We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, JCT 9 London Road Markyate,Sint Albans, Luton LU1 3UE England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (186)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 29 hotels in Luton
Holiday Inn Luton South is the perfect base to discover a host of nearby attractions. For a family day out, visit the fantastic Whipsnade Wild Animal Park, the Roman city of St. Albans, or take a bracing walk and admire the nearby Dunstable Downs. Located just off junction 9 of the M1 and only a 10 minute drive from Luton Airport. We are situated in an easy and accessible location. Park, Stay & Fly Rates available. Ideally suited for both the business and leisure traveller, Holiday Inn Luton-South offer a range of facilities including newly refurbished bedrooms, wireless internet access and five flexible function rooms as well as high-class equipment for hosting business and social gatherings. For a meal or light snack the informal Borders restaurant provides excellent cuisine in a sociable and inviting atmosphere. Work out in style and take advantage of the extensive facilities provided in the leisure club including an indoor swimming pool, sauna, whirlpool, and fully equipped gym. Or why not treat yourself and indulge in our beauty services? Visit Holiday Inn Luton South M1 Jct 9, within easy reach and close to Wembley, Woburn Safari Park, Capability Green business park, Luton, Hemel Hemstead, Maylands Avenue and Buncefield Oil Refinery. In compliance with English law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, JCT 9 London Road Markyate,Sint Albans, Luton LU1 3UE England
Getting there
Heathrow Airport25 miSee all flights
Luton Airport5 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
652Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 150
  • 187
  • 147
  • 98
  • 70
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kevin M wrote a review Aug 2021
Borehamwood, United Kingdom427 contributions123 helpful votes
We stayed here as it was close to the wedding we were attending, also convenient for Luton airport 15 mins. They have a small dining area so we opted to eat, breakfast, at the harvester located within the grounds. Friendly staff. We ordered a cab from the phone located in the reception, they charge you from their base and not your location SO expect to have your fare loaded before your journey, ours was 5 mins up the road and were charged £15 (London cabs are cheaper).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Tulula wrote a review Jul 2021
10 contributions
+1
Nasty nasty accommodation. Bugs, flies, camp bed looking rubbish for most of it. Opt for king bed rooms only if going there as they seem newer. ONLY thing going for it is the EXCELLENT staff who recognise issues and try to make the best out of it. I am able to evidence the presence of crawling bugs if asked and note these were only after we had already killed a few before. Food and beverage also very good and location is decent. The TV and amenities also not as advertised and not very good but honestly I live locally and all I wanted was to have a relaxing break in a room to sleep and rest. If they sort the accommodation then decent value for money and as I said really good staff. Special thanks to Fego, Kari, Nahim and Thomas and all the food and beverage staff for making the stay bearable. My daughter loved your burgers!! The only reason I am not giving a one star for everything is because the staff did help try and make the stay better so thank you to them Finally, I tried putting a review on IHG website but they keep blocking it saying my review must not contain the words bugs and flies and I cannot upload my photos. Please beware!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Andy P wrote a review Jun 2021
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Brilliant staff working in a dilapidated hotel. All the staff were amazing, working hard so very helpful and friendly. Please give the staff a break and refurbish the place!! To see such great staff working in poor conditions really makes you realise how wonderful they are!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Porter44 wrote a review Jun 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom55 contributions37 helpful votes
As we have stayed in Holiday Inns before and have always been happy I’m afraid to say this hotel didn’t live up to our expectations. We did receive a nice welcome from the lady on reception and the lobby area is nice, however our room was disappointing and very dark and dingy. The air con didn’t work (and no one ever came to fix it) nor did our telephone. It did seem clean just very old and the bed felt very unstable and would squeak every time you turned over - we were quite relieved we only had to stay for one night. We wanted to use the pool but currently at the moment they are restricted to only allowing 4 people in at a time so you have to be lucky or book in advance. The breakfast was good and staff there were friendly. The terrace area is completely full of cobwebs which made sitting out there very uncomfortable and wondered why no one had given it a sweep around?! On check out the receptionist barely looked at us and didn’t ask how our stay was and with that we were very glad to leave and never return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel
Responded Jun 16, 2021
Hi Porter44, I am glad you left feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9! While we strive to provide a combined sense of comfort and happiness to all our guests, but I read that there were hiccups that made this less of being one. I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you had during your recent stay with us, particularly the dark room, the lack of cleanliness, and the faulty air conditioning and phone. While we strive to give exceptional service, I am concerned that the unsteady bed and restricted number of people allowed to use the pool made you feel uncomfortable. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel staff. I'm pleased you enjoyed our breakfast as well. It will be a joy to welcome you back. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
C B wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom10 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Wow, where do you start? Very modern reception and welcome lobby which gave me high hopes of a brand new modern Holiday Inn, how wrong could I be? Corridors look like something from a 1980s cruise ship, cheap blue carpets, old brown wooden doors with scratches all over them... Into the room, even worse. Like staying at your great grandmas house. Furniture from back in the 80s, dirty bed, sink and tiny bathroom. A kettle but no tea or coffee facilities - sorry what?!? - attempted to approach one of the managers on the desk but he seemed to busy plugged in listening to his music on the reception desk - great. Housekeeping tried to burst in at 10am to clean the room - no door cards to say do not disturb? Weird. Noisy, dirty, certainly nothing like any Holiday Inn i've ever stayed at. When you consider a premier inn is more than half the price of this for brand new amenities, a comfy, clean and trustworthy brand.....Holiday Inn was over double the price and I have no idea why. Really shocking. This isn't a Holiday Inn, more like Faulty Towers on steriods. Avoid. Please. Not a business hotel either, very noisy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Brand, Owner at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel
Responded May 17, 2021
Dear CBTraveller88 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am sorry that on this occasion we did not provide you with an excellent experience. We are aware that the rooms are in need of an uplift and as you can see from the lobby this work has been started, unfortunately due to the lockdowns this was paused but is due to recommence soon. In regards to the tea and coffee making facilities, we removed these along with other items in the room as a means of infection control due to the pandemic, complimentary tea and coffee is available in the lobby and i am sorry this was not explained to you upon arrival. We also have Tea and coffee you can take to your room if you prefer. In regards to the team member on duty and the service you received this it totally unacceptable and I will take immediate action to resolve this and prevent a future reoccurrence. I do hope that once our refurbishment is complete and normal service is resumed following these testing times you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel. Yours sincerely Chris Brand General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireLuton
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Redbournbury Watermill and Bakery (4.1 miles), Wardown House, Museum and Gallery (4.7 miles), and Stockwood Discovery Centre (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef Peking, Bistro Gautier, and Tomahawk Steakhouse York.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct.9, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, and Czech.