We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Danbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Having seen the hotel has average 4 out of 5 stars i had hopes. So disappointed. Very much at the bottom of hotels in Newbury in my opinion and i have stayed at most of them. Lacks soul, very limited room service menu, and staff permanently out of breath on the phone like they have been running themselves ragged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank handy271
Bournemouth
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in room 303 - top of the turret. Our bedroom had four bay windows overlooking the beautiful lake and grounds. The sunrise through the trees was magical. We strolled through the grounds of the hotel to reach the Watermill Theatre and enjoyed a performance of Sleeping Beauty. It was all very special and we will not hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gonestrolling
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

10 of us stayed overnight, great weekend and good vale for money !!! Rooms are very large and comfortable. Fair to say not most modern of rooms, but still has everything you could possibly need. Food is pretty good, breakfast especially. Golf course was superb for November and is a good challenge and the greens were superb. Only slight issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barnandy
Essex
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we were really happy - the hotel was in lively grounds and it looked like a castle. However inside it's like a rabbit warren. We went to the bar (which i expected to be cosy) but it was really brightly lit, bland with no frills or charm. We had booked a table in the restaurant but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feline007
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was mightily disappointing. Worn out decor. Rooms large but again shabby. Dinner well did not eat my starter of a duck salad as the duck smelled off...breakfast very disappointing...would not stay here again. Nothing wrong with the service . This place has no soul and is in need of a major renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Interesting hotel with large room and even larger bathroom. Dinner was included on the first night - dreadful, barely edible. Was it the chef's night off? If this is their normal standard - avoid it. We returned food, passed comments back to the Manager but our complaints have been ignored.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alemap352
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear alemap352, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the dining last Thursday evening, noting you enjoyed breakfast and afternoon tea. May I sincerely apologise for any shortfalls you experienced, I value feedback greatly as a measure of the hotel's performance and this is certainly...

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a stunning time at this hotel, location is a totally magical experience with acres and acres to wonder around and explore. We enjoyed exploring the Japanese gardens and lobby and then wondering the well kept friendly hotel. Our room was stunning and has a real wow factor of high celings, beautifully ornate furniture and shuttered windows to add...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZoeHammond
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear ZoeHammond, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed one of the eight rooms in the manor house, they retain their original characteristics and quirky charms, while the Summer house has a more modern feel to it. All...

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed a couple of nights on a Travel Zoo promotion so great value in that respect, welcome was good and reception staff very helpful, Bar ok but range of drinks limited and restaurant was ok, service a little slow but nothing special, breakfast first morning great second morning waited 45mins and got nothing, only one member of staff and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenMann
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear StephenMann, Thank you for staying at Donnington Grove and for taking the time to write with your review, i was very sorry to hear your order was misplaced at breakfast. May I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused, this is very unusual as you will read from other reviews and further training has taken place to...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this as a special treat wanted something really nice for a special weekend, Arrived late due to previous appointments, got to main reception which was unmanned with no buzzer or bell, waited 10 mins to be greeted, signed the register, got our key and a sales picth on addon options we could have ie breakfast and dinner then given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear PhilipC, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was sorry to read that you did not appear to have enjoyed your stay at Donnington Grove. Your comments have been taken very seriously and discussed with my team to ensure that any shortfalls do not occur again, however moving the room closer to the lake...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable , spacious rooms, wonderful views , convenient location, beautiful venue for a function . . Building in need of a face lift internally. I was there for a function , no full length mirrors in any of the rooms occupied by my group. Hair dryer plugs too far from wall mirrors to see hair styling. Bit of a nightmare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bebejam2015
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (156)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.1 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 15 in Newbury
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Donnington Valley
Donnington Valley
#4 of 15 in Newbury
817 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 15 in Newbury
683 reviews
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
18Th Century manor House set in 500 acres of Berkshire's finest countryside. Offering rooms in the Manor House, Sunmer House and lodges. 18 Hole championship golf course, Clay shooting and Fly fishing by appointment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Address: Grove Road, Newbury RG14 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: $104 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Grove And Country Club Hotel Newbury
Donnington Grove Hotel And Country Club Newbury, England
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Alvor, Portugal
2 months ago
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Any Room is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles ZoeHammond, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“perhaps the lodges could be better”
 of 5 bubbles StephenMann, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Lake view is away from the main house so quiet no upstairs so no noise from above but need good eyes to see the lake”
  • the lake view from our lake vie room yes it is there in the distance
 of 5 bubbles PhilSClark, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Not sure if there is a lift ,probably not. Baths a bit difficult for anyone with a mobility problem ,”
 of 5 bubbles bebejam2015, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“As stated, we would recommend the Lake view annexe rather than the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 625CarolS, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay