We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeside Hotel

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Lakeside Hotel is a family run and owned establishment and has been for over 30 years , giving us good experience and a close relationship with our regulars, and new customers alike. The Lakeside Hotel is situated upon the sea front, on South Parade in Skegness, overlooking the gardens, the beach and the sea. A large Private Car Park is situated to the rear of hotel with 4 spaces on the front (these can be reserved in advance for anyone with disability) We also have a lift to all floors and disabled access to the main building.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
48Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
19Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
70Reviews
5Photos
1Q+A
27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 22
  • 28
  • 11
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
STAY AWAY!! Even before I point out any issues, the decor, furniture and carpets are 100 years old, worn, dirty and smelly... woke up absolutely covered in bed but bites! I was a mess. Atleast 30 huge bites all over me, my husband stayed in a different bed and he did not have a
Read more
Response from TheLakeside, Manager at Lakeside Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Surprising that you have left yet another review, despite your stay with us being around 6 months ago. I thought I had addressed the problem with you at the time, giving you the refund and coming to an agreement, which, you did not honour. It's also quite funny that you were happy at the time when I eventually gave the refund and we were exchanging friendly banter before you left. In the spirit of informing people accurately online I'll address the issues again, at least what you have said in this review anyway. Some, not all of the furniture and carpets are around 10 years old, we know this and each year we rotate through the hotel replacing things when possible ( Sadly we can not replace everything in one go ). You were correct in your assumption that it was bed bugs, something that has never occurred in 32 years in this building. Furthermore bed bugs don't come from us, they come from guests that visit, something I would expect most people to understand is out of our control, at least until we know about it. This problem has been effectively dealt with by treating the room and removing all furniture. The dog hairs were acknowledged (not excusing the cleaning), should you book into any hotel in the future, you may want to check whether or not they are pet friendly, at least then you can avoid things you hate. Don't recall seeing anything in the Hotel hanging off but it happens sometimes, and we fix it as soon as we know. The bar is small, but it has dozens of spirits, a small selection of wines and usually a couple of types of lagers and bitter with a few different types of cider too. Its for convenience more than anything but quite suitable for 99% of guests we cater for. Should also mention that I offered you the drinks for free as a way to smoothen things out at the time, but you refused to take them and insisted you pay. Concerning me, I don't think I have ever belittled or degraded anyone before, at least not intentionally. It is my position to challenge complaints to ensure that it is genuine (we have many fake claims over the course of the year, people looking for full refunds based on staged complaints). I also don't make a habit of speaking to people in anyway that would be considered rude or insensitive, even when I am being verbally assaulted. That being said I am human, my patience is not eternal. Once the refund was given, we came to the agreement that she would send a doctors letter confirming what the bites were on her body, so I could take the necessary steps to avoid future incidents and that I would appreciate it if she didn't leave any reviews until it was officially confirmed. As for the responses I leave on the various sites when dealing with negative, inaccurate remarks, it is quite possible that I come across as being impatient and irritable due to the nature of the comments. This would be avoided if the people concerned addressed the issues at the time when they were in the hotel, giving us a chance to rectify any problems and ensuring that all parties are happy before departure. All in all, over the course of the year 95% of people who stay with us leave happy and return again the next year. Kind regards, Adam Steadman
Read more
Many thanks to Adam and staff for another great stay. We've been coming here for a few years now as a large group booking. The service was warm and friendly as always and the food was good. Room was warm and nice clean, pressed linen. Bit confused by some of the comments on
Read more
Response from Adam S, Manager at Lakeside Hotel
Responded Oct 22, 2018
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us again. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope we continue to make your holidays memorable ones. Adam Steadman.
Read more
Checked into this hotel for 2 nights first night very noise did not get much sleep second night bit better breakfast cooked well but not much on plate Room not very clean as was bathroom whole hotel could do with complete make over.Good view of sea if you could see out of
Read more
Response from Adam S, Manager at Lakeside Hotel
Responded Sep 21, 2018
Unfortunately we had a few guests in that did not respect the rest of the hotels guests. Only one room mentioned this, and they did not seem to be concerned about it, in fact they seemed happy with everything else despite the noise. Concerning the hotel needing a makeover, we are in the process of doing so, sadly it takes a bit of time to accomplish such a feat, we're talking years to finish and we only started this year on the first floor. Breakfast has always been your standard full English, not many people have a problem with the size. All of your grievances would have been dealt with on the spot if you had been willing to speak to me about it.
Read more
The staff were very nice and friendly but the bathroom floor was dirty, the toilet (Below the water level)was dirty, it looked like it hadn’t seen any bleach for 12 months, breakfast was small with poor quality produce (tasteless). The shower was useless would be hot for a
Read more
Response from Adam S, Manager at Lakeside Hotel
Responded Aug 8, 2018
Sad to hear that your stay was not up to standard. As I say often when people book with us, should there be any problems during your stay, it is best to inform us of it so that we can at least attempt to deal with it at the time. So if you could be so kind as to email your name and room number, I will inspect the room to ensure no future disappointments occur. I thank you for the time spent typing your feedback, it helps us help you. Many thanks, Adam Steadman.
Read more
Checked in this hotel on 11th July. 2018. Paid £80 per night for a superior sea view room. Checked in for 3 nights. Only stayed for one night. The day we checked in,we couldn’t have a bath or shower as leaking. The following morning 12/7/2018 we was told loudly at our
Read more
Response from Adam S, Manager at Lakeside Hotel
Responded Jul 13, 2018
I always appreciate feedback concerning peoples stay with us at the Lakeside. I do not however understand the need to lie about the circumstances. Yes, upon your arrival you found some nails on the carpet, a first for us, but we accepted our mistake and gave you a discount since you were happy to continue your stay with us. Also, the bath only leaked after you had used it, so we sealed it when you left the room for the evenings football event. Upon your return, I politely suggested not to use the shower / bath until the following morning, so that the sealant was given time to dry. I thought this was a reasonable request considering you had already bathed a few hours before and waiting until morning would cause you no hardship. Yet within the hour you had used it again causing more water to leak through below. I should also like to mention that on the day of your arrival, you did not look for accommodation else where, you were waiting for me to arrive so you could negotiate a discount on the room and express your concerns over the nails on the carpet, which we resolved swiftly on the spot. Concerning the breakfast, you ordered the breakfast, but chose to refuse it once it had been served to you electing to eat one bowl of cereal instead and have two slices of toast which you also decided to waste alongside the full English. The waitress that spoke to you the following morning about the shower, has been spoken to, concerning the lack of discretion. The duty manager that dealt with you when you arrived informed me that you were not told to check out of the room, but that was the only room we had left, that you found to be an acceptable standard. Leaving you with one of two options, checking in or checking out. All in all, we did everything possible to make your stay a happy one, and once it was established that you were not happy, we gave you a full refund and found you a new hotel to stay in. Adam Steadman P.S Be grateful we did not send you a bill for the damage done to our dining room and bathroom.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTraveler
PreviousNext
11
We have a very good reputation for our food. We use local suppliers and fresh vegetables when possible. In my opinion our best dish is our home made steak kidney pie many guests buy one to take home with them!!! Dinner which is waitress service is a set menu with vegetables served in tureens. Should you not like the daily main course we will always find an alternative.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Dont think there is one"
"Seaview best they get morning sun , rooms on the back late sun"
"get a sea view room"
"Seaviews are best"
"lots of rooms overlooking the sea"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSkegness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing