We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mount Somerset Hotel

Traveler (288)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (280)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#3 of 18 hotels in Taunton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including three AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four red AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
854Reviews
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 452
  • 223
  • 90
  • 64
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Came here with friends for lunch, had canapés outside in the garden as the weather was lovely and had lunch in the restaurant. Food was delicious, all worth it. Excellent customer service, will be coming back again.
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Monica_starfish30, Thank you very much for the review, great to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us recently and that you really enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards
Read more
Having arranged a deal for 2 spa treatments decided to have lunch as well. This hotel is exceptional, hid away with beautiful grounds, amazing staff, great food well presented. Must recommend. Spa treatments were also very good with access to hot tub- relaxation room -steam and sauna rooms.
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Josephine G, Many thanks for taking the time to review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your Spa day with us so much and that the staff looked after you so well. Glad that we could give you a relaxing day and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
Read more
+1
Spent a 5 day break at this beautiful country hotel/spa retreat. Our room was stunning with a hot tub on our patio. The staff were friendly & attentive. The food was exquisite and we were treated like royalty; nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed some treatments in the spa which were lovely. I highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 43melh, Many thanks for the review and feedback, it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with is recently, the hot tub rooms are a great choice as an extra treat. Always nice to hear that the staff looked after you and that the food really stood out for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards
Read more
We stayed here last weekend and stayed in a room that had a hot tub as a treat. The weather was gorgeous so we were looking forward to having some bubbly in the tub The tub however was turned on, and at the highest temperature at 40 degrees, on top of 20 degree heat outside it was unbearably hot so we ended up using it for about 10 mins as we both felt light headed. We lowered the temp to 25 degrees (a normal temp to have a hot tub during summer) and went out for drinks and dinner. When we returned we thought we would give it a try again but the temp had only decreased by 6degrees so it was still far too warm The room was nice but had we known about the issues we wouldn’t have even bothered staying there considering we specifically looked for a hotel with private hot tubs. The room was nice, the bed very comfortable but it’s seems all the doors were very sticky and had to be slammed to close and one of the other guests woke us up when they closed their door which wasn’t ideal Overall, a complete waste of £312 for one night due to the temp of the hot tub and the fact that we paid for a garden view room but in reality, the garden overlooks your hot tub and all you can see is some trees. Very disappointing
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear S9771JBmatthewb, Many thanks for taking the time to review and also for emailing us the link to your review directly. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay due to the temperature of the hot tub, we appreciate that everyone’s preference with regards to the temperature of a hot tub differs and that when you had checked in this temperature was too high for your liking, had you made us aware of this we could have adjusted it for you it would have just taken a few minutes and we could have hopefully changed the outcome of your stay with us. We will certainly use your comments to ensure we review for future guests and our apologies that you left disappointed had we known at the time we would have much preferred to rectify the situation for you. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope in the future you will return and give us the chance to restore your faith in us. Kind Regards
Read more
Convenient location, easy access from the M5, great views and decor. Acceptable rooms. The restaurant serves excellent food, the amuse bouche were a pleasant surprise (although four did seem a little excessive) and the restaurant staff were professional and helpful. Breakfast continued in the same vein, a good choice served hot and well presented. · The only thing bringing my score down was the response by the staff to an observation at check out that our room only had one bedside lamp despite having two bedside tables. The claim that this is down to the age of the property and a characteristic of many county house hotels seem unnecessarily defensive and a little dismissive. A disappointment conclusion to an otherwise faultless stay.
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear scorpioball, Thank you very much for the review, it's great to hear that you decided to stop off and break up your journey with us. We are glad to read that everything was to your liking and thank you for the comment around the lamp, we apologise if the response at check out came across as defensive I'm sure it was not intended in this way we will review the bedroom in question following your feedback to see if anything can be done about the matter. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mount somerset hotel, mount somerset taunton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTaunton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing