We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Corner House Hotel

06/15/2017 06/16/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

780 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Corner House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 767: English reviews
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I was a litle surprised at the standard of my room after entering the building. The external facade and reception area is quite grand so I was expecting this to continue into the rooms. However I felt the decor was somewhat tired - it wouldnt take much to bring this to the required standard; a good repaint and some modern...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. The room you stayed in was Room 42 and unfortunately due to being a listed building there is no internal passage way however the possibility of an overhead canopy is a good idea. Whilst Room 42 is a nice quiet room it...

Reviewed August 28, 2014

drove 4 hours to stay at the hotel to find out they'd double booked. Claimed had called (despite showing my phone had not had any calls- stated they called 5 times) and got sent to a guest house on the other side of town where we got placed in a basement room which looked like it had not been redecorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sachy86
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sachy86, Thank you for taking to the time to write a review. I am very concerned to hear of your recent experience and I would like you to contact me directly at your earliest convenience - Email manager@corner-house.co.uk or telephone 01823 284683 Please may I assure you that this is not our usual practice and I am personally very...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed August 28, 2014

My room on the ground floor of the annex was terrible and in need of a major overhaul. The car park is too small and several cars including mine were blocked in which meant I was late departing. I paid nearly £130 for the night inc breakfast for this. There are much better alternatives around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connieking
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Connieking, Thank you for taking to the time to write a review. I am very concerned to hear of your recent experience and I would like you to contact me directly at your earliest convenience - Email manager@corner-house.co.uk or telephone 01823 284683 Please may I assure you that this is not our usual practice and I am personally very...

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Very enjoyable stay, close to town centre shops and bars. Staff very friendly, bedroom a bit small but was very comfortable and clean. Good choice for breakfast, would stay here again and would recommend anyone wanting to stay in Taunton.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie B, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for the team. We really enjoyed welcoming you to the hotel and pleased that you enjoyed your time in Taunton. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Nigel.

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Food very good, staff very friendly and helpful helpful, Manager or Assistant unhelpful with poor customer skills. There are many ways of saying No. He chose the wrong way. The door card system was not working, and has been out of action for a while which is very inconvenient as you have to always rely on a member of staff...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holidays6534
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Holidays6534, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. We pride ourselves on our customer service and you are quite right there are different ways of saying no. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not get it right. Please could I kindly ask you to contact me directly to...

plymouth
Reviewed August 27, 2014

When I booked my room I explained that it was for work purposes and could I have a quiet room so that I could study in the evenings. My room was above the kitchen which started at 6am, not so bad however the noise in the evenings went on until 11.30, I could hear every pot and pan being washed,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patknell
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patknell, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not allocated the correct room and please may I offer you my personal apology. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. I hope that your exam was a success....

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 25, 2014

For the purposes of our stay visiting Taunton it was the perfect location. The hotel has a really nice breakfast including some of their locally made sausages and the choice they offer is fairly wide. My room seemed a bit worn or could have needed a more deeper clean. On correcting an over-charge issue with our bill the staff were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg263782672
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg263782672, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. Since your stay with us we have implemented a deep cleaning schedule and have launched our new Concept Room which has been received extremely well. We plan to roll our this concept over ten bedrooms during the next few months. I am pleased...

Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The hotel was a pleasant change from our previous accommodation last year as we have a family of six. The staff were very pleasant as were the ladies who clean the rooms. All the amenities within the room were great except the kettles which needed to be cleaned out or replaced as mouldy. Plus the bedding needed to be refreshed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Najma S
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Najma S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments which is very much appreciated. It is clear that in your room there were some housekeeping issues and as such please may I offer you my personal apology. Since your stay with us I have discussed your experience with our team to...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The bar and restaurant area of this hotel are lovely. The staff are very nice and welcoming. The "compact" room we stayed in was more than compact. If I was staying at this hotel alone, I would have complained about how small the room was. There was nowhere to put the suitcase so we had to put it in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeHW
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DianeHW, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments which is much appreciated. It is clear that on this occasion our accommodation did not meet your expectations and as such please may I offer you both my personal apology. We do offer Compact Double Rooms which are more suitable for single occupancy;...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights when visiting our daughter, who lives nearby. The good points were - hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from town centre; the staff were friendly; the bed was comfortable; our room was clean on arrival and fresh towels were provided every day. Not so good points - we didn't expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JW082014
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JW082014, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appeciate your constructive comments. We do offer three categories of rooms - Compact Doubles suitable for single occupancy; Standard Double Rooms and Large Double Rooms. On the websites we do promote our Compact Double Rooms and advertise that they are only 12 SQ Metres and suggest...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

234 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Compact Double Room (24)
Viewed
Double Room (Disabled Access) (25)
Viewed
Executive Single Room (23)
Viewed
Large Double Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/15/2017 06/16/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
375 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Wine and Sausage
Wine and Sausage
Cuisines: British, American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: $89 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Luck of the draw!”
rugbyhead, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room and, if you are staying for more than a night, you may want to ask for one of the bigger rooms.”
YvonneAH190730, Mar 10, 2017 | Read review
“Different room sizes at different prices. Compact room was fine for a short stay but if we stayed longer we would need a bigger room.”
610duffym, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“I was overlooking car park which I'm assuming is quiter than those facing the road”
475sarahd475, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“Big room takes time to warm up”
HenryG1965, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Elvoline
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates