We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Donnington Valley

Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Donnington Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 752: English reviews
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was pleasantly decorated and Zoe was very curteous and professional. Unfortunately everything else was very poor. We arrived at 1pm to make use of the facilities. One reception staff said it was too early for our room to be ready and the other staff member aggressively said 3pm is check in. At no time did we demand, or... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DDignum
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Dear DDignum, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent feedback; I am disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Our team aim to exceed all guests expectations are disappointed that we did not deliver on this occasion. We will review all the points you made and I do hope you will... More 

gmrcardiff
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed on a DBB deal. Room was nice. Some Staff not so good. Mostly not their fault. Reception had one staff member on duty. She had to deal with everything including telephone enquiries. So when dealing with lengthy telephone calls could not deal with waiting guests. Several times I saw her leave the reception for long periods of time to... More 

Helpful?
Thank gmrcardiff
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Dear gmrcardiff, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We pride ourselves on exceeding the guest expectations, so I am deeply sorry we didn’t fulfil on this occasion. I can assure you that we will can review all the points raised and I do hope you give us a second chance to welcoming you back to the hotel... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just had a lovely weekend here. The staff were very helpful and polite. The rooms were nice and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the food although there was a lack of vegetables with the meals. The adults and children enjoyed the pool and the children had 2 set times they were allowed to swim which worked well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise D
Newport, Isle of WIght
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent value for money with a Sunday night deal. Facilities in both the spa & hotel were brilliant. Only gripe would be slightly inattentive spa staff. Reception staff took 2 days & 5 phone calls to tell me they couldn't find my GHD straighteners I'd left in the room.

Helpful?
Thank Emily B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We try and get away every 6 to 8 weeks as my husband and I both have stressful busy jobs, the hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful, our executive room was spacious and comfortable, with a lovely shower, powerful and hot, we were on the second floor which had slanted windows, which made the room very private, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jones C
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here a few times as it is convenient for me and I quite like the hotel. Some rooms are better than others and I've always found the staff really polite relatively efficient. Overall, the place does feel a bit dated in areas but they did recently renovate the restaurant which helped and the newer rooms are quite nice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ozzywannabe
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Dear ozzywannabe, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that not every aspect lived up to expectation during your stay; we are currently working on a new menu concept which I know the team are excited about. I hope you will return to give us another chance in future. Kind regards,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a relaxing weekend away. Smooth check in and polite staff. We had the 25min body scrub and 55 min body massage and left feeling very relaxed. Both dinner and breakfast could not be faulted. Excellent chef.

Helpful?
Thank newlywedexplorers
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your relaxing weekend break at Donnington Valley Hotel, our team are dedicated to ensuring our guests have an unforgettable experience and I am delighted that we delivered on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Kind regards, Nick Walley General Manager More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited recently with family for a spa/golf weekend. The positives were the fantastic spa facilities, including treatments which were really good. The boys had a great time on the golf course and said it was a good course. The rooms were all a good size and were clean and tidy. There were however many issues in the restaurant. Firstly, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miss D
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent weekend break at Donnington Valley Hotel, I am delighted that your family enjoyed both time on our golf course and also in the spa. I am sorry that not ever aspect lived up to expectation during your stay, I will of course share all your comments with our team. We... More 

Leverkusen, Germany
Level Contributor
632 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was on another short 24 hour trip to our company based in Newbury and was put up at the Donnington Valley hotel again. Check in was efficiently carried out quickly and I was soon on my way up to a large, comfortable room in the roof (room 306 on the 2nd floor...). The large double bed was OK as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eyekaytoo
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted that when visiting Newbury on business you choose to stay with us at Donnington Valley Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Nick Walley General Manager More 

London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here during December as we were visiting Highclere castle nearby. Hotel rooms are a good size and bathrooms are also nicely presented. Friendly staff on front desk and in bar. They did have a Christmas party taking place which had taken over the hotel, we wanted a drink when we arrived back from dinner but felt we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simontravels1980
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Winter Break, I am delighted that you found our team welcoming and enjoyed the iconic Highclere Castle during your visit. Donnington Valley is incredibly popular for Christmas parties but would always welcome guests to relax throughout the hotel. Kind regards, Nick Walley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.0 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
1.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
1.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 15 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 15 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Newbury North
Hilton Newbury North
#13 of 15 in Newbury
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent £14 million redevelopment, this 111 room, privately owned 4-star country hotel in Newbury, Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course, offers spa and golf break guests the perfect leisure destination. Rurally located in the heart of Berkshire's rolling countryside, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is home to England's most exciting new Health Club and Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donnington Valley

Address: Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: $112 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Donnington Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury, England
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay