We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Hall Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,066 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,057: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were really impressed by The New Hall Inn during our impromptu stay here! Firstly, we extended our stay by a night so we were able to stay in two different rooms. Both were well apointed with newly renovated bathrooms, sitting rooms and luxurious beds. The Sirius room was seriously cool in the top of the castle. It had sloping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorothy R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room 16 on the ground floor, it was generously proportioned with adequate bathroom facilities. The hotel is very atmospheric, with some amazing reception rooms furnished with some wonderful quality pieces of period furniture and beautiful stained glass leaded windows. The staff were terrific, friendly, warm, helpful and chatty. One or two of them went out of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review. I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the surroundings that our hotel offers to our guests. I very much appreciate your feedback on your dining experience. David our new Head Chef is making quick progress in developing his own menus within the hotel and I am sure that should you dine with us...

Churchdown, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Family afternoon tea celebration Room was freezing on arrival but staff soon got it going although then it went over the top! Sandwiches were nice but would have liked brown and/or granary as well Trifles and scones were yummy but apparently pistachio cake was tasteless Tea and coffee was plentiful but would have liked a pot rather than tea bag...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us. I am very surprised to read of your experience and offer my most sincere apologies. I would very much like to discuss your experience so that I may understand why several of our service standards were not met. If you would feel comfortable in contacting me...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Given as a wedding gift, this was our first visit to New Hall. The Spa was clean and reception staff very friendly. After our Spa we went for afternoon tea at New Hall. Again the waiting staff were friendly and informative. Food itself was what I call proper sized sandwiches and plenty of them! Abundance of cakes and scones too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for the kind comments. We hope to see you again. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived every member of staff made us feel welcome. All so friendly and want to have a little chat. The building is just amazing and you really feel you are in a place of history. I would advise you to avoid the restaurant as me and my partner went on our first evening and for two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam N
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and thank you of the feedback that you have provided. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your evening dining in our restaurant. The detail that you have provided will be passed on to our new Head Chef David. David has recently joined the hotel from one of our sister properties with...

Silverstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice room and the restaurant food was good. When we arrived there was nobody at reception and this was a sign of things to come regarding the staff. We upgraded our first meal to "fine dinning", the food was good but the service was terrible. At one point our plates were picked up and taken to another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger W
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is disappointing to read that you did not take the opportunity to raise the apparent lack of customer service displayed within our reception and restaurant areas during our various interactions following your stay. We are indeed very sorry that our normal standard of guest care was not delivered and would have been more than happy to look...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A classic venue in a beautiful setting. I think this is the first moated hotel I've stayed in! The room was 61 or Amabilis, the accommodation was classic and fitting the age of the building. I was tired after a long drive so had a lovely hot shower and then room service for dinner. Part of the reason for choosing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Waugh
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, we will certainly look to make improvements to the areas that you have pointed out. To clarify our room service steak dish is served with peppercorn sauce, this should have been presented automatically with the dish. The fact that this was not was indeed an oversight on our part, I am...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to a small business conference here. Its a fantastic looking building, and the meeting used the Great Chamber which was very impressive. Stayed the night and the room was very pleasant. Very easy access from M42 - so a great venue for a business meeting near Birmingham.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxfordtreker
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you ofr your review. I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one and that the historic Great Chamber was a good venue for your business event. The team as a whole hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager

New Romney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at New Hall while travelling back from the North West. We arrived late after a difficult journey but were welcomed and reassured about our dinner reservation. We had been upgraded to a suite and had a very comfortable stay. Dinner was most enjoyable, as was breakfast the following morning. The staff at New Hall were friendly and efficient....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 17gc2015
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. I am pleased to read that we were able to offer you a warm welcoming following your difficult journey and that from that point on your stay was an enjoyable one. We are blessed with a team that genuinely cares about the experience that they deliver to our guests...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely room for the night, excellent evening meal and excellent service and a good workout in the gym before a very tasty breakfast. Staff very friendly and excellent customer service. Maybe lacked alittle atmosphere... Some Christmas tunes are always a winner!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarasabin
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Christmas tunes will start on the 1st of December! Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

875 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (486)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (145)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (239)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (339)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Double-King Bed Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (31)
Viewed
Executive Double King Room (26)
Viewed
Four Poster Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Spa Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
1,397 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
933 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
353 reviews
19.3 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#2 of 39 in Coventry
2,495 reviews
8.6 mi away
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: $138 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from New Hall Hotel & Spa staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from New Hall Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Splurge for a Delux Double or Suite!”
  • Sirius Room
 of 5 bubbles dorothyr638, yesterday | Read review
“Extend your search”
 of 5 bubbles RogerW870, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Stop in the old original building side”
 of 5 bubbles T5546XKjamesb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Just ask for a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles W7045XHnickg, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“Great Spa and grounds as well”
 of 5 bubbles Jeffg880, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay