We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campanile Wakefield

Traveler (111)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)

About

#19 of 19 hotels in Wakefield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make Campanile Wakefield their hotel of choice when visiting Wakefield. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Nearby landmarks such as Wakefield Cathedral (1.3 mi) and Nostell Priory and Parkland (1.7 mi) make Campanile Wakefield Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Wakefield. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk, and guests can go online with wifi offered by the hotel. Campanile Wakefield Hotel features a 24 hour front desk, newspaper, and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts breakfast. If you are driving to Campanile Wakefield, free parking is available. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Wakefield's popular tapas restaurants such as Qubana, The Quarry Bar & Bottlery, and Robatary, all a short distance from Campanile Wakefield. If you’re looking for something to do, Pugneys Country Park (0.5 mi), The Hepworth Wakefield (1.0 mi), and Sandal Castle (0.8 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Campanile Wakefield. At Campanile Wakefield, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Wakefield.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
397Restaurantswithin 5 miles
87Attractionswithin 5 miles
362Reviews
4Q+A
58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 36
  • 76
  • 94
  • 54
  • 102
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable bed and good strong hot shower over bath. Have used this hotel twice now and would use again. Not posh, but for price paid it's perfectly acceptable for a budget hotel.
Read more
Regularly use this Campanile when working in the area. Could do with breakfast earlier at weekends. The restaurant is open earlier in the week so half hour earlier at weekends, well at least Saturday would be good and would make a big difference.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Dear Guest, many thanks for your very positve feedback which I have shared with my team. It is always our endevour to improve services and as such we recentlly extended the midweek serving times for breakfast. The start time at weekends is centred around- most weekend travellers look for a later breakfast but we are always happy to assist our guests wherever possible. Whislt hte company standard is an 8am start at weekends for breakfast, please just ask reception if they can provide a 7.30 am breakfast for you and we are more than happy to oblige. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest regards Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
Perhaps I shouldn't be too harsh, the room cost only £31, but I should point out that the building is sadly lacking in maintenance. Years of weathering and neglect make this an unappealing building. The room itself was clean and tidy, the bed was OK and the shower was good.
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded Feb 20, 2019
Dear Kevin, I am pleased to learn that you found the hotel generally good value for money. I am sorry taht we were unable to provide a ground floor room. The hotel was busier than it may have appeared and my team would certainly have provided a ground floror room had one been available. You are right in that the exteranal railings which circulate the bedrooms are somewhat weathered and as such can provide a less favourable perception of the hotel. I am planning to have this work conducted this year. We have however already been refurbishing bedrooms nd as such have completed 30, with new beds, carpets and decoration. The bedrooms are our priority before the fencing but it is all part of our soft refurbishment planning as we continue in to this year. The public areas are complete and we now have a great space for people to enjoy food and drink. We have a great wood burning stove which offers a warm and welcoming space for our guests and our breakfast and dinner offering provides superb value and varied choices. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, please request a refurbished room and a ground floor and you have my assurance of a comfortable stay. Kind regards Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
Just awful. Felt like a refugee from a 70s tv show about prison. Bed was uncomfortable, bathroom had mould on the ceiling and between tiles and a dirty shower curtain. No plug sockets. Stained carpet. Crap breakfast.
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded Jan 16, 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback which is very important to us and I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. It is not clear from your comments if you raised any issues with my team. If you had, then we could have investigated your concerns. With regard to breakfast, we provide a cooked to order fresh Full English Breakfast which we receive very positve feedback on so many occasions. A cooked to order breakfast provides a favourable fresh alternative to other hotels who only offer a buffet breakfast.The starter and continental choices include a wide variety of choices including yoghurts, continental meats and cheeses, toast, crumpets, freshly baked croissants, muffins and fruit teacakes and various cereals. There are plug sockets in the room and these are located beside the kettle socket and there is a directional sign on the desk. We are currently refurbishing bedrooms and have completed 30 as part of a rolling program and will be completing more this year. Our public areas are also completed and we now have a great space for guests to enjoy, food and drink or simply to relax in, in front of our great log burning strove. Yours sincerely Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
The accommodation is like some 1960's Butlin's camp. The stairwells and verandahs need some maintenance, the rooms were defiantly no better as they were very outdated. The staff though were polite and the bedding was clean. The sound of cars drag racing unfortunately went on
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded Jan 15, 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your very important feedback and I am sorry that you had a poor experience for your stay with us. I was pleased to learn that the staff were polite and and the room and bedding clean- we endeavour to work to high standards. The layout of the hotel is unusual in that it is American in style with the bedrooms seperate from the main hotel reception and restaurant. We have however refurbished 30 of our rooms but cannot complete them all at once and as a part of a rolling program will continue with more this year which includes new beds, paintwork adn carpets. We report external noise to the police who always assit if there is a problem althogh this is not a regular occurance here. You will be aware of the spped bumps which put off such activity. We do hope to welcome you back and hope that you will enjoy one of our refurbished rooms. The plan does include external areas. You may not be aware but the main hotel has been completed and looks fresh and attractive and the restaurant and bar has been completed too and offers a great space to enjoy food and drink. KInd regards Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$36 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
campanile wakefield hotel wakefieldcampanile hotel wakefield
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireWest YorkshireWakefield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing