We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Bay Norbreck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 339: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. Every where was clean, but the bed décor needed updating, as did the bathroom. Wi-fi was available in the lounge area, but not very good in bedroom.The food was adequate, but not overly interesting. It has wonderful views, and is ideally situated for both north and South Bays.

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
Watford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great situation, very near the castle and near the shops and beaches (although it is steep hills all the way back). Scarborough is an ideal base for visiting lots of interesting places around and about. The hotel is very clean and well decorated and the staff are friendly and helpful. My single room was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry S
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Barry for the review of your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that for the majority you enjoyed your stay and must apologise for the service which you have noted in the restaurant. We are working with some new members of staff which have unfortunately impacted more than we had expected on our standard of service.... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the worst run shearings hotel I have visited and I have visited a few I paid extra for a sea view room was tired bathroom had black mould in shower damp round Windows and had a musky smell restaurant was like faulty towers staff rushing about getting know where one putting chilli sauce on sweet instead of strawberry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken067
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ken067 for writing your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t what we usually provide and that the incidents you have mentioned in the restaurant occurred. I will speak to my team to rectify the situation as I was unaware of them at the time of your stay. It is lovely to note that you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Loddon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We were here for just 8 nights,( it seemed a lot longer ) 11/06/2016 to 18/06/2016.The room size was adequate and if the weather was better, we may have seen the sea a bit more from our seaview window ( extra cost ) but most days and nights was just a thick sea mist. The mattress was so old and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher P
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday. We welcome all feedback as this helps us improve our product and the comfort and enjoyment of our guests stay. As you have mentioned, the weather we have can be quiet disappointing, which is the reason we have yet been able to get the summer plants in, they don’t like... More 

London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We went to the Norbreck a few years ago, since then they have put in a new 4 person lift and decorated the Dining room and Entertainment room, we went with Shearings and had a day out in York, Eden Camp, Whitby, and Burnby Hall Gardens, we had a nice room, the food was good, the entertainment room is one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RonGLondon
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RonGLondon. Firstly can I say thank you for the great photos you have added to your review, such a shame the sky couldn’t have been a bit bluer for you. We are positioned on the cliff top, where we enjoy the stunning views, and some can find this a little hard going. However Taxis from the town at around... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

We booked a very last minute break here; over Bank holiday. finding the hotel was easy with Sat Nav; but, after checking in, hotel parking is very limited; an you need to find a spot on the street, in zoned areas. This was very difficult for Zone A2 (seems like more options in G2, not sure if the hotel could... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make your comments Dave S. I am sorry to read you found a few areas lacking but am glad you have brought them to my attention so I can investigate and make the needed repairs. The hotel does have a program of refurbishment in place and we will be having more done later... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Upon arrival we found our parking spot that we had paid for. It had a sign with our name on it, so that was a good sign. Reception was small but adiquet enough. Took a look in the Bar/lounge, concert room was tidy, bright and clean. Unfortunately bar was closed, due to the fact that the hotel was quiet. Our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Trish H for the in depth review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that the service in the dining room was how you have described and I can assure you it is not usually this way. The comments you have made have been discussed with my catering team and we have amended some of our procedures... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Browsing laterooms.com for a 'cheapy' weekend away and found this hotel. Right on the cliff top overlooking Marine Drive there's great views all-round. The hotel is clean and tidy with great staff, the handyman that I initially spoke was lovely, he offered me his parking permit to park up. The room was classic Scarborough guest house, nothing more, with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SimonHaigh
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hello SimonHaigh and thank you for leaving such a positive review. My staff will be very happy to read your comments. Our hotel is well placed, as you have noted yourself, with access to both beaches and amusement facilities. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again. More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Just back from another Shearings holiday. we did this hotel self drive. very nice room with lovely sea view. Bed a bit hard, and only had a shower over the bath. Food usual Shearings, although it was self service breakfast. The entertainment was ok have had better. an enjoyable stay, would return.

Helpful?
1 Thank patts0
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi patts0 and thank you for taking time to leave comments about your recent stay with us. As you have noted yourself, we do have lovely views of both South and North Bays. I hope to welcome you soon on yet another Shearings Self Drive Break. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

My husband and I went to this hotel for a weekend break, it is the first time we have been to it. From first appearances it looked okay. We booked in and went to the room which was quite small and very dated, the television was one from the 70's, not that we were too bothered about that. When i... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wahine2000
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wahine2000 and thank you for leaving such a detailed review. We are upgrading our TV’s in stages and we have only got a few more to change now, and we are continually upgrading different areas of hotel. Nearer the end of this year we’ve planned refurbishment more bedrooms and bathrooms. I’m glad to hear that my staff were helpful... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 3,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 stars 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: $63 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay