We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$104
Booking.com$104
Priceline$104
eDreams$104
Trip.com$104
Travelocity$104
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (171)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (223)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 10 hotels in Folkestone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel is situated in a prominent position at Junction 12 near the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is located adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Make travel plans over a glass of wine in the light-filled lounge, or grab a tasty bite from our new refurbished restaurant. Bedrooms all have a cosy ambience, blackout curtains and smart TVs, helping to ensure an enjoyable stay. The hotel is pet-friendly and is also convenient for families on their way to Dover Ferry Terminal or Ashford International station, both around a 20-minute drive. On site car parking is provided free of charge. You can nip into Folkestone town centre by car in a few minutes. Folkestone offers miles of beautiful sandy beaches and cobbled streets; one of which being Charles Dickens' favourite streets. The thriving town is dotted with independent businesses and restaurants surrounded by colourful restored buildings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
1640Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 473
  • 710
  • 325
  • 80
  • 52
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ukbali wrote a review Jan 13
Brighton, United Kingdom166 contributions127 helpful votes
Sad to say I am a bit of a snob and given the choice would usually choose not to stay at a Holiday Inn Express. This place though has made me think again. Outstanding value and HI Express Folkstone delivers what it sets out to. Bright light and practical furnishings. Staff are responsive and polite. Cleanliness is to a good standard with the exception of vague smell of urine in the ensuite toilet on the two occasions I have stayed. Bleach not used maybe? The shower head on my second stay kept flopping downwards and toward the wall rather than toward me.... Food an beverage selection again good value and what you would expect. You are not going to get Eggs Benedict here for breakfast but a good range of fare is included in the room price, topped up as required and this adds to the overall value. Given the COVID situation I would have preferred cutlery to be pre-wrapped in napkins rather than everyone helping them selves from metal pots. Small criticisms only and the same faults turn up repeatedly in more expensive alternatives. Well run, well done, Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Dog friendly
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
24egl wrote a review Jan 11
Sheffield, United Kingdom41 contributions44 helpful votes
I often use this hotel , i know the standard, its clean, well managed, breakfast is continental selection with some fried bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs, rooms are clean and beds comfortable. its a transit hotel, most of the clients being en-route to somewhere or working locally
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
adrian406 wrote a review Jan 4
Edinburgh, United Kingdom35 contributions65 helpful votes
Well what can I say about the Holiday Inn Express in Folkestone? Firstly I learned that ‘Express’ differentiates it from just ‘Holiday Inn’, and not in any good way. Before I go any further, I’d like to say the staff were pleasant and welcoming. Beyond that, I have little good to say. Okay, it was clean, and the shower worked. Other than that, it was the most uncomfortable hotel I have ever stayed in. After an 11hour car journey, I just wanted to relax, and couldn’t. The sofa was like a bench in a waiting room. The bed was lumpy, uncomfortable and too small, and the duvet was thin and smaller again. Even the floor was uncomfortable - like industrial carpeting stuck to concrete. The room was right next to the lift, which ensured noise late on and again early in the morning. The bathroom was even fitted with a blue night light which shone through an opaque window into the room - just to dispel any last chance of sleep. I was exhausted the next day, and the buffet-style self-service breakfast wasn’t great, and not the sort of setup that’s appropriate during the Covid pandemic. Needless to say, I cancelled my return stay, and spent a bit more money elsewhere for a far better experience. Not for me, never again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi adrian406, I am glad you left feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel! We always wanted our guests to have a delightful stay, no matter what the purpose of the travel is. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your recent stay with us, particularly with the bed comfort, bathroom lights, and breakfast. IHG Hotels & Resorts sincerely cares about your experience, and I appreciate your taking the time to let us know. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. I'd like to obtain additional details regarding your experience so I have also sent you a private message. I hope you will give us a chance of staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
AdamSwanML wrote a review Dec 2021
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom105 contributions39 helpful votes
The team here were fantastic in looking after one of my team who stayed here unexpectedly as part of a long journey. Particularly Jamie Coleman stood out with her service and understanding in extending stays at short notice and tolerating lots of to-ing and fro-ing down to the changing of travel restrictions at a short notice! Thank you Jamie from me and Brad!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Sjc462 wrote a review Nov 2021
Kirtlington, United Kingdom1022 contributions254 helpful votes
Be in no doubt this property’s number one asset is it’s staff otherwise this would be a 2 or 3 rating. This is a dog friendly and person friendly hotel. The staff are very friendly we had an issue where the back rest our sofa had a ‘suspicious’ enjoyment stain. We complained shortly after check on and if was sorted! All the staff appear to love their jobs and this is very dog friendly. The bar is excellent, the internet good and the breakfast 1st class.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have nervous dogs ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express folkestone channel tunnel hotel folkestone, folkestone holiday inn express
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentFolkestone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Elham Valley Line Trust Countryside Centre & Railway Museum (0.6 miles), Eurotunnel Le Shuttle (0.5 miles), and St Martin's Church (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Britannia Inn, The Seafarer, and Himalayan Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Polish, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Crypt of St. Leonard (2.1 miles), Saltwood Castle (1.9 miles), and War Memorial 1914-18 - Folkestone (2.5 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Folkestone - Channel Tunnel, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.