We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Meryan House Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Meryan House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed as a family party of four for one night in early August and, frankly, couldn't fault it. Price was reasonable, food (dinner and breakfast) very good - all topped off with easy access from and to Junction 26 of M5. Definite first choice for our next stay in that part of the world!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chenrywood
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just got back from a 3 night stay must say the place was very nice the owners couldn't do enough for us booking all taxis when needed breakfast excellant all served up fresh and very hot would stay again if passing that way

Helpful?
Thank tom c
watchet
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Felt compelled to write a review about recent reception held at the Meryan House Hotel. The staff were friendly, happy, and considerate, with a 'nothings too much trouble' attitude. Food was a fantastic, homecooked feast, delicious! Can't thank you enough.

Helpful?
Thank Thea M
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for even taking the time to give the Meryan such a great review, many thanks from myself and staff More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Lovely B ans B hosted by Cherry nothing too much trouble. Plenty of car parking and lovely pubs/eaterys in short drive away on A38 towards wellington. Outside of taunton tucked in the quiet village of Bishop hull still easily asccessible by car or taxi. Post office nxt to b and b and large tescos off A38 North of Taunton before... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jump44
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was our pleasure to look after you, during your stay at the Meryan, and thank you for taking the time, to give us such a great review. More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

A very homely hotel. We were given a very warm welcome. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. Everyone was very approachable and accommodating. The gardens were beautiful with plenty of room to sit and unwind. Breakfast was everything we could have asked for and piping hot. Definitely we stay here again. Many thanks all.

Helpful?
Thank 862jen51
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest On behalf on myself and the staff, we would like to thank you for your review, and for taking the time to even give us a review, many thanks again More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We have been to the Meryan House Hotel before and have always enjoyed our stay. The bedrooms are attractive, the beds very comfortable and the breakfast just right. We managed 2 excellent nights of sleep, always a sign of a successful stay.

Helpful?
Thank ThreeShoes
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May I take this opportunity and thank you for your very kind words. More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
912 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

A nice little hotel in an old house (550 years old) Comfortable beds and a great breakfast. Very handy for the Hospital (Musgrove park) if you are visiting there for work / training Hotel is in a quiet village away from the centre of Taunton, so you need a car to stay here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Albia-Newton
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to take this opportunity and thank you, for taking the time, to give the Meryan a review, with reference to your point about en-suites!!! the word Hotel gives this away, you cannot be called a hotel, if all the bedrooms, do not have en-suites, the collection of art, is from one of the owners, who... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

A really interesting hotel set in rural somerset with a fascinating mix of curios from bronze statutes to photographs of Marilyn Monroe in the gents loo. Certainly worth a visit. Food and service was good with friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Upgrade of my room, great. Breakfast really nice. No dinner on offer despite being shown on the web site for the days I stayed, really disappointed, looked forward to this. No evening buses and too far to walk. Secondary double glazing meant room got quite stuffy. Mind, the bed was very comfortable. No information re Taunton or Somerset, found some... More 

Helpful?
Thank cornishkris705
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay at the Meryan, however, we would like to clarify some of the points you raised, re: the bus service, we have no control over this, as its a council decision , the double glazing slides to open, a staff member would have done this for you, had you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute booking and what a gem we found! We were in room 5 and it was lovely room with such a comfortable bed! The breakfast selection was good and more than we expected. Free Wi-Fi and free parking too. Would definitely stay again if we return to Taunton

Helpful?
Thank SarahEC12
Nick C, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for taking the time, to give the Meryan such a heart warming review, and we look forward to seeing you again when you visit Somerset, many thanks. Owner and staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
6.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#14 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Meryan House Hotel

Address: Bishops Hull Road, Taunton TA1 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $110 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meryan House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Meryan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryan Hotel Taunton
Meryan House Hotel Taunton, Somerset
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Business Hotel in Taunton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay