We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (4)
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Exemead Stables Exe Mead, Minehead TA24 7PU England See on map
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Laundry Service
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite horsedrying roomhotel oppositechanging areathe pubfamily roomplenty of hot watergood sizewarm welcomea great stayhostelbunkexmoorloungepubsfacilitiesbeds
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I camped in the garden right next to the stream: so peaceful, with added bonus of tawny owls calling from the huge copper beech tree. I didn't see the rooms, but the lounge, kitchen and dining areas were all very comfortable and clean and there...More

Thank Wanderer79280
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Place lacks the ethos of the Yha we thought - poor value for money - private rooms tiny and cramped- not particularly clean - not very welcoming. Seems much more of a business venture and very different from usual Yha experiences which have been great....More

Thank pzqw
Response from PeterHendrie, Manager at YHA ExfordResponded 1 week ago

We believe you are the same person who made a complaint to YHA, yet we have no recollection of you staying with us and YHA have no record of you either. As we have explained previously Exford Hostel is now privately run in conjunction with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were offered the Hostel when the Inn was unable to accommodate us (1adult and 2 children) at short notice. We were given an ensuite room at the hostel that could’ve slept 6. It was freshly decorated, clean and comfortable. We would’ve given 5 stars...More

Thank Caroline M
Response from PeterHendrie, Manager at YHA ExfordResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for all your feedback, we are looking into the drain issue as we speak because as you stated, that room is recently refurbished and we were unaware of any problems until we rad your comments. We really look forward to having the pleasure...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This could be an outstanding hostel. It isn't yet, but we understand the current management has recently taken over, and certainly renovations are under way. It's in an excellent location, slap in the heart of Exmoor, in a small village with necessary facilities. It's a...More

Thank BobLackNZ
Response from PeterHendrie, Manager at YHA ExfordResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for all your comments, they are most appreciated and we always take on board any constructive criticism to ensure we offer our guests an ongoing improved service. Our upstairs rooms in the main building have all been upgraded to en-suite rooms, and we...More

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

I was admonished for pitching my tent in a perfectly reasonable area of the garden, because apparently a camper in the past had done something or other that had absolutely nothing to do with me. Bizarre logic, and nowhere in the garden or hostel or...More

Thank babydavemorris
Response from PeterHendrie, Manager at YHA ExfordResponded 4 weeks ago

We pride ourselves on our hospitality and are so sorry that you were offended by our comments, it was not the intention and the person concerned thought that they delivered it in a polite and humorous manner. We are sure that anyone can appreciate that...More

View more reviews
This is a great location for mountain biking, horse riding and a host of other outdoor activity breaks - making it perfect for school trips. For a weekend away in lovely Exmoor National Park accommodation, try this ...More large Victorian house by the River Exe. There are open hills and wooded valleys to explore if you're on a walking holiday and the Somerset and North Devon coasts are nearby. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
$78 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
YHA Exford Minehead, Somerset
United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (4)
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Minehead
Exmoor White Horse Inn
635 reviews
3.65 miles away
The Lion Hotel
99 reviews
4.62 miles away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
363 reviews
5.50 miles away
The Oaks Hotel
31 reviews
7.22 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 100 restaurants in Minehead
The Royal Oak
196 reviews
.32 miles away
Badgers Holt Public House
25 reviews
1.87 miles away
Withypool Tea Rooms
142 reviews
3.55 miles away
Exford Bridge Tea Rooms
141 reviews
3.64 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 attractions in Minehead
Exmoor Safari
34 reviews
3.62 miles away
Dunkery Beacon
166 reviews
3.99 miles away
West Country Farm and Food Tours
10 reviews
4.47 miles away
Dulverton National Park Centre
36 reviews
4.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from YHA Exford staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you are a couple, it's not worth the price!"
Read review
"Get a room with a view to the river and the common"
Read review
"See main review"
Read review
"Choose en-suite rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing