We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Expedia.com$42*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,105: English reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

Firstly the main entrance and public areas are 'Grand' the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was level -1 I dont think, even in a budget hotel, you should have to walk through dirty smelly corridors piled with dirty linen and rubbish and past kitchens to get to your room. Our room was a good size and comfortable the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roy h
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Roy H Thank you for taking the time for posting your review. The Grand is a grade 2 listed Victorian building, and as such we don’t have any special back of house areas for our cages. This does mean that sometimes they are visible to our customers for a little while. I am sorry if this caused you any...

Lincolnshire
Reviewed October 29, 2014

You get what you pay for and a little more but don't get too excited travellers. We stayed four nights three nights in the Dungeon Rooms (our nickname for the rooms on the basement floors) which while claustrophobic and having no windows were adequate just to sleep in and I mean just to sleep in. We thought we would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SeenandDone
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear SeenandDone Thank you for writing a review for your recent stay. We are in the middle of rolling program of works within the hotel, this includes replacing the carpets and furniture in some rooms, and full refurbishment of others. We will check the room you stayed in and put it on the list of our priorities so it will...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2014

Having watched Michail Portillo visit this lovely Victorian hotel l definitely wanted to visit. We had an amazing room with sea views and a jacuzzi bath, the food was of a good standard and was plentiful. This is not fine dining but good food at a good price. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Would visit again on a short break....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Werrington-Wanderer
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Werrington-Wanderer Thank you for taking the time for posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our "eat as much as you like" buffet. Customer Care is at the forefront of our business and I can see it was proved to you, so very happy to read it too. Looking forward to welcoming you back very...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed Sunday night for 1 night with a groupon voucher. Arrived early and got a parking spot outside hotel and paid for the £3 parking scratch card. Fairly quick check in. Lovely modern room, clean with great sea views. Was a little worried after some of the reviews but everything in our stay was good .Evening meal was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine o
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Catherine O Thank you for posting your review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our new rooms in the South Wing. They have been on use for a few months only and some of them offer great sea views. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

When we first got here, the hotel from the outside looked fairly alright, along with the lobby-ish. We were then introduced to our room, however they looked more like a prison cell from Alcatraz, I'm not even exaggerating, even febreeze couldn't remove the smell of the slaughterhouse esc fumes coming from god knows where! So we thought "ok we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drew H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Drew H Thank you for posting your review. We always appreciate customers feedback both good and bad. The hotel layout is different in every room, and its all part of the buildings charm which is grade 2 listed building. I was sorry to receive your comments regarding the smell of the room allocated. All of our rooms are cleaned...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2014

I booked a short break on a deal for my mum and I. I requested a quiet room away from lifts and busy areas, and that exactly what we were given. Admittedly, there were no windows in the room, but it was clean, comfortable and the shower room was good. Breakfast was plentiful and catered for all tastes. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theflyingn0ttsgirl
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Theflyingn0ttsgirl Thank you for your review. We always try and meet our guests requirements when we allocate the rooms. We are more than happy to help whenever possible. Our internal rooms offer great value for money, they are nice and clean rooms, they just do not have a window. It makes an excellent choice for a short stay and...

Nantwich
Reviewed October 28, 2014

I was expecting to need a good ‘sense of humour’ whilst staying at the Grand as the reports here are very poor. We only stopped one night and it was BRILLIANT. We had one of the superior terrace rooms and the view was fantastic, especially of the fishing boats going out at sunrise. The room had massive windows which flooded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naaz_Nomad
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Naaz_Nomad Thank you for writing your review, we do appreciate you taking the time. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the hotel whilst with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing building full of character and charm. The open areas and staircase are unrivalled. I stayed over a weekend and had two cooked breakfast I really enjoyed, neither of which made me in any way ill. This is one of the cheapest hotels in Scarborough and represents fantastic value for money. There clearly are some deficiencies....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Humidistat
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Humidistat Thank you for taking the time for posting your review. We always appreciate feedback from customers, and certainly as honest as yours. There is not really much we can add. Just to say that yes we are spending lots of money, time and effort. We are currently in process of replacing our older carpets around the hotel as...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2014

The poor old building needs a proper revamp,don,t mind old if it's clean but they let people smoke in the rooms on the 4th floor which is where are room was and as soon as we opened the door the stench of stale smoke hit us and did not go way for 2 days even with window open all day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HICKY42
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear HICKY42 Thank you for posting your review. We always like to hear from our customers about their stay with us. We were sorry you were allocated near a smoking room. We have the option for our customers who demand it and there is an extra cleaning and refreshing for those rooms. The room move, as well as the room...

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2014

booked into the Grand for a friends wedding last weekend - the outside looks amazing with lots of period features inside but its really tired, dated and not clean. There were stains on the carpets and the chair in our room was broken. No light in the room. The food was appalling and we only bothered with one attempt and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Helen T Thank you for posting your review. We do appreciate you taking the time. We are sorry that our food did not meet with your standards or expectations during your stay. Our kitchen team work hard daily to ensure that we offer the best possible food for over 600 people daily for breakfast and dinner. The Grand Hotel...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2013)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (413)
Viewed
Room/Suite (393)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (911)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $52 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travelers.
121 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (121)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The ground floor rooms have been re done and are clean but you can't choose a room”
409lindaT, 5 days ago | Read review
“Best views are overlooking the sea”
Jonah61, 5 days ago | Read review
“up grade is worth it for the view”
151paulinec, 1 week ago | Read review
“Don't be mis-lead by the name”
billyboy2802, 1 week ago | Read review
“another hotel”
211garthd, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$42* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$42
Hotels.com
Booking.com$42
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates