We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cressbrook Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cressbrook Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 196: English reviews
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2016

We were overall a bit disappointed. We stayed in Rubion Retreat, a 2 bedroom apartment with an amazing view but otherwise a poor comfort level and disappointingly uncomfortable beds and sofas. It may well be we were late in the season but it doesn't stop it being poor. Way too expensive for the quality. No internet, no mobile signal (excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robwillwood
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with you're accommodation. If we had known about these issues during you're stay we would of course have done our best to rectify the problems. We have taken all of your comments on board and will do our best to act upon them. Many thanks. More 

1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a break with my son.we had an amazing time.i can not fault our stay.bobby was lovely and really helpful.beautiful place.the room which we stayed was gorgeous. The free standing period bath was lovely and the king size bed was so comfy. Thanks bobby for a awesome stay.beccy and Adam.

Helpful?
Thank beccyboo13
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Beccy and Adam, thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed you're stay and thought the accommodation was lovely. Hopefully we will see you again sometime! More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2016

We couldn't find anywhere to accommodate us that wasn't already full or required a minimum two night stay, so when Cressbrook Hall had rooms, I honestly wondered what we would find. This is a secret gem tucked away, with plenty of walks from the door including to Monsal Head. The house and rooms were authentic and the owner very welcoming.... More 

Helpful?
Thank FHJasmine
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2016

This is our third time staying at Cressbrook after holding our wedding reception here some years back. Cressbrook and the area surrounding will always remain a very special place to us and staying here again did not fail to impress. There is a wide range of accommodation to choose from depending on what type of break you are looking for,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much Kerry, we are so glad that you always enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2016

A little off the beaten track and well worth finding. We stayed for one night and it was thoroughly enjoyable. The hotel is stunning as is the scenery and the surrounding garden that you can visit separately. Plenty of walking within the vicinity. The welcome was warm and the breakfast was good. The room was excellent. Absolutely recommend staying here.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review Jacqui. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the gardens and scenery surrounding the Hall. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Nice self-catering cottages, different styles, well equipped and comfortable in a spectacular location. Have not stayed in the Hall. Our well behaved dogs were welcome and we always have a great time when we stay. The Lower Cottage is oldy-worldy with a real log fire which I love after a long walk. Other cottages are more modern, take your pick.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much Nicholas for your kind review, we hope to see you and your dogs again soon! More 

Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We stayed over as a half-way break on the Monsal Trail. The accommodation had its teething issues but it's a wonderful setting and breakfast was sensational. We thought the lady owner was charming and helpful and would certainly stay again.

Helpful?
Thank BlinkingFlip
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to share our home with you. Bobby More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We stayed here recently, having a two night break in Rubicon retreat. The cottage was ideal for us, a couple with a dog. It is spacious (2 bed) and well equipped, but not so fancy that you would be uncomfortable with a dog (or children!) We booked at short notice and would not hesitate to return. We took breakfast in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

We got married at Cressbrook Hall a few days ago and cannot recommend it highly enough as a wedding venue. Bobby, Veronica, Emily and the rest of the staff were extremely accommodating and flexible leading up to the event. Everything went very smoothly on the day and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. Our guests staying in the cottages... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
glasgowk
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2016

We went for a lovely walk and saw the sign for Cressbrook Hall advertising food and drinks. As members of our party were thirsty we enter the grounds. What a nasty surprise!!! No choice of food and to sit in the tearoom you must pay to see the garden otherwise she closes the door to the garden!!! What a dated... More 

Helpful?
Thank hettie_8
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this review

Good evening Hettie. I'm so sorry our level of hospitality and courtesy disappointed and failed to satisfy you when you visited my home recently. Perhaps if you would like to telephone we could discuss ways in which we could redeem ourselves. Yours sincerely, Bobby Hull-Bailey (Mrs) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
7.0 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#2 of 9 in Buxton
958 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,210 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Cressbrook Hall

Address: Cressbrook Hall Nr. Buxton, Buxton SK17 8SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range: $82 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cressbrook Hall Hotel Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cressbrook Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't ask for Rubicon Retreat”
 of 5 bubbles Robwillwood, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Top spot and High spy are highly recommended for space, views and spotless rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 197kerryb, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Look at each cottage on-line to see what suits you best. Bobby and the staff at Cressbrook Hall will help you find what you are looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles NicholasC684, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“Great view of the valley from Rubicon Retreat”
  • View from Rubicon Retreat
 of 5 bubbles W2318CUandrewl, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“The Old Tractor Shed for groups”
 of 5 bubbles MJ2329, Sep 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question