We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bedford Swan Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bedford Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,334: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Yesterday I left a review about my less than satisfying experience at the hotel's spa (Lotus Spa). In a nutshell, I was unable to keep my booking because the spa didn't cater to my size, (which is Marks and Spencer size 20). After leaving the review I received a phone call from the hotel which I think should also be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elena C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights at thus hotel and the service and room were brilliant. The room was well equipped and decorated to a wonderful standard. The bed was extremely comfortable and combined with the air conditioning, it was the best 2 nights sleep in a long time. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay - and indeed for your positive comments. I am really pleased to see you enjoyed staying with us and had a good nights sleep which is so important. I sincerely trust you will stay with us again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with a family of 5 from Australia to visit elderly family. This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. The rooms were shabby and the carpets in the dining rooms were filthy as were the cutlery and cups bought out at breakfast. We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago as well for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Food7007
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am very sorry to hear you feel the hotel is shabby and dirty. I have to say - we do not agree with this, but I respect your opinion. I am pleased to see you found our staff friendly though. More 

Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for one night, I was visiting my son, the service I received was second to none, all the staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and amenities were excellent. The location is beautiful, near to the river

Helpful?
Thank j0anflynn50
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to see we look after you well, and you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities. Please so visit us again More 

Newport Pgnell
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We did have a lovely night away however the hotel is very tired, we had the longest check in ever without even being acknowledge by either receptionist for over 10 mins, it was a fight to get the light lunch as we arrived on a Sunday, we were expected to know how everything worked yet this was out first visit!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hollie R
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry that some elements of your stay were not up to standard. We did have problems with the lighting in the pool area and this has now been resolved. There is no excuse however for the the space not being presented in a clean and tidy manner and... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Perfect . great spot especially for the festival....lovely rooms we had river facing.helpful friendly staff,fabulous buffet breakfast,couches in the garden and a beach area with deckchairs....you have to see it,car park and walk to town centre . superb swimming pool and beauty facilities..we shall return...

Helpful?
Thank jayne1557
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of the facilities outside a well. Please do stay with us again. More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Swan is a nice hotel but the rooms need a little TLC, our room over looking the river which was nice and surprisingly quiet. Whilst there I booked 2 treatments in the Spa, they were both very good, the only down side is that the treatment rooms are partitioned off from each other, this means you can hear everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jules_Le_Cornu
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I am pleased to see you have a pleasant overnight stay. I am sorry for the disruption during your treatment. Please accept my apologies for this. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overlooking the river this old styled hotel offers a bit of old fashion comfort. They have a spa and other facilities. The breakfasts are excellent, plenty of choice. there is an outside area for having snacks and barbeque style eating or just relax with a drink. Also plenty of internal seating and a bar area also. There is parking it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Getabout01
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking some time to write your review. I am sorry to hear you feel 'underwhelmed' by some areas in the property - but I am pleased to see our staff were friendly and that you enjoyed your stay overall. More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well having got married here in 2008 it was nice to pop back.the River terrace bar was heaving so we decided to eat inside in the bar.A very nice Caesar salad and another with prawns were just the ticket and the sweet potato chips were gorgeous. This was very civilized.On the way out Nandos was heaving with plenty of jog... More 

Helpful?
Thank R N
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your return visit to the Bedford Swan. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the food and setting. Please do visit us again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Smart hotel situated in great location on river bank in town centre. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice in nice settings. Hotel is a bit of a maze when it comes to finding your room. Spa looked nice but didn't have time to se it. If ever in the area again would return with family.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie h
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the property and its setting, and that breakfast was enjoyable. Please do visit us again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

294 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (283)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#5 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
8.6 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#9 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range: $102 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay