We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chequers Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chequers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 288: English reviews
Start your review of Chequers Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a large table for mother's day and we couldn't fault a thing. Service was flawless, and the food was impeccable - we couldn't thank you all enough for making it such a special occasion, there were 4 mums on the table so it's always hard to please everyone, however one glance at the menu before hand and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heggy12
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The whole hotel is very dirty especially the rooms, the flat sheet had a terrible smell and we had to change rooms because the wall is so thin that it was impossible to sleep with the loud snoring of our neighbor We had a really terrible stayed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana Quessada R
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Alana Quessada R, for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Chequers Hotel. I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not fully meet your expectations and it is a shame we could not have discussed this whilst you were visiting the hotel. With regards to the standard of your room...

Campinas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is simply dirty completely old, the reins are disgusting very cold a very cold wind comes into the room I tried do put some towel on windows but was so dirty and disgusting. The heater doesn't not warm the room, the bath is completely small you have to take care to don't fall in bathtub, I completely do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rafamazzetto
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Rafamazzetto, for taking the time to write a review as we value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward I have carefully noted your constructive comments. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you...

glasgow
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Very clean old style hotel,when I stayed they were in the process of some freshening the interior.Stayed in room 226 which was fantastic and at the back of the main building. The only let down was the breakfast which was hot but not enough choice,stay clear of the black pudding which tasted like cardboard,try use your local butcher. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerjuls
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 13, 2017

The bar and restaurant were both lovely. Food and wine definitely no complaints. JP's Bistro was very good and the decor very stylish.However, the service was extremely slow and the staff could have been a little more friendly. Three of us waited almost one hour for our starters and yet the last guests were actually finishing their desserts. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feebs3
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

My first visit was for a business meeting in Newbury. The hotel is in the high street easy to find , and parking is in the back well lighted area . They have Several Nice private meeting room and a bar area and several sitting rooms .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debsorenson2
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 22, 2017

We needed a room for Saturday night say for two couples. The hotel is a charming looking hotel from the outside. Unfortunately the inside does not match it. The receptionist staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was cold, the shower took about 10 minutes to get any hot water. The lampshade at the side of the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chrisgraham509
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed January 18, 2017

The hotel is in the middle of Newbury, which makes it ideal to reach any place in the town. It's also at the end of the main road coming from the main train and bus stations. The road is also the place for most of the restaurants and shops in downtown. The check in/out process was quite fast and convenient....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sherif K
Jon_HughesHotels, Group Operations & Development Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sherif K for the complementary review following your stay with us. I'm delighted that you found our location ideal for a stay in Newbury, also that you enjoyed our spacious accommodation and hearty, full English breakfast. As is often the case in older buildings we do have the occasional creak underfoot, but I'm pleased that the overall impression...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Chieveley WI booked our yearly Christmas lunch We had the use of a private room for our party of 28 with the tables beautifuly laid with name places with our individual menu choice Crackers and party boxes our 3 course menu was delicious followed by mince pies and coffee free bottled water was available on the table The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueDeacon1
Reviewed December 26, 2016

I booked the Christmas Day meal for the family and was pleased with both the food and the service. The whole event was well organised! I can't fault the staff, the organisation or the food. The hotel is a little tired and could do with a make over but the food is reasonable, the staff are professional and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
581 reviews
2.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
4.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eighteenth- century Coaching Inn located on London-Bath Road, 1/2 mile from Newbury train station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Address: The Chequers 6-8 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: $58 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Newbury, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chequers Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chequers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for a room at the back away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles gerjuls, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“201 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Feebs3, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“high floor”
 of 5 bubbles ALFN881, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one on lower floors. Can be bad for people with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles Barnaby10, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on a lower floor if you have trobleo walking”
 of 5 bubbles Nantygirls, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question