We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Kenton

139 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Kenton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Despite being within a reasonable distance to most of Scarborough's main attractions, bars, diners, etc, I was extremely disappointed in the level of service received given the amount which was paid for the accommodation. This is certainly NOT what I would consider as value for money! Also I believe that the length of time provided for breakfast was not at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked the hotel for a couple of nights as we were going to a concert at Peasholme Park on the Saturday which is only a short walk away and we love the North Bay area for it's peace and quiet. The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank ericd542014
jeanius141, Manager at The Kenton, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review and comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Kenton. More 

Salford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at The Kenton during May half-term holidays. We had a lovely family room with bunk beds which was a good size and very clean. We paid an extra £3 per adult for the full English breakfast option which was delicious but the continental breakfast would have been more than enough to be honest with plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisat549
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose us again if you return to scarborough More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

We visited the hotel for one night,very impressed at how clean the hotel was ,it was a wonderful place to stay, for us two grown ups adults, The breakfast and staff were lovely, well recommended, breakfast with sausage etc needs to ordered day before to save disappointment...but all in all a lovely hotel ...stairs are used so you need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jojoapril1966
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and comments, it is always satisfying when guests enjoy their stay. I hope you will return. Kind regards Antonio More 

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

We chose this place because of the distance to town, car parking and wifi. Bank holiday weekend only staying for 2 nights, we turned up early in the morning to use the car park before check in, rang the doorbell to ask if this was ok and it was, no problems so far. Checked in later and that went well,... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul_62697
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

Let me start by saying I was set up to spend the weekend in Scarborough this weekend. My partner wanted to go for his birthday and take our Grandchildren. Deep joy I thought. I really did not fancy Scarborough. Been before was horrible. Well thanks to this lovely little B&B we will definitely be back! The people that run it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele H
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your glowing review! It was a pleasure to have you as guests and hope you do come back, I am sure your grandchildren would love it in summer and I promise to let them meet the dog! More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for a night as part of a birthday present to see a concert in Scarborough. We didn't realise (probably our fault) that breakfast wasn't included, which based on the standard of accommodation seemed a bit mean for £50 out of season. The room was ok. It could have done with a good clean and dust but at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay, it was obviously not going to be a good weekend for you, arriving late for your concert. The cleaner was asked to prepare the room for your arrival by checking cleanliness, supplies etc. The duvets in winter are 13 tog, so we do not routinely supply extra blankets, although they are available if... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

When we visited it seemed like we were the only guests .. met by a slightly flustered lady who offered us a room on first floor rather than higher up more flights of stairs ... which was much appreciated ... when we got to the wrong .. which was a great size and adequately clean I asked about buying breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duanne99
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you appreciated being allocated a larger room on a lower floor. We did have several other rooms in during your stay but from memory most people had travelled on public transport so the car park would be empty. My rooms are priced so you have the option to stay in bed and... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

Lovely little guest house...set over 3 floors the room was small but it had tea and coffee making facilities and a tv,it was clean as was the bathroom but we just needed it as a base as we were out all of the 3 days we stayed there, the gentleman that greeted us was very polite and very helpful, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again Antonio More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Very rude man met us on arrival, noise in the hotel woke us up at 2:30 am which continued until 3:15 am - shouting, banging and doors slamming! Overall cold atmosphere and would not return with my family - lack of customer service would give 2 out of 10 and the 2 is for location

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
jeanius141, General Manager at The Kenton, responded to this review

Sorry I appeared rude when you arrived - I was just concerned about finding you a parking space as you had not mentioned you have a van, and you were blocking the car park entrance. I moved my car on the street to provide you with a space and kept this space for you whenever you went out. Unfortunately I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catania
Hotel Catania
#116 of 187 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashcroft Hotel
Ashcroft Hotel
#74 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#80 of 187 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amrock Guest House
Amrock Guest House
#78 of 187 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aartswood Guest House
Aartswood Guest House
#146 of 187 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Sands Lodge
North Sands Lodge
#88 of 187 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kenton is a medium sized guest house in Scarborough. We are located on Scarborough's North bay with a panoramic view of the bay. We have a car park which is very rare in Scarborough and can be accessed from Queens Parade. The Kenton is constantly being updated . The en suite rooms are very spacious with very modern showers which are also large and spacious. We are only 10 mins walk from the town centre which is close for easy access yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet the north bay has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kenton

Address: 139 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: $63 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenton 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Kenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay