We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Mount Somerset Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Mount Somerset Hotel
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 569: English reviews
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this through countryhotelbreaks.com £200 for room which was a deluxe, evening meal and breakfast. We arrived about 3.00pm on Sunday, the hotel looks fantastic how you would imagine a Country Hotel should be. It is a gRade II listed building. As you walk in the front door to reception you will see the largest chandelier above your head. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank icmupps
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were delighted to get a booking in an old hotel in the middle of the beautiful Somerset countryside. The hotel certainly looks the business online and the staff are great. But it somehow lacked atmosphere, the food was reasonable - we had dinner and breakfasts - but nothing special. Our room was at the back and was hot and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
Ashtead, Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful setting, approached by quiet single-track lane; well-clipped topiary, lawn and garden, traditional old iron fence with peaceful sheep grazing beyond . . .Inside, peaceful civilized atmosphere; comfortable informal lounge with quiet bar, attentive impeccable service; here you can have snacks and bar menu. Restaurant meals are excellent, again impeccable service by friendly and charming staff. Décor downstairs is bold,... More 

Helpful?
Thank rednax70
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rednax70, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it's fantastic to rad that you found the service to be 'impeccable' the staff will be please to read this! You are very kind with your wonderful description of the hotel, it's a shame you did not get a chance to try out the spa... More 

Reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The setting is wonderful with lovely views all round, and the hotel does not disappoint The staff are ectremely friendly and welcoming and the bedrooms are beautifully decorated with every facility you expect from a hotel of this quality.

Helpful?
Thank DougleReading
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DougleReading, Thank you very much for you review, we are delighted to read that you were made to feel so welcome and that the staff were friendly. Your very kind regarding your comments of the grounds and hotel decor. We hope to welcome your back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying elsewhere and not at this hotel but were impressed by the restaurant reviews, so we booked for dinner. Although we were not guests, we were made very welcome. The hotel is set on a hill in its own grounds about a couple of miles from Taunton. It is a spa hotel and seemed fairly busy even though... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidH118WH, Many thanks for your recent review, it's great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, hopefully next time you can spend the night at the hotel to get the full experience of the Mount Somerset. Kind Regards More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for business. Met with the client and decided to have a meal in the hotel. The bar / lounge is nice if you just want to sit and talk/ read and the staff attentive. We ordered and had a couple of drinks I. The bar prior to the meal, which was excellent. Even with 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil H, Thank you for your kind review of your stay, delighted to read that you were looked after well & enjoyed your dinner. Hopefully we will see you again if you’re working nearby again or even for a relaxing break away. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came to the mount for a romantic meal and that's what we got. Nice staff fine food magnificent setting. Not cheap but a Beautiful experience.would like to stay in the hotel next time we visit. Hope the rooms reflect the class of the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Richard E
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard E, Thank you very much for your kind review, it's great to read that you enjoyed having dinner with us. You must treat yourself next time to stay as the mention to relax the night away. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night and won't be returning. The hotel needs a complete refurbishment. The paint and wallpaper were chipped and it was generally drab. The carpet was shabby. Our bathroom was spacious but poorly lit. The contemporary shower needed a good clean and the water outlet needed to be cleaned out! The staff were pleasant apart from one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara H, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the hotel, it's a shame to read that you felt the hotel was 'Shabby & Sad' we are constantly decorating throughout the year as you can appreciate being open all year round things need to be regularly touched up or repaired so I apologies if you... More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was very good and I would quite happily stay there again but I have marked it down for two reasons. The first reason was that our room wasn't ready when we got there at about 3.45pm. I know that some hotels have a check in time of 4.00pm but I had a letter which said the room would... More 

Helpful?
Thank yellowhippo
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yellowhippo, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, it's great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us especially with your room & the dinner. Sorry to hear that your room was not ready for the 15:00 check in time we will look into why this happened that day. We will also pass... More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

A true delight. Our room was lovely, and the bathroom was a good size, complete with double walk in shower and stand alone roll top bath. Pre-dinner drinks were unhurried in a very relaxing spacious bar area, and dinner was an absolute treat, with a bonus of live music from a mature duo playing mellow tunes! Service throughout was attentive.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarlUK999
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CarlUK999, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us, it's fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & especially the dinning experience, the Jazz duo playing was 'Two's Up' who I’m sure will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the music. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

507 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Barrington (41)
Viewed
Corfe (39)
Viewed
Donyatt (43)
Viewed
Durston (35)
Viewed
Langport (31)
Viewed
Pitminster (37)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Mount Restaurant
The Mount Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $140 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay