We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel of Colchester

Orbitz.com$57*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$59*
$57*
$59*
$57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
George Hotel of Colchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 565: English reviews
Start your review of George Hotel of Colchester
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stopped in for lunch. Had the set 3 course Sunday menu £17.95. Was faultless great food and service at a really reasonable price. Best sticky toffee pudding I've ever had and all home made. The decor is a little dated but does not let that put you off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Still a great stay with easy reach of shops and nearby pubs. Comfortable rooms and polite staff. Would be great for a ghost hunt with some creaky parts of the hotel as you wind through the corridors. Would stay again,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I treated myself to a stay at the george hotel. I checked in and relaxed in the cozy friendly lounge. Peering onto the high street watching the world go by. I went to my lovely room and took a soak in the bath. I spent my evening relaxing on the huge bed big enough for 4! With a bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent visit with us. I am delighted to hear that my team made your visit memorable, your positive feedback has been referred on to the team. We will most certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The George in the near future. Kind Regards

Colchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I found a sandwich slaw with a few crisps quite exspensive at 8.25 (was nice tho )my mum wanted salt beef which was on the menu but apparently they stopped that a while back!! Very noisy and car fumes pretty bad sitting out the front but as you would expect in a busy street but the sun was shining! Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison R
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable review with us, your feedback and constructive criticism is always valued highly as we feel it helps us as a busy hotel, bar and restaurant to progress as a business. Thank you Kind regards

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in April '17 with family, the hotel staff are very good and very helpful. Didn't eat at hotel but seems very quirky in the main bar area of hotel. The rooms are are of an ok standard, good price to pay from where is is located and would stay again. However, feel the decor is a little tired and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience, I am glad that the friendly staff met your expectations and your feedback regarding service has been shared with the team. You will be pleased to know that we are due refurbishment within the beginning of 2018, we hope to see you return to experience the positive changes....

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a 2 night stay in the George hotel. We have stayed there before, but under new ownership it proved great value & the food has gone up a notch. The staff, including Antonio, Chloe, Marina & Antony were all very friendly & efficient. The chef came out into the bar to discuss options on the menu with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerryBarton
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts upon your recent experience with us. It is delightful to hear that the staff, the room and the food in general met your expectations. My team are very keen to hear feedback weather it be good or bad so I have made sure to share your positive comments...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately this hotel has gone downhill. Just stayed for two nights, and have been here twice before in the last 5 years. The internet description needs updating because you will be charged £10 a night to park in the near inaccessible car park, thanks to recent road switches. If you like stairs and creaky floors, then this might be for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nesslands
Management response:

Good Afternoon, I am sorry your stay with us wasn't up to yours nor our standard and you never got offered to speak to a manager if you would like to discuss this further please contact my directly on: nick.wildman@suryahotels.co.uk Kindest Regards

SUFFOLK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you want the Ritz you have to pay for it. This hotel is old and could do with a little refurb. But we loved it. Staff were friendly helpful and pleasant. So glad we stayed here. Get a bit fed up with run of the mill premier inn type places. Floors are all uneven and the whole place creaks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMURF48
Management response:

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent visit with us. I am delighted to hear that my team made your visit memorable, your positive feedback has been referred on to the team. We have a 10 Million refurbishment going ahead at the end of the year 2017 early 2018, We will most...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited this hotel on numerous occasions over the last year or so and find it extremely central with clean rooms that do need updating and will later this year be renovated.the double rooms are of good size and the resturant serves reasonable fayre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
Management response:

Good Evening, We are very grateful for your valuable feedback, I am glad to see that your most recent visit met your expectations in many ways. As you were correctly informed we are due refurbishment within quarter one of 2017, for which we hope you return to experience the positive changes. Thank you Kind regards

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, my wife and I spent the night there. Had read some bad reports but totally unfounded, got the impression that the place was in a state of disrepair. The hotel has a lovely warm, cosy and friendly atmosphere. The dinner and breakfast menus are very good. The bedroom we had ( room 207 ) was excellent. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliebeechcroft
Management response:

Good Evening, Thank you for sharing with us your most recent experience, it is important to us that we gain feedback from our guests. It is good to see that The George exceeded your expectations along with the service, food and your overall stay. The points you mention have most certainly been passed on to the team. We hope to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 24 in Colchester
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#21 of 24 in Colchester
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
George Hotel of Colchester Restaurant
George Hotel of Colchester Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range: $70 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from George Hotel of Colchester staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel of Colchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Unfortunately all rooms will suffer from creaky floors”
120jwj, Mar 20, 2017 | Read review
“I chose to say towards the back of the hotel as the front over looks the High Street so can get a bit of noise”
nigelw969, Mar 10, 2017 | Read review
“if you are a very light sleeper DO NOT book a room at the front, or in the middle of the hotel.”
600arthurd, Mar 3, 2017 | Read review
“Lunch here is good”
derekjohn, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Avoid front of hotel”
_umzog, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$57* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
TripAdvisor$57
Hotels.com$59
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates