We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Globe Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Globe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Start your review of Globe Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed a local hotel to stay for a few days every other month because of my work. Tried a few ones but the Globe hotel is by far the best because of its location (proximity to town, train station and bus service) because of how peaceful and quiet it is but mostly because, staff's so friendly and polite. They even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ilias I
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind appreciation and for taking the time to share your review with other TripAdvisor readers about your experience at Globe Hotel, Colchester, Essex. We are so thrilled to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us. It is encouraging for all of us to read such wonderful compliments and we shall share...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So me and my friend booked this hotel as it was fairly cheap for a weekend away clubbing, we ended up switching hotels after the first night, it started off as the night receptionist phoned our room and offered us free drinks when we come back from our night out. But then as we left our hotel for the taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahls9429
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time write review on TripAdvisor page of our hotel. You made a booking for two guests for one twin room. You returned at the hotel at 4 o'clock in the morning with two additional men, Who were not part of the original booking. You attempted to accommodate the additional individuals in your room.You were...

Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 24, 2017

I regularly have nights out in Colchester and usually stay with friends but on this occasion accommodation was unavailable so I looked online and this hotel came up as a late booking deal for just £40 a night. Needing somewhere to sleep for the night it fitted the bill perfectly. I paid extra for breakfast upon arrival which was around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phammel2016
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your kind appreciation about the hotel and its facilities is well noted, and we are honored by your complimentary words. Also my job is to make sure you had a wonderful stay as we love to each and every customers in our hotel. Best regards, Buddha Lamichhane Operational Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016

I have never been treated so AWFULLY. Do not stay here. Rude, offensive and money grabbing. Basically we booked through booking.com, but upon arrival the hotel couldn't take the payment through the card given - which given examination- calling my bank etc was a clear error on the hotel's part. The worst part was how this was dealt with, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mattbor86
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write review on TripAdvisor. We received a booking for one guest for a single room. Upon your arrival you informed us that the room was paid for as you believe that your colleague had paid for the room. We informed you that the card used by your colleague was declined and payment was required....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Booked this hotel in a hurry, more of a case for finding somewhere very quickly and at a budget price. Stayed four nights, at a good price which included breakfast, free wifi and on site parking. Room was really as expected for the price, bed was ok, good telly, room cleaned daily, As well as fresh towels, hair and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birtabroad
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customers, Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us feedback on your stay. We value our customers' feedback and take every opportunity to make improvements to our services. Reviewing your feedback, we will ensure that we will make it right first on your next visit. We will ensure that Wi-Fi in the room will work better and...

Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

I was looking for some cheap digs in Colchester and this was the cheapest (£50) for a night . Arrived to be greeted by an extremely friendly lady who made a good impression . Room was fine even if the floor was a little creaky , would definately use again if in Colchester . Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard5003
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your kind appreciation about the hotel and its facilities is well noted, and we are honored by your complimentary words. Also my job is to make sure you had a wonderful stay as we love to each and every customers in our hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of...

Neyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

First impressions , nice friendly helpful staff , efficient and polite. Hotel room ok , clean , comfortable and adequate for business trip needs . Well it's end of my week here in Colchester . This little hotel is great ! I've really enjoyed my stay , the staff are really very helpful and friendly . Hotel is comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind appreciation and for taking the time to share your review with other TripAdvisor readers about your experience at Globe Hotel, Colchester Essex. We are so thrilled to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us. It is encouraging for all of us to read such wonderful compliments and we shall share...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2016

I really liked this hotel but then I find travel inns and other chains a bit soulless. The hotel feels like it should be in the Mediterranean - slightly haphazard but well meaning. The building is old and my room - number 5 - was fine although the shower room was obviously an add-on or rather insert but had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Star Anglia Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary improve upon the services that we provide to our valued customers. Your kind appreciation about the hotel and its facilities is well noted, and we are...

Reviewed June 12, 2016

The chap on reception was very pleasant and because we ordered breakfast, we were offered a room upgrade (I've seen this mentioned in other reviews, so I'm not sure how genuine this is) The main windows to lots of rooms overlooked a public space, either a corridor or a roof terrace (i.e. smoker's terrace) Our main window could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
LamichhaneB, Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Star Anglia Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary improve upon the services that we provide to our valued customers. Reviewing your feedback we will ensure that our staff will be trained in high standard...

Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 23, 2016

Very nice check in staff,offered an upgrade for £15 for a double which included breakfast(so free upgrade)Comfortable bed, Telly annoyingly cut in and out digitally, but only there for a few hours so turned it off.Clean and warm with basic teas and coffees.Breakfast was freshly cooked to order with fruit, cereals,juices,toast available alongside the cooked.Would say again,£5 taxi ride to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou Lou D
BLamichhane, Front Office Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customers Thank you for review & feedback on Trip advisor page. We hope to see you again & again. Thank you for your custom. Buddha Lamichhane Office Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.5 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 24 in Colchester
360 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
239 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Address: 71 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range: $60 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Colchester, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Globe Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Globe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Hotel is next to a busy main road so rooms at the rear of the property are likely to be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles phammel2016, Jan 24, 2017 | Read review
“ask to be in a room located as near to a near wifi module as posible”
 of 5 bubbles Birtabroad, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor on the roadside and had a really good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles BfFC-John, Aug 21, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a deluxe room either single or double in star Anglia side.”
 of 5 bubbles johnp1978, Jan 7, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear would be quieter in the morning rush hour although as we stayed on a Saturday night this didn't affect us.”
 of 5 bubbles JRFossil, Oct 6, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question