We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

d'Parys Hotel

#12 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Start your review of d'Parys Hotel
 Click to rate
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

Didn't have to book table .arrived just after 1 pm. Shown to table and sat chatting for ages until the waiter arrived to take drinks order. Menu was great a bit pricey but everything sounded great . Ordered fish cakes with chilli n lime a slaw and sweet potato chips. Presented beautifully but slaw dry and chips very greasy ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggie t
Management response:

Hi Maggie T, I am sorry that we did not live up to our usual high standards on your recent visit. I have spoken to the chefs about the food issues you encountered and if you do choose to pop down again please give us a call on 01234 340248 so that we can ensure you our best table for...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Stayed two nights with my extended family. The hotel is unique in many ways from the bedrooms to the restaurant. Lovely beds and great food. There was everything for breakfast and the cooked side was extensive and very well presented. We had an evening meal and again it was delicious . The staff are very attentive and can't do enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aspatriamorgan2016
Management response:

Hi aspatriamorgan2016, We are delighted here at D'Parys that you had a wonderful stay and meal with us. It was lovely having you here and we hope you will choose us in the future for your next visit. Many thanks, Kevin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Don't waste this on a partner. Go on your own and listen to radio 4 in the roll top open plan bath. Beautiful room. Low key but excellent service perfect for someone wanting privacy. Breakfast is unbeatable. Best hotel room I've ever stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizardqueen65
Management response:

Hi Lizardqueen, I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself here at d'Parys and that you enjoyed some Radio 4 while you were here. We look forward to your next visit for some more rest and relaxation. Many thanks, Kevin

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

My husband and myself booked this hotel via booking.com as we had tickets for the rugby on Saturday and decided to stay over in Bedford at the last minute. I pick hotels using the TripAdvisor app, and when this hotel looked the best one in bedford I snapped it up! We weren't disappointed, it's quirky, old vintage meets new. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dencroft
Management response:

Hi Dencroft, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am incredibly proud of the work my team do here at d'Parys. As an added little extra for your next visit we are currently working on the breakfast options and how we can improve the experience for our guests. I look forward to getting that 5th...

Reviewed April 2, 2017

Overall was a lovely experience very friendly staff and just a lovely old building. Food was brilliant couldn't fault it. Wide variety of food choices to cater for everyone needs. Wide variety of drinks and cosy sitting areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell141995
Management response:

Hi Maxwell, Thank you for the kind words, we look forward to having the group back again for the next Llannon party!! Many thanks, Kevin

Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. Rooms were certainly different in style but had a luxurious feel. We had dinner in the restaurant, my roast beef was delicious and my husbands spiced duck equally so. A non-typical menu all well presented with friendly staff. Will definitely try and stay again next time we're in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill p
Management response:

Hi Jill, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are back in the area. Many thanks, Kevin

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

My fiancée and I had dinner here over christmas and he wanted to come back for his birthday as we enjoyed it so much. Food was tasty and well presented. Staff were friendly and attentive. We enjoyed a few cocktails which were lovely! We both would definitely come back again. My only criticism was the vegetarian options available, there weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollyashpole
Management response:

Hi Hollyashpole, Thank you very much for your kind words. We have fed back to the kitchen in regards to the vegetarian options and we will be looking at a variety of specials that we can put on in the future to help widen the choices. Many thanks, Kevin

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Staff attentive and friendly. No sea bass available so had fish and chips as alternative fish had lots of bones and the pea puree was cold it was disappointing really. However others in the group enjoyed their meals. Nice place but food over priced but I would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dogluva111
Management response:

Hi Dogluva, I do have to apologise in regards to the bones in the fish and chips you received on this particular evening. We have brought it to the attention of our fishmongers as it is not pleasant to have bones in your meal. I look forward to your next visit and the fish & chips minus the bones. Many...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

I am a frequent customer of this establishment and again the service/quality of food has been below par. Forget the expensive/quirky decor as that's what you are paying a premium for. Decided to meet friends for breakfast and having ordered a modest eggs Benedict x 3 and one full English I had in my mind it wouldn't be long before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olivermurray7
Management response:

Hi Oliver, Thank you for feeding back to us in regards to your visit for breakfast. We are currently looking at changing our breakfast menu and incorporating a filter coffee machine that would allow people to help themselves to as many cups they would like. I apologise for the delay on food on this particular and hope that you return...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Had Grandaughter's 21st birthday celebration meal here.Kevin,the Manager was very nice and helpful.The meal was very good, although I thought it was a little expensive especially for the amount on my plate for the main course. The starters were exceptional and quite large, in fact I could have just had 2 starters and would have been happy. Charlie served and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank She66_13
Management response:

Hi She66_13 Thank you for your kind words in regards to your visit with us. We look forward to your next visit. I have however passed on your feedback to our head chef in regards to the menu and we will look at how we can improve this going forward. Many thanks again, Kevin

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,564 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to d'Parys - the home of premium d'rinking, d'ining, and d'reaming located in the heart of Bedford on De Parys Avenue. D'Parys is an all fresh food restaurant, a d'istinctive city bar, a coffee and tuck shop offering nostalgic sweets with handmade cakes and gelato with 14 d'reamy bedrooms. We celebrate Bedford's brewing, education and industrial heritage using exposed bricks and iron to create a unique and frankly rather random mix of Victorian style and contemporary design. We are casual not formal making d'Parys a great place to enjoy a Saturday night treat; a catch up with friends over a mid-week coffee; a place to bring the kids for homemade ice cream before a trip to Bedford Park; somewhere for meetings with business colleagues; or the first choice for the paper over a freshly cooked breakfast at the weekend after a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about d'Parys Hotel

Address: 45 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — d'Parys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your d'Parys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Parys Bedford
De Parys Hotel Bedford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
England, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“make sure you get the roll top bath”
lizardqueen65, Apr 9, 2017 | Read review
“Our bedroom number 10 has got the bath in the bedroom”
coppers321, Dec 23, 2016 | Read review
“Call the staff and ask for advice - they're helpful by inclination.”
NigelA513, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is worth a visit”
kevinsmith51, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
“If the roof leaks leave immediately and go to another hotel”
  • Nice to wake up to this
  • good job this didn't fall on us
jv27, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates