We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Meryan House Hotel

#10 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Meryan House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 114: English reviews
watchet
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Felt compelled to write a review about recent reception held at the Meryan House Hotel. The staff were friendly, happy, and considerate, with a 'nothings too much trouble' attitude. Food was a fantastic, homecooked feast, delicious! Can't thank you enough.

Helpful?
Thank Thea M
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely B ans B hosted by Cherry nothing too much trouble. Plenty of car parking and lovely pubs/eaterys in short drive away on A38 towards wellington. Outside of taunton tucked in the quiet village of Bishop hull still easily asccessible by car or taxi. Post office nxt to b and b and large tescos off A38 North of Taunton before... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jump44
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was our pleasure to look after you, during your stay at the Meryan, and thank you for taking the time, to give us such a great review. More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very homely hotel. We were given a very warm welcome. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. Everyone was very approachable and accommodating. The gardens were beautiful with plenty of room to sit and unwind. Breakfast was everything we could have asked for and piping hot. Definitely we stay here again. Many thanks all.

Helpful?
Thank 862jen51
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest On behalf on myself and the staff, we would like to thank you for your review, and for taking the time to even give us a review, many thanks again More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to the Meryan House Hotel before and have always enjoyed our stay. The bedrooms are attractive, the beds very comfortable and the breakfast just right. We managed 2 excellent nights of sleep, always a sign of a successful stay.

Helpful?
Thank ThreeShoes
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May I take this opportunity and thank you for your very kind words. More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
900 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

A nice little hotel in an old house (550 years old) Comfortable beds and a great breakfast. Very handy for the Hospital (Musgrove park) if you are visiting there for work / training Hotel is in a quiet village away from the centre of Taunton, so you need a car to stay here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Albia-Newton
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to take this opportunity and thank you, for taking the time, to give the Meryan a review, with reference to your point about en-suites!!! the word Hotel gives this away, you cannot be called a hotel, if all the bedrooms, do not have en-suites, the collection of art, is from one of the owners, who... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

A really interesting hotel set in rural somerset with a fascinating mix of curios from bronze statutes to photographs of Marilyn Monroe in the gents loo. Certainly worth a visit. Food and service was good with friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Upgrade of my room, great. Breakfast really nice. No dinner on offer despite being shown on the web site for the days I stayed, really disappointed, looked forward to this. No evening buses and too far to walk. Secondary double glazing meant room got quite stuffy. Mind, the bed was very comfortable. No information re Taunton or Somerset, found some... More 

Helpful?
Thank cornishkris705
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay at the Meryan, however, we would like to clarify some of the points you raised, re: the bus service, we have no control over this, as its a council decision , the double glazing slides to open, a staff member would have done this for you, had you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute booking and what a gem we found! We were in room 5 and it was lovely room with such a comfortable bed! The breakfast selection was good and more than we expected. Free Wi-Fi and free parking too. Would definitely stay again if we return to Taunton

Helpful?
Thank SarahEC12
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for taking the time, to give the Meryan such a heart warming review, and we look forward to seeing you again when you visit Somerset, many thanks. Owner and staff More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Wonderful old world charm . Antique furnishings. Very welcoming.Wonderful full English breakfast with great choice of fruit ,cereal etc. Have stayed many times. The Meryan House Hotel is our first choice if we stay in Taunton.

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many I take this opportunity and thank you, for taking the time, to give the Meryan such a lovely review More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at Meryan House while visiting family. It is a hotel with lots of history-which was very interesting indeed. The breakfasts were terrific - I can't praise them highly enough. The room was a little too ornate for me ...and the bed was too soft - but I am sure others would have loved it. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leonie B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
6.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#14 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Meryan House Hotel

Address: Bishops Hull Rd, Taunton TA1 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $110 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meryan House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Meryan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryan Hotel Taunton
Meryan House Hotel Taunton, Somerset
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Business Hotel in Taunton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay