Helpful?
Thank glynnbo
banbury
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with family the night before a wedding which thankfully was else where. Firstly the room was not work £95 a night the bed was squeaky and after looking properly noticed the wood was in fact split all at the back and broken. The floors are uneven which made our drinks slide of the bed side table. The shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank charlotte j
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I apologise that you did not have smooth service at the breakfast table, I will look into this. Regarding the rooms, we are having a refurbishment in the near future however, I am not sure if this will sort the uneven flooring as it is such an old building it... More 

oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service to the usual high standard,food really good value and good quality. Room's would benefit from updating as this is an old building,however they are always well kept and clean,no complaint's !Recommend this establishment when staying in this area,hold's it's own easily against the opposition !

Helpful?
Thank snipers
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you have enjoyed a meal here again, hopefully see you soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
5.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $90 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay