We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sidholme Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sidholme Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We felt it was well past its “sell by date” and in serious need of redecoration! We felt we were in an institution with lounges akin to an old peoples home. I had to search high and low to get a decent WIFI connection. Our room was at the back and suffered from noise and smells from the kitchens so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laceyhawk
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laceyhawk, Thank for your review.We do have a running redecorating and refurbishment programme, which we follow earnestly.I will pass on your compliments to the staff. I certainly hope we do get another opportunity to welcoming you back to Sidholme. More 

Wombourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A fantastic unique listed building with fine architectural features, a splendid music room/hall and breathtaking grounds with well established shrubs and magnificent towering trees. Unfortunately we were in the Annexe which was outdated and in need of upgrading. However the beds were comfy, the room was clean and not pokey and we made ourselves at home for the week. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolHurley
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CarolHurley, Thank you for your review.I am glad you have had a great week with us at Sidholme.I will convey your positive comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sidholme hotel. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed one night on a week long tour around Cornwall. The main building and grounds are beautiful and it was lovely to be able to walk around them. Unfortunately we had a room in the annex building which is not quite as lovely as the main building with rooms and decor needing a bit of an update. However... More 

Helpful?
Thank scarfienz
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scarfienz, Thank you for your review, i will convey your compliments to the team.We do have a rolling redecorating and refurbishment program,due to the size and age of the building it is planned over a year and the annex building will be updated in the near future. More 

Lightwater UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Relaxed environment, superb food, magnificent swimming pool, good old fashioned comfort set in well kept and attractive grounds. Fifteen minute walk to the beach. The room was adequate and well serviced. I would not hesitate to return here.

Helpful?
Thank JohnVG007
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnVG007, Thank you for your review, i will pass on your compliments to our team here, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a grand old English country house that in truth is a little run down. Our room was clean and adequate. This is compensated for by an excellent staff, a very good breakfast fine grounds and a good swimming pool.

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you to Sidholme the next time you are in Sidmouth. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this last minute and should have looked at the reviews a bit closer. Room 27 was horrible. Just like a room i had as a student. And smelt like it too. Musty! I paid the same as a very good b and b we normally use so was surprised with the poor standard in this venue. Avoid this... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Pia O
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pia O Thank you for your review, i am sorry we have not met your expectations on this ocasion.We do have a redecorating programme, which with the size and age of our hotel is not a quick fix.We certainly hope you do give us another opportunity to change your opinion. More 

glastonbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room 46 - door handle falling off door, chest of drawers falling to pieces, a hole in one of the bed sheets, no space to place any luggage, single glazed rusty windows, very tired bathroom, a very sad, neglected room not worth £20 per night! We looked for (and found) alternative accommodation. The hotel misrepresents its rooms - if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ggm
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ggm, Thank you for your review.Allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations when you visited on this occasion.The maintenance issues have been addressed,and the room itself will be redecorated and refurbished in line with our annual room upgrading programme. More 

Travelers are raving about these Sidmouth hotels

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went as a group from our local Church on Friday 24th June for two nights. There was 27 of us including some children. We had a great weekend, the hotel is a lovely listed building set in beautiful grounds with a lovely indoor heated swimming pool which was set apart from the hotel. From the moment we arrived we... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris735764
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris735764, Thank you for your great review.We do have a rolling redecorating and refurbishment programme which we stick to earnestly given the age of the building.I will pass on your comments to our team which certainly will motivate us to offer services that will consistently meet and surpass our guests expectations.We look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Epinay-sur-Orge, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

The hotel is architectonically interesting and boasts a superb garden. It is cheap, especially if you consider that breakfast is included. Be aware that this entails drawbacks. Arriving around 5PM, we had the last parking place. Our room was tiny. I could only work on the computer sitting very uncomfortably on the bed. Wifi didn't work in the room, only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vijgeblad
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vijgeblad. Thank you for your review.Due to the age of the building and the system of central heating, as we do not have individual thermostats in the room, we do try to maintain the the temperature of the rooms and building at 21 degrees, which is normally satisfactory for majority of the guests, we do however have issues with... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

We were very unsure of what awaited us at this hotel, as the price was amazingly cheap, but could not believe our luck, the establishment is set in magnificent grounds, the hotel receptionist was very helpful, our room was clean and well decorated, Sidmouth town centre was only a short walk away, breakfast was more than adequate. The building is... More 

Helpful?
Thank sonnyboy014
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sonnyboy014, Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sidholme hopefully for longer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming PoolThe hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sidholme Hotel

Address: Elysian Fields | Vicarage Rd, Sidmouth EX10 8UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: $76 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sidholme Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Sidholme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidholme Hotel Sidmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay