We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocksalt Rooms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rocksalt Rooms
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely little bijou bolt hole, we had one of the LaLa rooms facing the rear. A quaint little room with wet room as a wc. We were only using it as a stopover to see friends who were staying at The Burstin over the road. The bed was very comfortable, coffee machine excellent, and continental breakfast adequate. Parking was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allychauffeur
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As an overnight stay it works, it is small, minimal usable surface areas and the wet room is more form than function but we loved it. Simple design, comfortable bed, cafetiere coffe with fresh milk, waking up to the sea, seagulls and the sound of the local fishmonger sorting out his trays. With a great little hamper delivered to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank HugoEngland
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

Eythorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I was brought this as a 30th wedding anniversary treat by the best friend and his wife. A meal and an overnight stay in 2 rooms as my best mate and his wife also came along. What a disappointment first of all I ordered 2 BOUQUETS of flowers for the rooms as surprises for the girls. What I got was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin S
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

We are sorry to see this review. We feel we worked very hard to accommodate your wishes and booked the flowers you requested with our local florist. Our manager was very upset when you told her she should have gone to Asda for the flowers, this is not somewhere we would ever consider buying flowers from? We asked you when... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We booked a room so that we did not need to drive having had our anniversary dinner in the restaurant. The rooms are very simple (we stayed in the one pictured called Valentine). Most impressed because unusually there was decaffeinated coffee with the Nespresso machine. The bathroom/wet room very clever for a small space, only gripe was that I couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank pfg0406
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We sincerely hope to see you again. The Rocksalt Team More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Used this room for an overnight stay and it was perfect, small but catered for all our needs, the breakfast hamper found on our doorstep the next morning was superb. These rooms are ideally placed for catching an early morning shuttle across to France and further.

Helpful?
Thank Bowkie54
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We sincerely hope you will give us another try someday. The Rocksalt Team More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2016

if you are thinking of staying in folkestone stay at rocksalt rooms, lovely contemporary rooms spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed. our breakfast hamper arrived at 8.30 am we were not disturbed they knocked and left outside our room and what a treat, croissants, jam and muesili yoghurt and fruit absolutely delicious and you can also go to main restuarant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank chatham2016
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again someday. The Rocksalt Team More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Lovely, modern room. Clean, fresh & airy with a very comfy bed. I had the best night's sleep in a very long time here. The little alley it is down is well lit at night, so I felt safe on my own in the dark walking down there. Very tasty hamper breakfast left outside our room,.

Helpful?
Thank nmccarty
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Arrived and a little disappointed with the attention to deal in the room. Strawberries were a lovely touch, however when you start looking around the room, the following were our observations: 1. Went to use the toilet and found someone had previously used this and had not been flushed properly! 2. En-suite far to small to have a wet room,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clunch
Ashford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We really liked the room we had here, sea view, comfy bed and walk in wet room. The rooms are only just over the road from the restaurant, two minutes tops. There is a fancy coffee machine and they put fresh fruit out which was a really nice touch. Really enjoyed our stay!

Helpful?
Thank KeatonPotatoes
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Food was outstanding, the complementary break and dips were lovely, the service was good waited a little long for our drinks but restaurant was packed. Overall the staff made our visit special they even brought a complimentary plate out with happy anniversary piped on it with some delicious raspberry sorbet. Thankyou Rocksalt we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank missladykent
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 9 in Folkestone
803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 9 in Folkestone
3,269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 9 in Folkestone
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Rocksalt Rooms are the perfect way to enjoy the beauty of Folkestone Harbour, or indeed to start or finish a meal with us in either of our restaurants. We have four boutique bolt holes, each with their own personality and dressed with Egyptian cotton, original antique beds, flat screen televisions and wet rooms. With stunning sea views, the rooms are situated on Folkestone Harbour and are just a short walk from Rocksalt restaurant and The Creative Quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rocksalt Rooms

Address: 1-3 Back Street, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Price Range: $104 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocksalt Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocksalt Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocksalt Rooms Folkestone, Kent, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rocksalt Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles 248colins, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“just stay 1 night and book a meal at the restaurant nearby”
 of 5 bubbles annaram470, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
“Sea view needed”
 of 5 bubbles martinaL8264ZK, Jun 18, 2016 | Read review
“Choose valentine best room there is !”
 of 5 bubbles kellyb63, May 30, 2016 | Read review
“We booked a standard double room which was absolutely tiny and the en-suit was a cupboard. Best fork out the extra and get a larger room.”
 of 5 bubbles LucyVincenzo, Jan 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay