We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bedford Swan Hotel

Save
Share
The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (452)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (265)

About

#15 of 19 hotels in Bedford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river Ouze and just 30 minutes from central London. Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with AC, flatscreen television, and high speed internet access as standard. We offer a fantastic range of dining options, including our Brasserie Pen & Cob which has become a welcome addition to the hotel offering freshly prepared British cuisine and open all day. We also have a guest lounge where you can enjoy a coffee or afternoon tea. 24 hr room service is available, and in the summer enjoy Al Fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings, and is tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is also a popular venue for weddings and functions.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1983Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 691
  • 578
  • 325
  • 232
  • 157
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Larry B wrote a review May 2021
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Although we’ve eaten and drunk at the Swan before, this trip was our first stay at the hotel, courtesy of generous friends that treated us to the whole weekend for my birthday. The upgrade to a junior suite was a lovely surprise although there was an apparent mix up that meant only one couple got the upgrade in the end. Our room facilities and decor were to a very high standard, as too the public areas of the hotel that we used. The outside bar area is a delight, especially as the sun decided to turn up for us. Our breakfast was first rate, as too our afternoon tea later in the day where if there is such a things as eating too much cake, we managed to do so. Although the building, food, drink and facilities are all of a really high standard, what made the whole experience special was the fantastic staff, all of whom looked after us brilliantly. It’s perhaps unfair to single one person out in particular but a special mention has to go to Sofia, who looked after us throughout the whole of our stay. She is friendly, efficient and seemingly unflappable. If I ran a hotel, I’d want a dozen just like her helping me out.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon N, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good morning E9525FClarryb Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the property. I am delighted to hear that all aspects from outdoor terrace to our public areas made for an unforgettable experience. I am specifically thrilled that the experience given by Zsofia was a memorable and i will of course pass on your comments. Kindest Regards
Read more
rosebug wrote a review May 2021
beds
+1
Firstly I must say how welcoming and helpful all the staff were. And I love the new decor. Modern but sympathetic to this handsome tradional building. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the river. Lovely lounge areas, palm trees in the restaurant, I can't wait for the spa to reopen next year. We stayed in a junior suite on the 3rd floot which was elegant and spacious and with a beautiful bathroom. Good quality toiletries, super comfy bed and delicious dinner. Just a shame that the weather hadn't been kinder as there is also a lovely terrace looking out at the river.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon N, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Rosebug Thank you for taking the time to contact us following your visit. I am delighted that all aspects of your stay has ensured that you have a memorable time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and we can hopefully ensure the weather is better so you can utilise the terrace. Kindest Regards Jon
Read more
Pammy wrote a review May 2021
My friend and I popped into The Swan Hotel for tea and cakes and we were pleasantly surprised with the kind, generous customer service received from Tasnim- we also absolutely loved the decor throughout!!! From the moment we walked into the hotel Tasnim was super helpful, courteous, fun and happy!! I ordered the Masala Chai which Tasnim did recommend and I thoroughly enjoyed it!! The tea range is Hope and Glory and it did not disappoint. My friend ordered a cappuccino which she said was equally as delicious and comforting. We also ordered a dessert to share and again this was scrumptious!! I am compelled to mention the decor in the ladies- it is BEAUTIFUL and bright!!! Well done to the interior designer for making it all POP!!! From the service we received, the food and drink and the AMAZING DECOR- it was a classy and fun afternoon all in all and I for one will be a regular here!! This place really is a little GEM in Bedford 🙂🙂 Thank you and see you very soon!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon N, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear kilrp87 Thank you for taking the time to review your recnt visit to the property. I am thrilled to hear that all aspects of your stay made it a memorable one and i am even more thrilled to hear that you customer service experience with Tasmin was fantastic. Naturally I will pass on your comments to Tasmin. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards
Read more
Adam Lee wrote a review Dec 2020
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
I booked a few conference rooms and meetings rooms at the Swan Hotel in Bedford this year and all staff went out of their way to accommodate myself and out guests. First class venue. Adam / Best Practice People.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
20 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon N, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded Dec 31, 2020
Dear adamlee2019 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the property. I am delighted that all aspects of your stay from the accommodation and your conference rooms along with your overall experience from the team were highlights of your visit. I will naturally pass your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property again soon Kindest Regards
Read more
Jackie R wrote a review Nov 2020
Shocking manager who offers poor service, could not offer any customer service , he was too busy having his dinner...appalled! Lovely reception staff who ate let down with this cold manager. Precovid lovely manager
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon N, Other at Bedford Swan Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Dear X3749ZQjackier Thank you for taking the time to contact us following your recent visit. I am disappointed in your comments and would like to discuss these with you in greater detail. If I could ask you to please contact me directly at jon@bedfordswanhotel.co.uk Kindest Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireBedford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bedford Swan Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bedford Swan Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Don't Get Locked In (0.3 miles), The Higgins Bedford (0.09 miles), and Panacea Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bedford Swan Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bedford Swan Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indiya, Tana Thai, and Amici.
Is Bedford Swan Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Bedford.
Does Bedford Swan Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Bedford Swan Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Willington Dovecote and Stables (3.4 miles), Bedford Bridge (0.05 miles), and Dame Alice Almshouses (0.3 miles).
Does Bedford Swan Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Bedford Swan Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.