We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Carpenters Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Carpenters Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Brisbane
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms are in a building adjacent to the pub. It's quite a way out of Newbury, but located in quaint countryside. The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and had the necessary amenities. Tea and coffee making facilities, and decent wifi. The bed ...... the most comfortable I've slept in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalaharigeorge
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and our secret for the beds is forever full hotel bed topper from dunhelm, they really make such a difference

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayd for one night, bed and breakfast. Guest rooms are being renovated - probably finished by now A really comfokrtable room, though mine was on the small side and the double bed almost filled it. Bed was really comfortable; the shower was excellent and everything altogether was good. I liked the family atmosphere of the pub and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbuelaLOU
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, all the rooms are done now so we hope to see you again, if you do come back try booking room 8

Swansea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly , nice setting, good food , clean accommodation . Would not hesitate in recommending this lovely place would most definitely return . I would imagine in the warm summer evenings it would be idyllic .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebraSwansea
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

In the summer overlooking the downs it brings the garden alive. Really pleased you enjoyed the saty and hope to see you again

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this room through a search on booking.com as was coming away to a course and did the know the area very well . Very comfortable spacious rooms.Good menu ! Lovely food & great value. Friendly Staff & locals .Really enjoyable stay. Would definitely visit again !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Great to meet you and hope the course went well and you found the racecourse ok with my directions

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and stayed at The Carpenters Arms a couple of weekends ago as we fancied a last minute break in the countryside. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. We had Room 6 which was really lovely and was huge! We spotted a couple of other double rooms and certainly think this might be one of the biggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you is all there is to say really, great review it really makes our jobs worthwhile knowing it is appreciated. Thank you again and hope we see you again

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We met some friends here and decided to eat as well as drink. The restaurant itself was very brightly lit so we found a table in the bar. We were all slightly overdressed so there were a few stares when we walked in. The food was ok but fishcake was dry, lasagne was a bit burnt and the chicken casserole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelique-Andrew
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Really sorry we did not deliver our usual standards as it is what we pride ourselves on. I will look into this as I have been away but thank you for the review

newbury
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Lovely evening at the Carps. Great ham, egg and chips and the wife thoroughly enjoyed the lasagne. Keenly priced especially the £5 bottle of house wine on a Friday.. Although we live only a couple of miles away, we've rarely been....this could change .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nijinsky7
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Come back again please. Great you enjoyed the food and what a fab review

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Friendly staff. Food was as expected, being good pub fare - loved the burger and chips! Good beers and renjoyable wine. Good family room which was up to the standard we expected of a 3 star pub. It was clean and the beds were comfie. Choice of breakfast (extra cost if wanted more than hot drink and toast but reasonable)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catdaz45
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us, it means alot to us that you take time to review

Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Travelled from Southampton for lunch having read great reviews. On arrival (at 2pm) we were told the kitchen had closed early and they were unable to serve us. A stark contrast to the reviews read; there was no real friendliness or alternative suggested. Very disappointed having made the journey on a day out. Luckily for us we travelled less than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Navjuttla
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving a review, I have answered your review on our other tripadvisor page but again may I say how sorry I am about your visit

UHants UK
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Arrived at one o'clock on a Tuesday and the car park was full, as was the pub itself, no room at the Inn unless you had booked, which we had. Clean, attractive premises, good food at very reasonable prices, but spoilt by the staff who seemed to wish they where somewhere, anywhere else. To be fair to them there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Badger50A
Andrew M, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, I have briefed the staff and hopefully this will not happen again. I am really pleased you enjoyed your food but again sorry about the service

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
4.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 15 in Newbury
555 reviews
4.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
5.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
7.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Address: Harts Lane | Burghclere, Newbury RG20 9JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: $60 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carpenters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Newbury, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Carpenters Arms staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Carpenters Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms 8 and 4 were the last to be refurbished, I think. But if they're all like this then they're OK.”
 of 5 bubbles AbuelaLOU, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 6 is lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaR545, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“ground floor if you have trouble getting up a few steep stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles phillipcogdell, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs might have been quieter as only negative was noisy quests above us!”
 of 5 bubbles cher186466, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“don't book room 5”
 of 5 bubbles grahamh284, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay