We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Save
Share
St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4453)
360
Panoramas (1)
Room & Suite (1340)

About

#25 of 25 hotels in Scarborough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function).
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Street parking
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Latvian
8,836Reviews200Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 728
  • 1,521
  • 1,629
  • 1,359
  • 3,598
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
pook966 wrote a review Dec 2020
Long Preston, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Absolutely beautiful Hotel Great Location Brilliant staff ( most of them ) nothing too much trouble Room was spotless Staff tried to accommodate everyone despite the Covid Rules : Scalding showers. Food was very poor, bad potatoes and freezing cold veg undercooked meat.Gravy was nasty 🤮 ( raised with server .,they just laughed it off ) * We left a day early as food was just horrible Ridiculous rules about alcoholic drinks in the bar even though we had proof we’d just eaten in the restaurant ( take your food to the bar let them see you eating ) Overall a pleasant stay but I’ll book elsewhere next time when in Scarborough
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FoH Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Scarborough
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are pleased in the most you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, the restriction is in place within the bars because of the laws around drinking in bars.
Read more
Tracey A wrote a review Dec 2020
Driffield, United Kingdom99 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
Where do I start, if I could give a minus score this filthy hole would get it. 6 rooms were booked and all 6 were filthy and disgusting. Previous guests clothing left in rooms (despite supposedly deep cleaned due to covid). Carpets wet from leaking showers, toilet bowls with skids still in them and the worse room had mushrooms growing from the carpet. The rooms absolutely stank. The breakfast was so poor we all opted to eat at McDonald's. After complaining we were offered a discounted return stay. We asked if we could go use the discount at another Britannia hotel as under no circumstances would we want to return to this filthy hotel. We were told that was their final "goodwill gesture". Why would anyone want to return here. It is the filthiest hotel we have ever stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FoH Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Scarborough
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and sorry to hear that we did not meet with your personal expectations for your stay with us.
Read more
Lindsay M wrote a review Dec 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were part of a Tartan travel bus travel October 2020. Arrived and went to room yes it was in need of tender love and care. We went to dinner in restaurant mmmm school dinners more like was not impressed with meal. No entertainment due to covid went to bed . 4.50am Fire Alarm. Utter farce two on shift one fighting to control the. Fire board another with walk ie talkie standing about no management but lots of police . Guests standing out in cold and damp. Still no management .the police officer told us to re enter hotel approx. 5,15 am Lots of kids and disabled people with no assistance. Total disgrace anyway at no point did any hotel rep speak to a guest . No Fire officer or appliance arrived although the hotel management lied and said they came . I had a ring side seat and not they did not arrive did not happen. Every room got letter attached under door at approx 7am. If there was a pj party our bus tour did not get the memo. I personally wrote to the hotel and in turn the HQ to be told that it did not happen . I work within public services and used to evacuation of public building and fire warden duty ect . Yes I was very concerned and expressed it . Meals throughout our week stay was very poor Due to covid no maid service . But I really question cleanliness of public area this hotel needs a coat of paint a good deep clean. The management and Directors should have addressed guests not a flipping memo under door. Reassured guest I noticed the fire exit had a pallet and disguarded bin in it before during but by 8am it was cleared. It’s most certainly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Please research this hotel we all cannot be wrong. One saving grace Bar staff made our stay they work so hard treated like crap. I spoke with staff and they were shocked when I showed them and told them of our nights entertainment. I think Brian the night Porter did very well controlling fire board the police got one area secure and another area would activate. At no time was a room check or roll call taken No leadership present to evacuate guest s until the police arrived. I for the rest of my stay at this hotel did not sleep well as I did not feel reassured the same may not happen again. I did request a boiled egg for breakfast. Restaurant manager said nope chef don’t do boiled can do any amount of fried food chips ect but no boiled egg. Manager keeps himself hidden most certainly did not appear I did try to catch him as I was disturbed what I witnessed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FoH Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Scarborough
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and sorry to hear that we did not meet with your personal expectations for your stay with us.
Read more
M Jones wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We moved room three times. 1st room wasn’t clean, toilet and bath had been used 2nd room underground,stank, shower broken, roof leaked 3rd room had a spiders nest and used razor under bed, nasty smell
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FoH Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Scarborough
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and sorry to hear that we did not meet with your personal expectations for your stay with us.
Read more
Travel_Teddybears wrote a review Dec 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom1,262 contributions386 helpful votes
+1
Just driving home after a 3 night stay. Dec 5th. Lovely staff so kind and friendly. Reception, waiting, barman etc everyone.1st room no good so they were so helpful offered us a brilliant room. Warm comfortable big bed amazing view very clean spotless in fact clean sheets clean bed the best pillows ever huge and clean and bouncy. Good towels lashings of hot water. Paid 5 times more a night and had worst pillows and less hot water and smaller bath. Come on folks this is a huge iconic hotel built in 1867 and they are doing their best. Fabulous effort for Xmas. If we don't support these places it will be turned into flats. Well done Grand and so cheap 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FoH Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Scarborough
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$42 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel scarborough, scarborough grand hotel, grand scarborough, the grand hotel scarborough
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScarborough DistrictScarborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
413
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Scarborough
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Scarborough?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Scarborough (0.1 miles), Scarborough Beach (0.3 miles), and The Spa Scarborough (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Scarborough?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Scarborough?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Scarborough?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Scarborough?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lezzet Mediterranean Bistro, Espresso yourself, and Love Brew Cafe.
Is Grand Hotel Scarborough located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Scarborough.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Scarborough?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grand Hotel Scarborough offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel Scarborough?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Hotel Scarborough?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hairy Bobs Cave (0.7 miles).
Does Grand Hotel Scarborough have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.