We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embankment Hotel

Save
Share
The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (110)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (15)

About

#10 of 19 hotels in Bedford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Embankment has 20 en-suite B&B rooms, including doubles with king-size beds, twins and family rooms. Rooms 101, 102, 103 and 201 all have spectacular views over the Embankment and the River Great Ouse and are perfect for a special occasion. We also have a fully wheelchair accessible twin room on the ground floor in an adjoining Victorian cottage. All the rooms have high-quality linen & toiletries and individual touches such as antique gilt-framed mirrors, flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. The Embankment is very popular with business travellers who are looking for a more friendly and convivial place to stay than one of the big chains. The Embankment is frequently used by people living in and around the town, who book rooms for friends and family when they are hosting special occasions, in the knowledge that their nearest and dearest will be well looked after.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Canoeing offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
409Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 182
  • 130
  • 51
  • 25
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard M wrote a review Jun 11
Bedford, United Kingdom693 contributions257 helpful votes
I have given a one star rating, this is nothing to do with the food or the drinks, mainly because we didn't get that far. When arriving for an evening outdoor drink, we were told to do the track and trace using the app, if not giving details to be logged. Totally understandable. But there are ways of asking for the information. It was not a welcoming or friendly manner, more that we were an inconvenience. Wether it was because we only wanted alcoholic drinks and no food, weather it was we had not booked, I really do not know. But having been offered a seat outside which was fine, all three of us decided to leave without ordering as the manner had made us feel not welcomed, so why should we spend £30 on three gins. It is a time for hospitality sectors to step up and encourage people in, make them feel valued and welcome. Sorry you didn't hit the mark at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Other at Embankment Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Richard, Thanks for your review, we are sorry you decided not to stay and have a drink with us, that's a shame. We pride our selves on a super friendly manner, and EVERYONE is welcome regardless of what they order. Let us buy you that round of drinks on the house- please get in touch directly with reservations@peachpubs.com to make the reservation.
Read more
lcrogers68 wrote a review May 2021
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom7 contributions15 helpful votes
I have known this hotel for many years having worked there over 35 years ago when it was a carvery and hotel. I have recently eaten meals there and had drinks with friends. Loving the comfortable and friendly atmosphere the hotel offers. I had promised myself I would stay here one day so coming out of lockdown I booked a standard double room to celebrate and catch up with a friend. On arrival we were greeted and made very welcome by the lovely lady in reception who upgraded the room to a river view room. The room was spacious very comfortable, clean and welcoming with the beautiful view over the river. In the afternoon after having a walk around Bedford we decided to sit in the bar and sample the hotels range of cocktails which were fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed. Evening meal I had booked before our stay and again was delicious and throughly enjoyable as was breakfast the following morning. Both choices on the menus covers all tastes and likes. The staff here at the hotel work so well together and can’t do enough for you making this visit so enjoyable and perfect. Feeling relaxed and looked after. Thank you all. I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Parking could be an issue but we found no problem at all.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Peach Pubs, Owner at Embankment Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this, we really appreciate it. We love it when our guests love us and are delighted you enjoyed your stay and dinner with us. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Aldershot wrote a review May 2021
Fleet Hampshire22 contributions16 helpful votes
I chose The Embankment mostly on location as I was visiting my son who has recently moved to Bedford so, a family visit was in order! I was able to park at the back of the hotel and the welcome was very friendly. My room on the 1st floor was well appointed and very comfortable. I would say the TV might need updating but no major issue. My son and I had a few beers and dinner on the terrace at the front of the property and this was all brilliant. Of course it was freezing cold (thanks Boris) but everyone made the most of it and there were blankets available & needed. At the very last minute, I decided to book my son into his own room and this was no trouble whatsoever and sorted in a jiffy! Would I stay here again/ I already am booked in to see my lad again in the last weekend of May. Do try the Embankment, you won't be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Peach Pubs, Owner at Embankment Hotel
Responded May 16, 2021
Thanks for your great review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to welcome you back!
Read more
RobinLaRoca wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom19 contributions10 helpful votes
We spent one night at the Embankment. The staff were friendly and helpful; all safety measures were in place but access was easy; the room was really comfortable and very well kept (and I do like a high ceiling). B&B not available at the mment but we booked breakfast as an extra - the vegetarian breakfast was very good. Checking in and checking out all easy too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Peach Pubs, Owner at Embankment Hotel
Responded May 16, 2021
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Patsyathome wrote a review Apr 2021
Bedford, United Kingdom14 contributions
We only wanted two coffees but we were met by a power crazed, rude waitress who made you feel as welcome as the 'flu. That's twice we have been dealt with by her and her attitude. I'm sorry but we will not be coming back, plenty more friendlier places to get a coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Peach Pubs, Owner at Embankment Hotel
Responded May 16, 2021
No- don't avoid us. I am terribly sorry you had such a bad time. We listen to our guests and always try to rectify any wrong doings. Can we chat to you about this? We would love to try and make amends. If you contact us at reservations@peachpubs.com perhaps we can provide a better experience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
embankment hotel bedford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireBedford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Embankment Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Embankment Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Higgins Bedford (0.2 miles), Panacea Museum (0.1 miles), and Embankment Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Embankment Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Embankment Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Embankment Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Embankment Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Higgins Pantry, The Cappuccino Bar, and Herd.
Is Embankment Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Bedford.
Are pets allowed at Embankment Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Embankment Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Willington Dovecote and Stables (3.2 miles), Bedford Bridge (0.3 miles), and Dame Alice Almshouses (0.4 miles).
Does Embankment Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Embankment Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.