We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Philmore Guest House

Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Philmore Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant food wonderful host very reasonable would definitely recommend this to anyone. Local to peashome Park half mile from beach. Great beds comfortable and very nice. Breakfast very nice. Very clean peaceful location

Helpful?
1 Thank Annmarie H
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us a review.. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Turned up on the spur and was greeted to a warm welcome breakfast was great very filling , room nice and clean it had shower gel and hand wash already in also hairdryer quite close to the beach would recommend

Helpful?
Thank tracey g
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you would recommend us. We hope to see you again. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Lovely relaxing holiday after a very stressful year spotlessly clean and wonderful full english breakfast thank you mel and nicky for your hospitality very handy for sealife centre peasholme park and beach

Helpful?
Thank Jean B
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

I am so pleased you have had a lovely time with us again. Hope you are feeling more relaxed now. More 

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Never being here before just asked by chance as only wanted one nights stay to watch ub40 and got a good size room which was spotless cups in room were very clean bathroom very clean good size .very good breakfast close to open air theatre polite lady owner on arivel free parking over all me and Mrs enjoyed our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

A lovely welcoming place. We fell on it by chance so glad we did. A warm feeling as soon as you walk in the door would highly recommend to couples and family alike. All the other guests were really friendly aswell had lovely chats with everyone lol. Definately going back next year. Thankyou for a lovely stay. Ps delic breakfast

Helpful?
Thank razmataztik
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I am pleased you had an enjoyable few days with us. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

This was our first visit to Philmore, thanks to Scarborough Tourist Information. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home by Mel and Nicky. The Philmore is spotlessly clean and has a good taste in decor. The dining room is spacious with plenty of room between the tables, the breakfast was very well cooked using good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank George T
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We were pleased to hear your positive comments.I hope after reading your remarks other potential guests might view us more favourably. We look forward to welcoming you back to the philmore. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I've been going to Philmore since I was a child and 25 years on still go with my wife. It is a brilliant family run business which always gives a warm welcome, a good breakfast and a comfortable room. All 4 family members can not do enough for you, all you have to do is ask. A great location, right... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThorGoR
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you always enjoy staying with us. We look forward to seeing you both again. More 

Boston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

On my occasional trips to Scarborough I always ask Mel and Nicky if they have a room for me - don't always get one - very happy if they can fit me in. (Must book earlier) When I got married some years ago I had all my family stay there. You know what I am going to say... love the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek W
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

It was great to see you again. Thank you for leaving your comments. I know you always enjoy staying here and look forward to the next time we meet up. More 

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The room was 60 pounds for the two of us, for just one night. Dirty nickers and a woman's top were found under my bed. Didn't seem clean at all. Paper thin walls made it hard to sleep. The kettle didn't even reach the plug socket, had to out it on the floor to reach! Then looked in the cups... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you had such a bad time while you were staying here. Why on earth did you not mention anything was wrong while you were here? I have just checked under every bed and found nothing. Where are the items you found under the bed now? The cups in all rooms are washed and bleached every day. I... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Wow, after coming to Scarborough on and off for the last 10 years randomly picking the Philmore Hotel by chance on our first visit to the area, myself and my family have enjoyed every varying length of stay we have booked. Love the freindly atmosphere, comfortable accomodation and ressful stay. The location is excellent at the North Bay, with Mel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phill B
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

It was great to see you all again. Thank you for your positive comments. It is good to know you enjoy staying here. Don't leave it so long before you pay us another visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sheridan Hotel
The Sheridan Hotel
#68 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#34 of 187 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Beaches Guest House
The Beaches Guest House
#30 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#6 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunningdale Guest House
Sunningdale Guest House
#12 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Guest House is run by Nicky and Mel Anderson, who ensure you a warm and friendly welcome, your comfort being their prime concern, whatever the duration of your stay. Good food completes your holiday - we offer a full English breakfast served at separate tables. All rooms include: Flat screen T.V, Central Heating, free WI-FI, hair dryers and tea making. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Philmore Guest House

Address: 126 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: $93 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing