We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Mansion House, Luton LU1 3TQ England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$267
Hotels.com$267
Priceline$267
Travelocity$267
Agoda.com$267
Orbitz.com$267
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1334)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 07/28/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Updated 07/28/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 30 in Luton
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.0
Value
3.7
Beyond the magnificent facade of the Mansion House which greets guests on arrival, lies a 5 star hotel, which is like no other. However, our guests quickly discover that behind the imposing grandeur of Luton Hoo, the atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming. Excellent transport links between St. Pancras and Luton Parkway railway stations mean we are easily reached from London or Cambridge. And as one of the most convenient hotels in Luton for accessing Luton airport, we are within easy reach of cities across Europe.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Public wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
3417Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,626
  • 775
  • 469
  • 329
  • 218
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lorraine H wrote a review Yesterday
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom50 contributions34 helpful votes
Easy check in after being greeted warmly by the wonderful Richard in his fabulous top hat. Our room was beautiful. Four poster bed, fantastic bathroom with an amazing shower. The bed was the best hotel bed I have ever slept in. Coffee, teas, Molton Brown products. Had a wonderful meal as part of a family 25th wedding anniversary. The staff were attentive, very professional. The food was amazing. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded today
Dear Lorraine H, Thank you for your 5 star review of Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed a celebration meal with your family. We wish you a Happy Anniversary and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Andrei Vintilou wrote a review Yesterday
4 contributions
We went at Luton Hoo hotel and Spa for the weekend for my wife birthday. We bought as a half board package with a clay shooting session and Spa. We highly recommend the clay shooting session with Pete Lee. He is a former shooting champion and he is the best. It was the first time for us but he made it looked like we were proffesionals. My wife best was 12 out of 12 and mine was 11 out of 12. I had to let her win as it was her birthday. Very exiciting and full of adrenaline. As well the Spa,vitality swimming pool, jacuzzi,saunas and steam rooms are worth the money
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded today
Dear andreivintiloiu85, Thank you for your 5 star review of Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your clay pigeon shooting with Pete, and that you enjoyed the spa also. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Francis wrote a review Jun 19
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Had a great time there with my friends and family for the afternoon tea . Staff were very professional helpfull and friendly and the food is great . Place is reasonably priced. Place is amazing and location is great Will return there again for sure. Thank you .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded today
Dear Roving25215734599, Thank you for your 5 star review of Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. We are delighted that you and your family and friends enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and were looked after well by the lounge team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Orhan Gozutok, Food & Beverage Manager
Read more
Roger B wrote a review Jun 17
Camberley, United Kingdom327 contributions96 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at Luton Hoo with some friends for a rare night away without children. There is no doubt that the estate is magnificent but that's sadly the best part. The main house is tired and in need of serious investment, the service is 3 star at best. The food in the fine dining restaurant is good but the service [again] is poor and very slow. Our room - lovely big room in the main house [28]. Needed attention - we had peeling / cracked paint on all the windows. The shower was excellent. The grounds - beautiful but in dire need of investment and TLC. There is a great deal of detailed work that needs doing for this to be a 5 star location. Cracked pathways, uneven slabbing and discarded furniture were all a blight on the external experience. The service - in a high end {£400 per night] location why do you have to queue to check in? one queue, with one server - terrible. Afternoon tea dominated the lounges. If you fancy a cocktail or drink in a lounge you have to dodge the discarded afternoon tea debris that has been left unclear through all the lounges. We eventually sat at a table which had not been cleared - the lounge manager said he'd clear the table, then disappeared! Eventually someone cleared the table. Service was slow, but the drinks were very good. Dinner was a disaster as far as service quality was concerned. We arrived at the restaurant door, waited..... then after 5 mins decided to just find a table - at which point we were intercepted by a manager. To cut a long story short - dinner took over three hours for three courses - so poor - he staff are nice people but very badly managed and low quality. For a location such as this, charging £400 per night I expected so much more.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded today
Dear 647RogerB, Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with the team. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some issues, particularly relating to service and delays in delivery of food. Please be assured that we take your comments on board for improvements to be made. We hope to be able to share news of refurbishment plans with you soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Ian S wrote a review Jun 12
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Met by top hat gentleman at the entrance who dashed out to meet us to tell us we couldnt park and that the parking area for us was somewhere in the direction of where he was wagging his finger. Heavily pregnant daughter found the walk back uphill to the hotel a little tiring, and yes we could have dropped her off first, but we didnt know the car park was so far away. Met at reception and the gentleman went to see if our table was ready. It was and we were escorted to our table. There were about half a dozen tables in our area occupied by people who had quite obviously already been served, so in reality there was only us waiting. And we did. Twenty minute to half an hour later a young lady approached the table and asked had nobody offered us menus ,and off she trotted and returned with 3 menus for 4 people. A little later she returned to take our order. Sometime later another young lady appeared to ask us if everything was fine. As nothing really had happened it was difficult to comment. Sometime later another waitress appeared with some story about scones being the reason for the delay. I admit that one defeated me. Anyway, in the fullness of time everything was delivered, including the 3 teaspoons which were missing from the saucers, and fortunately because the company was excellent and it was a nice day, the service became something to laugh at. I'm not really a high tea sort of guy. I do like little farm house type of tea rooms from time to time where service is normally very good and their cakes etc., are spot on. We were finally given an apology. It was all down to staff shortages apparently. Really? As I said, we were the only table waiting. I didn't on this occasion pay the the bill, and in truth I wouldn't presume to ask them, but I have the feeling this was not a cheap day out, and not really up to the standard it should have been.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Only went for afternoon tea.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ian S, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your service did not meet expectations on the occasion of your visit and appreciate you sharing your experience with me. If you arrange another visit to the hotel in the future, please contact me directly and I will be pleased to help with your arrangements and ensure that you are well looked after. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Escape598079 wrote a review Jun 8
Israel10 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Everything is wonderful! We were expecting to be disappointed after reading other reviews and hearing stories from locals. However, everything was excellent. The mansion is awe inspiring, the room & bathroom was impressive (we stayed in junior suite 21) and the service from everyone was superb. We had a massage, Claire was fantastic. The food in the brasserie was tasty for dinner and breakfast. We went bike riding around the impressive grounds. Our spa break was expensive (675 gpb) but totally worth it. They have got it right! David in reception and Andre on concierge were both great too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Escape598079, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of your stay at Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. I am so pleased to hear that everything was perfect for you and that you enjoyed great service from everyone. We do hope that you will return to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Malcolm P wrote a review Jun 8
3 contributions
Excellent 2 night stay. Staff without exception first class. Only disappointment was dinner on one night in the Brasserie which was mediocre and which we rated as 3 star. Beautiful building and fantastic gardens. The main restaurant, the Werner, was superb, as was afternoon tea and breakfast. We look forward to another visit, perhaps for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Malcolm P, Thank you so much for your 5 star recommendation of Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. I am pleased to hear that the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
sweeneyj wrote a review Jun 5
Liverpool, United Kingdom19 contributions19 helpful votes
Gorgeous setting, huge room, very grand. Very clean. We got there early and were able to check in immediately. Staff were all lovely and couldn’t do more for you. They even brought my husband a birthday card. Great experience and we would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear sweeneyj, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of your stay with us at Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. I'm delighted to hear that you had a great visit and were looked after well by the hotel team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Tracey S wrote a review Jun 4
United Kingdom4 contributions
We stayed for one night with dinner and spa treatments included , dinner was beautiful we upgraded to the mansion house , was disappointed when we received the bill and seen they charged us for 2 bottles of wine instead of the one we had and then on check out, we settled our bill and there was a room service charge which was not ours either it was for two meals shortly after we had a three course meal . I explained it didn’t even make sense . I was a bit annoyed as I could hear the staff discussing this in listening distance . It put a dampener on a lovely night away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 935traceys, Thank you for posting your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed a lovely stay with us, but please accept our apologies for the billings errors. I appreciate these marred your stay with us and apologise for the upset caused. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct this for you and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Bobo K wrote a review May 2022
15 contributions3 helpful votes
Had a fantastic experience with Pete Lee shooting at Luton Hoo. Very friendly and funny chap who was an excellent teacher for shooting. My wife and I have become budding shooters now. Disappointed to hear the new ownership are forcing him out wihtout consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Bobo K, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your clay pigeon shooting experience here at Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. Thank you for posting your review and we hope to welcome you and your wife back again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$285 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
luton hoo hotel golf luton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireLuton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
228
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Redbournbury Watermill and Bakery (4.9 miles), Wardown House, Museum and Gallery (2.9 miles), and Stockwood Discovery Centre (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef Peking, The Old Bell, and La Trattoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Berkhamsted Castle (9.3 miles), St Albans South Signal Box (7.9 miles), and Shaw's Corner (5.7 miles).