We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Warwick Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Warwick Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful, peaceful grounds. It feels more like a country home than a hotel, and the guest suite we stayed in had a charming bedroom and prettily decorated sitting room, as well as a small kitchen, with views overlooking the river. Service was relaxed and very welcoming. I would definitely recommend this place to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryMcCusker
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a short two night stay in this quirky hotel. The highlight of the stay was the fantastic fly fishing on the river Eden, which runs through the grounds and which can be fished by guests (pre booking required). The banks are immaculately maintained and the river is very accessible. A special thank you to the gilly, Charlie,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As part of a house party food was simply Devine the young staff lacked knowledge on wine but this can be forgiven the chef was excellent a star with good wholesome ingredients some she explained grown in gardens. A great time had by all will return

Helpful?
1 Thank rgraham536
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a break for my husband and I at Warwick Hall and I wasn't disappointed it was lovely. We where given an upgrade on arrival to The Garden Suite which had its own separate entrance through the Tack Room. The House is absolutely lovely very country house. The gardens are an absolute delight overlooking the River Eden with a lovely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to write a review - we don't take it for granted. The important thing is you had a good stay and we lived up to your expectations! We'll look forward to seeing you again. In the meantime, many thanks for your lovely note. Kind regards Val More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

A real mix of experiences here. A previous reviewer has called it quirky and that is a fair summary! Very laid back management rescued by a young male staff member who went out of his way to help. The impression given is that this hotel exists mainly for shooting and fishing.

Helpful?
2 Thank bordereiver
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We booked a couple of nights here with friends for my birthday, and we had a fantastic time. We booked the river suite and the garden suite, which had beautifully furnished, spacious and elegant rooms. The setting of the hall beside the river couldn't be better, with a river path walk before dinner the very thing to set up your... More 

Helpful?
Thank SonsofBruce
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review. I'm so pleased you had a good visit - it's always a big smile when guests go to the trouble to let us know they liked what they found here. We'll look forward to seeing you again I hope. Kind regards Val More 

Warfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The owners are lovely and made us and our dog very welcome. It's like going away for a country house party. Fabulous food cooked with local produce. Gorgeous room overlooking the lawn extending down to the river. Luxury sheets on a comfortable bed. Very cosy in an old world setting. Sitting room where we could light a fire and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vdg220
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing in on our behalf. I'm delighted you were pleased - and we'll be glad to welcome you when you next come this way. Kind regards Val More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Our second visit to the very peaceful and comfortable Warwick Hall, 4-10 May 2016. Stayed in the River Suite, the kitchen is very convenient when travelling with a dog. My partner had another stab at salmon fishing but he said that it was too warm for the fish(?!!). I wasn't complaining about the weather at all, just got on with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weasel444
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

The weather was perfect while you were here - for everything except the fishing! Just too bright and sunny and warm to tempt the salmon to bite. It's what we call Murphy's Law .. But at least half the party had a good holiday! Come back and try again - we just had a nice little 8 pounder landed -... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

Another thoroughly splendid stay at Warwick Hall. This place is simply class! Large comfortable beds, stunning setting, great breakfast and superb service, everything you can wish for and more. We will be back again before too long.

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for making the effort to write in - we'll look forward to seeing you again when you're in the part of the world. The good news is summer finally found us too! The huge white cherry trees - Tai Haku I think is the right name - are as astonishing again this year as they always... More 

Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a couple of times & loved it. Val the owner was most attentive & mad us very welcome. The morning cooked breakfast was lovely with quality products. The views & grounds gorgeous. The river was a great spot for fly fishing too!

Helpful?
Thank KMG89
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#11 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#13 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#4 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Warwick Hall Estate offers luxurious hotel accommodation two miles from Carlisle and the M6 at Exit 43 junction with the A69. Perfect for a stopover on the road north (dogs welcome!) or stay a while if you have time to explore Hadrian's Wall and the beautiful Border countryside.Private house parties are our specialty - it's what the house was built for. Take over the entire house with its nine en suite bedrooms for exclusive use. Delicious food, excellent wine, afternoon tea in front of roaring log fires, and everything done just as it should be.You'll find long beautiful walks on the estate right out the front door. Two miles of riverbank on the River Eden through ancient beech avenues, a huge walled garden, things to do, places to go. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Warwick Hall

Address: Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle CA4 8PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Price Range: $165 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warwick Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Warwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hall Hotel Carlisle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay