We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Rose Dene

Certificate of Excellence
106 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rose Dene
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very freindly and helpfull.Lovely breakfast a good choice on the help your self.Food very fresh and allways hot.Will be going there again when visiting Scarborough.Very freindly atmosphire.Run just by mother and son they do a great job and just around the corner from the open air theater.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kelvinp285
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I had a really enjoyable stay at Rose-Dene. The room was lovely and the guest house was very clean. We had excellent service from the owners. The food was very good and filling. Our host was very helpful in advising us on places to go and how to get there. There was no pressure to leave the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sdrybu_542780
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rose Dene was a great place to stay if you go to Scarborough for the cricket, as I did. The patrons were friendly. The room clean, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. The only slight problem was that parking was inadequate when the guest house is fully occupied. I had chosen this place as it advertised parking... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohnGreenfield
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we are just a short walk from the cricket ground. We advertise free parking with a small car park and off site parking. We can only get a small number of cars in the car park. If people do not need there cars during their stay we can... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hosts. Award winning brekkie with premium quality ingredients. Lovely room. Loads of storage and complimentary toiletries. Ideally situated. Private parking. En suite. Tv. Hairdryer. Fridge. Couldn't have asked for anything more

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nixnax72
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfasts are all cooked fresh to order with award winning free range sausages supplied from Trotters. Looks like the shower is ok now as the same room as the previous review. More 

Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

shower was very poor pressure but everything else was good able to come and go as we required very central location and lovely breakfast with just about right amount of of fuss and communication very near to north bay front and several eating places

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jackiemI9982BS
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we are close to the beach or town depending which way you walk. I wish you had mentioned the shower to us while you were here. I bit of WD40 and the pressure can be turned a bit further. This ensuite is getting a face lift in December... More 

Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

The room was very clean and facilities good. We visited with our small dog and were made very welcome by the owners. Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked to order using good quality ingredients, even home made strawberry jam for our toast. We will definitely visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank teresacA9201UE
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a nice to meet you. I get a lot of pleasure by seeing guests enjoy their stay, so I try to make it as enjoyable as possible. We try to make our breakfasts as tasty as possible. Most items are free range (except for the hash browns) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

Very nice comfortable stay even in the small single room which has en-suite - with excellent freshly cooked breakfast and welcoming friendly hosts. Great location for town, beaches and castle. Loads of places to eat too and brilliant fish and chips just 2 minutes down the road....what more do you need?

Helpful?
Thank LHopk
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfasts, the locally sourced produce really does make a difference. The single room you stayed in was once an economy double room with a double bed, and many similar buildings still have it set this way. There is plenty to see within easy walking distance. Hope you enjoyed the next... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Excellent stay for two nights. rom our arrival on Friday to leaving on Sunday morning we were made very welcome. We had an interesting awakening on Saturday morning that enhanced our stay. The room was warm and clean and fully equipped. Breakfasts were very filling and the cooked breakfast was freshly prepared and unbeatable. Fairtrade de-caffeinated tea was very welcome... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mickwells172
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your de-caffeinated tea. We do try to do our bit by buying fairtrade products where possible and have a selection of teas available on request. Next time you stay we will supply a conventional alarm clock. More 

Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Gillian and Michael have made our stay at the Rose Dene absolutely perfect!! They could not have done any more to make us feel so welcome from booking our stay to the end of our stay. Extremely friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend the Rose Dene time and time again. 10/10 for cleanliness. Beautiful large room with all facilities.... More 

Helpful?
Thank julia689
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. It makes all the hard work and frustration worth while when the end product is appreciated. You have missed out on my home made strawberry jam this week. It was a pleasure to meet such lovely people, I hope to see you again. More 

East kilbride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

I found the rose dean really good value for money also the position of the property is in a rely good spot for all the amenities the breakfast was excellent to I hope to return to the rose dean soon. And I will recommend this guests house to family and friends to the mother and son who run the rose... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank bgunn_635996
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We use mainly local fresh produce and we cook each breakfast fresh to order. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 187 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountview
The Mountview
#52 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ashcroft Hotel
Ashcroft Hotel
#74 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#3 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#70 of 187 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits you at the Rose Dene. Our aim is to make your holiday in Scarborough both enjoyable and memorable. Excellent quality home cooked breakfast. All rooms en suite. Small private car park. We hope our friendly atmosphere will make your stay both comfortable and happy. Positioned in the North bay of Scarborough, close to all North Bay attractions like the Sea Life Centre, Open Air Theatre, Peasholm Park and not forgetting the beach. Town centre easy walking distance. A good base for touring the North Yorkshire Moors National Park and small market towns. Small well behaved pets welcome to some rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Dene

Address: 106 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: $83 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Dene 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rose Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay