We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,037 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,033: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've taken loads of photos and will be putting them on the social websites . awful . Awful.the wardrobe as soon as walk in goes on a 36 degree slant.the TV can't get signal because of the indoor aerial. No wifi connection when it says it has.shower head leaking.bath towel still with the last residents hair.do not , I repeat... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank smartcore
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly... More 

Huddersfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Tired shabby hotel, short staffed ar breakfast, extra charge for use of the pool, £50 per night deposit, non of wich was on the web site information. Would I recomend this hotel !!!!! don't thinkso. I did stay here several time 20 yrs ago oh how the mighty have fallen.

Helpful?
3 Thank blencoron
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve... More 

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We last stayed at this hotel 2 years ago when Britannia Hotels had just taken over the Royal, and at that time it was looking very tired and in urgent need of some refurbishment. We have just returned from a return visit c/o Groupon which was definitely value for money. However the hotel is still looking very 'tired' and in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggs36
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned from a couple of days at the Royal.It is a sad old lady that is in need of a full refit.The grand staircase gives a false impression of grandure.We booked a superior sea view room which was on the fifth floor,the first problem is trying to get the lift which is very busy and is also... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank turk0file
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly... More 

Hull England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is terrible it spoilt our weekend in scarborough 1. Room smelt of smoke 2 Shower did not work properly 3 Room was really hot like a sauna 4 Staff really unhelpful 5 Breakfast cold 6 Room like something from the 80 s

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

On the positive its a good location and if you like an old hotel with some character it may be for you. However, the room we stayed in was very small, had a wobbly floor, a hole in the wall, a digital tv with a coat hanger aerial, and therefore didn't work, a terrible view of a boarded up window... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My mum and i have just come back from staying at the royal hotel now the hotel has character with it being old but the room we had was so small the beds in a twin room where sholved together and cos of that i didnt sleep all that well because my mum twitches which is why i bookeda twin... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lynsey B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in posting your comments, we welcome both positive and constructive feedback to help us improve and monitor our standards. Kind regards, Simon Powell More 

Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Just checked I to the royal hotel in Scarborough was pleasantly surprised room really nice and spacious Had bad experience in the past with Britannia hotels bit this hotel has restored my faith Room very clean and tidy Only improvement would be the clock room should be maned

Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterGizmo
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell More 

Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We used to stay here when it was independently owned, this was our first time since Britannia took it over. We had room 6 which looks quite new, although on our last day the shower curtain rail fell off the wall, fortunately it missed my wife who was in the bathroom at the time. The window was a sealed unit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank johnandvicky2014
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell More 

Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We used to go to the Royal when it was independently owned, this was our first stay here now it is a Britannia Hotel. The room we had was new, number 6, but although there was a window, it didn't open, it was a fixed pane of glass. There was an extractor fitted into the ceiling which worked quite well... More 

Helpful?
Thank J C
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

694 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (682)
Viewed
Room/Suite (151)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (317)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 3,722 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: $71 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay