We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lismore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lismore Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lismore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I got as far as the room and turned straight around and left. Urine all on the floor and shower, dirty and worn bed linnen. I'd rather sleep in the car. Stay Stay Stay away. Ring any other hotel in Banbury. They will tell you the same.

Helpful?
5 Thank Colman1000
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

Me and my maid checked the bathroom floor it was clean and dry. You would not come back upstaire to show me the wet floor or unmade bed. Our linen is contracted out to a very good laundry who we have been with for 12 years and they supply most of banbury. You would not come back upstaire to show... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here on 25/05/14. The studio room was a terrace of rooms along one side of the carpark. The room was small and although not spotlessly clean it was passable. The room was chilly at night, I would not want to stray there in the winter. During the night the hotel wall fell over and distributed about two tonnes of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

firstly I think you have the wrong person I was at the hotel as I live at the hotel.The chap who you spoke to was a guest. I was very concerned about your car and anybody under the wall.My first thoughts were my god, then am I responsible for this, I didn't find it funny in any way. I also... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Booked to stay here a few weeks ago to attend a family event with my partner. The hotel website left a very good impression and it was located close to the family event. The hotel staying experience did not live up to the image portrayed by the wesbite. The whole appearance of the car park, reception and then finally the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank S1ouxiqueue
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

many thanks for your review The smell you mention is a lady that is staying at the hotel its her choice of perfume, can I give her you phone number and you can tell her yourself. You could not find the ladies toilet or the soap well both are no more than 15 yards from reception, you past it on... More 

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the Lismore whilst visiting family in the area. The hotel itself was easy to find - but the car park at the back was not signposted from Oxford Road and we had to work out for ourselves how to get to it. Check-in was quick and painless. Our room itself was somewhat of a disappointment. Access was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mekydro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel had the last room available in Banbury. After reading the reviews on here I booked reluctantly. I rang to ask about early check in or dropping my luggage off so I could get to the wedding on time. The manager Paul told me this wasn't possible and if I was arriving after 1am after the wedding he wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Lindsay B
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

I told you you could drop your bags at the hotel but your room may not be ready as we were full the night before, it was the game fair. You never asked for a refund you never called again just canalled the booking. If I was wanting this I would book 2 nights you cannot expect me to throw... More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

when to check room upon arrival,room was very small 4 poster bed with a small style camp bed rammed between the 4 poster and fireplace when trying to gain access to the camp bed i thought the mattress on the double was going to give way an sank in the middle so gave up the last think i want to... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank trotterthegreat
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

dirty mugs and spoon left over from previous occupants carpet hadnt seen a hoover in weeks the fan was broken and dangerous as there was no front cover exposing the fan blades broken chair and curtain rail the bed was uncomfortable and duvet felt like 2 old blankets in a duvet cover... solid thick and heavy the man on reception... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Marion S
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here with 3 colleagues a few weeks ago, and to say we were disappointed is an understatement! The rooms, including bathrooms, carpets, beds, all filthy. There was so much dirt on the carpets of all 4 rooms, we were shocked! They didn't even have the decency to spin a hoover around or clean the bathrooms or beds after the... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank BarrieS2
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

well thats very strange if it was so bad i would have said at the hotel and pointed it out ? More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Shower broke and came away from the wall. Impossible to balance hot & cold water. Only 2 milk sachets but a million coffee, tea, hot chocolate sachets. Television not working or just an extremely bad signal that needs looking into. Those utterly annoying disposable bath mats that stick to your feet and end up thrown in the corner instantly!!

Helpful?
9 Thank MartinMillgf
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked over the phone and arrived late afternoon to be shown the "chalet" lol....a converted shed ! Car park was hard to find as was reception . We could not not stay in the chalet .....double bed shoved against radiator and hardly any room the other side ...just enough for the door to open. We asked for another room... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank Mike M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay