We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Hallmark$66*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

993 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 978: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel staff were ok. Hotel itself was ok. Bathroom would have benefitted from some mould and mildew remover. Considering the hotel was next to the railway station the noise levels were not too bad. The breakfast was appalling - no menus, cooked food was cold, sausages were from the 80's, rough and tasteless, rapidly ran out of bread and pastries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bee-n-EeeJ
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

We truly regret your stay was not as it should have been. Our breakfast usually receives great feedback and I assure you that the issues you have pointed out are not considered acceptable. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at hotel for 3 nights .The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean maybe in in need of a little TLC. Breakfast was of good standard and enough choice for us .young lad Javier melendez seemed to be there in restaurant all the time and was so polite and could not do enough for us ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saracotton
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Sara, hopefully you will continue to use us in the future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel very clean although slightly dated. Very friendly and attentive staff especially Amber the waitress and Lauren on reception. Great location if travelling by train as situated right outside station. Excellent food both at breakfast and evening meal. We would definitely return. Colin.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin H
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Great review Colin, thank you for the positive feedback, hope to see you again in the very near future.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been coming in for a long time had its ups and downs lately due to a lot of staff leaving but Javier who is on tonight is very pleasant and helpful, got to say most the staff are very nice can't fault them .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and for your continued loyalty.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over the weekend and was very impressed. Decor was a bit tired but clean and warm. Buffet style breakfast offered many choices. Felt the bar prices were a bit steep. All staff were helpful and polite.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline R
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for your balanced review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 1 night for business purpose and that was enough. This hotel is in urgent need of a revamp. Room was old fashioned, as soon as I opened the door there was a musty smell, the net curtains were ripped, and the bathroom which desperately needs modernising had a paper blind. I was at the front overlooking the station, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cloe S
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit and we do thank you for letting us know your feedback. Carlisle is working on many areas of improvement and I hope if you visit us again you will be pleasantly surprised.

glasgow
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel itself is fine but is in desperate need of updating. The bathroom in our room wouldn't be out of place in the 1980's - does anyone still have a beige bathroom suite? And the black plastic toilet seat looks very cheap as tacky. The size of the bathroom was very small. You couldn't lean over the sink without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angeliad
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts following your recent visit with us. I do regret you were not happy and we will certainly work on your points to improve in the future. Hopefully you will try us again one day.

Reviewed April 21, 2017

We can't rate the hotel as they were overbooked and had to except alternative accommodation act the Ibis hotel, even though we had a confirmation, they did offer two singles. As this stay was for medical emergency to my wife's farther, this was not exceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

I hope you will contact us directly to try to address your issues as we would never of purposefully upset you, I believe there was issue with the 3rd party booking and we truly regret that you were inconvenienced.

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed April 20, 2017

Firstly when I made initial enquiry, I was quoted 84 GBP, but then on arrival ten minutes later I was advised the tariff was 106 GBP, and the only two rooms were 'executive' rooms. What a joke - it was difficult to get hot water, had much more difficulty getting the toilet to flush, the furniture was shabby, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen10352
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Such a shame you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rates are updated constantly according to the market and I do regret that this was not as you had hoped. We will certainly look into your feedback regarding the bedrooms at the hotel, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Reviewed April 19, 2017

The hotel is located right in the city centre next to the train station. I drove to the hotel and had to abandon my car in the 20min free parking zone for the station to quickly pop in to discuss the parking arrangements. I found out that you travel through the barriers on court square (picking up a ticket) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N2903OIdavidt
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive and helpful review. We will certainly work on the points you have raised and hopefully if you give us another chance you will see some progress from us.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

201 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (189)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
216 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
958 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square and next door to the railway station, the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is truly one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests will benefit from free WiFi, excellent customer service and delicious food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Price Range: $79 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Hotel Carlisle staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Hotel Carlisle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask to see the room before you agree to stay.”
197montrose, 1 week ago | Read review
“Avoid like the plague”
romnic, 1 week ago | Read review
“Do not make a booking at this hotel.”
Maureen10352, Apr 20, 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a suite it's worth it”
christina19672013, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
dawn123vallily, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hallmark
$66* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$158
Expedia.com$66
Priceline$66
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates