We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 5,843: English reviews
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Same family as the Royal Hotel, still as bad as the Royal Hotel - same chain. thought we'd give scarborough the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately no more visits to scarborough for us Stay away. ffod cold, hotel cold rooms not too bad could be better, bathrooms for disabled non exsistent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev J
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was very dark due to being built up at the sides of the room hardly any light had to have lights on all the time ,very drafty had to keep heating on full to keep warm.Bedding and towels were clean room cleaned to good standard daily ,we found the food to be very poor in quality and presentation was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Karen P Thank you for your review. We are pleased in most you enjoyed our offering. We would like to reassure you that all of our food is prepared and cooked inline with with our robust HACCP standards, that do follow national guidelines. As part of this process food core temperatures are taken, we are sorry that if you...

Desborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Definitely needs a lick of paint but for £69 we got a spacious family room for four with two windows. Staff were courteous and professional, and subsequently located my lost property and returned it by post with a minimum of fuss and no extra charge betond the postage. My only real criticism is that the room was underlit, making it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jo P Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do try to help all of our guests during their stay with us.

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've stayed here a few times now always get the special offers although I prefer to upgrade to a premier room with a veiw and breakfast and evening meal was great value for money rooms are comfortable did once stay in a room without a window although room itself was spotless felt like we were closed in and were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5denise1961
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we always welcome feedback from our regulars. We are pleased that you find out good value for money, however, our bar prices are in line with the local hotel bar prices and we do offer some great deals through out happy hour.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I bought a short notice groupon deal as I was visiting York for a spot of shopping and I live quite far away so thought it would be nice to treat our self's to a hotel with our little boy of 3months and there was an offer on groupon. The hotel itself of arrival was ok very large and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jasmine H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent visit to us. We would like to however, reassure you that all of our food is prepared and cook in accordance with our very robust HACCP standards. Our menus are designed to offer something for everyone and...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here a few times now but I never noticed dogs here last time we came.ive give it good marks as the hotel for the price is good n the food is good .But come on are they that desperate that they have to have dogs in the hotel . Don't get me wrong we are dog lovers but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bomerkath
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear bomerkath Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your stay was inconvenienced by dogs in the hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel, and have been for some time, and its trend very common in all budget hotels. Most owners are very considerate and were we notice them sitting on chairs we do ask them...

glasgow
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went to Grand hotel during New year for 3 nights. On 31' December we had our evening meal then went to bar for drinks and celebrations. There was a shortage of seats but eventually got seats beside a couple on coach. The hotel was full of children running about but there was worse I counted 6 dogs in hotel. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jshieldsy46
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your stay with us. New years eve was very busy in the hotel, however, all of our function rooms were open during the evening and we noted plenty of seating available at all time, maybe just not in...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to this hotel with Nationalholidays,foe a 5 day stay,from arriving the staff were excellent,our room on the 2 nd floor was clean and warm,the bed was comfortable, flat screen TV etc, other than a freshening up of paint around the shower, you could not fault it! The building is absolutely superb,with loads of character, meals were buffet style,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ian B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are just thrilled to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.

Yorkshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked over the internet and got a deal for £78 for two nights b&b for the wife and I. The hotel is very tired but the staff are OK, helpful and friendly. Our twin room on the fifth floor was basic, very dated, run down but clean. Breakfast is the normal buffet style, decent enough but could do with more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martintyke
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are just thrilled to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.

Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not , I repeat do not get a Groupon deal for here , I payed £50 for a room , when all I had to do was tip up on the day and pay £29 also the rooms are terrible , no showers , no class nothing , god knows what the grand stands for cause it's disgusted ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlp145
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us. Groupons normally offer really good value, however, this is charged by them and not us. Our best rates are always available through us, and you mention.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,979 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1851)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (356)
Viewed
Room/Suite (383)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (99)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (835)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $35 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travelers.
107 questions
Ask a question
kingston upon hull
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (107)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No good rooms to be had”
 of 5 bubbles BevJ_12, yesterday | Read review
“ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles karenpO9136NA, 2 days ago | Read review
“If booking on line ask in advance for a room with a sea veiw or city”
 of 5 bubbles 5denise1961, 4 days ago | Read review
“Don't know”
 of 5 bubbles jshieldsy46, 5 days ago | Read review
“Get sea view”
 of 5 bubbles martintyke, 5 days ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay