We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle CA4 8PG England
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick Hall Estate offers luxurious hotel accommodation two miles from Carlisle and the M6 at Exit 43 junction with the A69. Perfect for a stopover on the road north (dogs welcome!) or stay a while if you have time to explore Hadrian's Wall and the beautiful Border countryside. Private house parties are our specialty - it's what the house was built for. Take over the entire house with its nine en suite bedrooms for exclusive use. Delicious food, excellent wine, afternoon tea in front of roaring log fires, and everything done just as it should be. You'll find long beautiful walks on the estate right out the front door. Two miles of riverbank on the River Eden through ancient beech avenues, a huge walled garden, things to do, places to go.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gems
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Newcastle Airport46 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
219
47
12
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
219
47
12
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden drawing room country house house party banks of the river stately home full bloom a large family party english country salmon fishing honesty bar huge bath lovely river walk american lady comfy sofas homemade marmalade home cooked
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Not what I expected - lacking personal direction and customer appraisal of the facilities. I came after seeing the Hotel Inspector programme and must admit I was a bit disappointed but not Alex's fault. On the plus side, the bed and its linen were excellent.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Dorothy C
Response from Valowner, General Manager at Warwick HallResponded 4 days ago

We're so sorry you were disappointed. I'm pleased you had a good sleep. Kind regards Val Marriner

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay here with my mum and we enjoyed our two nights. The hall stunning and Val was an amazing host. If you are looking for a unique accommodation then this is the place for you. I will definitely visit again

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Zoe W
Response from Valowner, General Manager at Warwick HallResponded 4 days ago

We'll look forward to seeing you again. I always appreciate a good house guest! Thank you for writing in. Kind regards Val Marriner

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was large and very clean and nicely decorated. In the evening we sat in the lounge where there was a nice log fire lit . It is a bit like being a house guest and the owner...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank tram121
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very imposing country house on the banks of the river Eden.Our room was huge & spotless & was looking towards the river.The house was very impressive,spacious rooms very relaxing comfortable settees,with log fires. The food was excellent,our evening meal was well served & piping...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank peterc29
Response from Valowner, General Manager at Warwick HallResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to send in such a nice review. I'm delighted you were pleased - our staff do try hard! Kind of you to notice. Best wishes Val Marriner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovley one night stay bathroom was huge and the bath u could loose your self it was that big which I loved not a long walk into a little village where we found dinner at the queens pub which was good bed was...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank sally54321xxx
Response from Valowner, Manager at Warwick HallResponded 4 weeks ago

You are very welcome, thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sally54321xxx
July 5, 2018|
Answer
Response from James_Witton | Reviewed this property |
Hi So sorry for the delay When we were there they were only serving on certain evenings. But I think they have found a new chef, so I would check with them. Yes I believe all rooms are en-suite and some of the bathrooms are... More
0
Votes
Alicehenry1991
October 16, 2016|
Answer
Response from Valowner | Property representative |
There are no spa facilities at Warwick Hall. There is a good spa at the Crown Hotel in Wetheral, open to non residents - about a mile away from Warwick Hall. Alternatively there are beautiful long walks - 4 miles - on the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"If you have restless dogs, try the corner room which is spacious and overlooks the drive/river"
gjhp2017
Oct 2, 2018
Read review
"Lovely view of river in the river suite"
Cath6310
Sep 22, 2018
Read review
"Room 9, great view. Check video available online."
slinky1100
Aug 30, 2018
Read review
"some appear to be very big, views of the river most be amazing"
skiersuk
May 16, 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
warwick hall hotel carlisle
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCarlisle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing