We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monsell Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Monsell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wasn't as nice as last room we had not so clean, couldn't get shower hot, didn't look hoovered properly, toilet not very clean either, cigarette butts all outside front and weeds everywhere appearances make a difference as well, if I stopped here again would like to see improvement of these things

Helpful?
Thank Pat R
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your taking the time to do this review and we do appreciate your loyalty in returning to stay at the hotel and hope to see you again in the future. We are sorry you did not find your stay as nice as last time, please be assured we will look into your complaint about the... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked 3 nights here by mistake only wanted 2 nights could not stay the 3 nights , The toilet facilities were useable no toilet roll provided but did get a roll when asked at reception their was hair in the shower and around the toilet which can easily be avoided by the use of bleach which my girlfriend did do... More 

Helpful?
Thank pat p
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. Where as some of the things you mention we have sorted out, other things we did not find a problem with. Most of our rooms have new... More 

Travelers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Skegness for a day trip from Cleethorpes (where we live) and decided to make a boozy night of it. I found this hotel on Booking.com for £37 for a superior room (price was per room not per person) at 2pm and by 3pm we'd dropped the car and bags off and headed back down the sea front...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lawn F
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your taking the time to do this review and we do appreciate you staying at the hotel and hope to see you again in the future. As you know the Monsell hotel is situated close to beach and town centre of Skegness and is a purpose built hotel with excellent wi-fi and facilities, we hope... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Good location,but does not have very good cleaning standards ! Toilets and shower dirty cobwebs everywhere ,cups and saucer tray not clean ,When we said about dirty toilet they came and cleaned it straight away ,but shouldn't have to tell them , The bed linen was clean but not ironed ! Young men in charge very pleasant but you will... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Garry B
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. Where as some of the things you mention we have sorted out, other things we did not find a problem with. We hope you enjoyed the rest... More 

Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service great location staff are nice and very helpful would go again if we ever go again will be the 1st hotel choice, very recommendable so would really give it a try be a good experience not too far from town located in a great idea.

Helpful?
Thank charliehatherley
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon,... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights may 2016. Room was ok, but had booked a queen size bed was only given a double. Furniture in room was new but badly put together. Bed was uncomfortable. Shower had mould on the head pipe. 1 of the fresh towels was dirty. Staff were however very friendly and helpful. Overall not very good, but ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank bulletriddenchild
TheMonsell, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to do this review and we do appreciate you staying at the hotel, however we do not have any queen beds and as such do not advertise this. One of your towels had a tiny stain on it which we apologize for. As you know the Monsell hotel is situated close to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

Wasn't the cleanest room but was very cheap. Very noises through the night and very young people in charge the night we stayed which was who caused all the noise through the night! Rooms could do with a going over and maybe a cleaner employed to dust the place out

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty B
TheMonsell, Front Office Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your taking the time to do this review and we do appreciate you staying at the hotel but we would like to point out we don't have any very young people in charge only a Manager and his wife and they live in separate accommodation adjacent to the Hotel. We hope to see you again... More 

Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a wet and windy April night, after reading some of the reviews I wasn't too hopeful but we really couldn't fault it. Bed was lovely and comfortable, the room was a decent size and clean and the en suite was adequate. You get what you pay for and this place says what it does on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isobel S
TheMonsell, Front Office Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon,... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

ok so some may say you get what you pay for & we paid £35 but even though you would expect basics you would not expect dirtiness & even in the shower the bar of soap used from previous occupants.bed needs to be pulled out & hoovered also. Needs thorough clean generally speaking & as a suggestion clean lines. Get... More 

Helpful?
Thank nico12g
TheMonsell, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our hotel, you have raised some concerns about the service that you have had at the Monsell hotel. Please be assured that we will look into this for you and let you know, however if you have problems in any hotel in the future please go to reception to report them straight away rather... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

Went to this hotel last weekend for a night Away. Upon arrival the person in charge was very pleasant and greeted us very nicely! He was very nice and helpful! The hotel it's self is nice and warm! Smelt fine and was very clean! Would deffo return:) although the person in charge(don't know his name:L) had a lot to deal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan0796
TheMonsell, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#23 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 96 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serena Court Hotel
Serena Court Hotel
#2 of 96 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an adult only hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We hope you will enjoy the relaxed tranquil environment of our Adult only accommodation. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Price Range: $43 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Monsell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay